We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view & great food!”
Review of Chateau Eza

Chateau Eza
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Eze
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$140
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chateau Eza hotel offers a Gourmet restaurant serving a la carte French and Mediterranean cuisine against the stunning backdrop of the French Riviera. Dine in the indoor glass-edged room with 180° panoramic views for fully enjoying the sun-kissed Riviera weather on one of the several outdoor terraces, all overlooking the sparkling azure waters of the Cote d'Azur.
Reviewed October 15, 2018 via mobile

We had great experienced dining with the great view, really enjoy. The service was really good & staffs was very nice!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank kijn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (986)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 986 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2018

We had lunch at Chateau Eza on Sept. 29th. Wow the views were amazing and we felt we were on top of the world. The service and food was impeccable. Ambrose Didier who waited on us, made sure our water, wine was filled, and that we enjoyed the food and never felt rushed. A young girl who helped with our wine selection was very nice as well. You need to book in advance and it's a meal of a lifetime.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2018 via mobile

Difficult to review objectively as the views alone deserve 5 stars, especially on a beautiful sunny Côte d’Azur day like today. Service too was exceptional, couldn’t be faulted. All the staff were lovely. Food was just beautiful too. We went for the four course set menu and threw in a cheese course just to make the wonderfulness last a bit longer. All great but only thing stopping a five star review was how tiny the portions were, especially the duck “Main” which was a sliver of duck. It wouldn’t have killed them to provide two or three slivers. I was hungry leaving this restaurant even though I’d had a magnificent culinary experience over five courses. The wine was also lovely but you need to have some real money to enjoy this place with the lowest priced bottles at €80-95. If you wish to experience this at less than €150 a head stick to glasses of house wine but once you get to this place it doesn’t seem like the way to go! But that’s their thing and they are full most of the time as I understand it. Truly beautiful experience.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank paulgG3787VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This place is an incredible experience. The small medieval town of Eze high up in the mountains overlooking the Cote D'Azur is incredibly charming. Dinner is pricey, and I hate to say that the fish I ordered was pretty inedible. My husband's dinner was decent though. The Maitre' D was incredibly welcoming and the service was very good.

One thing we did not realize that in French culture, you let them know when you are ready for dinner instead of the other way around. We were having drinks on the beautiful terrace and were an hour past our reservation. The American couple next to us gave us the tip to let them know.

If I were to go again, I would probably just go for a drink or two and not do the dinner portion. Or I would stay in the hotel...it looked amazing!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 183shelleym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Aperitif served on an outside terrace with breathtaking views of the sea promised a very enjoyable evening. We chose the tasting menu, which looked generous and creative, following praise on TripAdvisor. A bit surprised when amuse bouche arrived before water, which we ordered right away. The wine list is brick thick, but the sommelier was quite disappointing, distinguishing wines by “strong” or “mild” and consistently guiding to the more expensive selections in the most commercialized regions, despite the fact that the wine list had very interesting choices from the less popular regions. Disregarding advice to take a 400EU Chateauneuf-du-Pape, I went with a Bandol (Chateau de Pibarnon 2015), which was outstanding. Unfortunately, I could not choose ingredients for the meals and had to trust the Chef. Crab appetizer was creative and delicious, the fish was very fresh but spoiled by somewhat stinky seaweed. The main course,veal, was good, but it’s dryness did not quite meet the buildup created by numerous and often creative appetizers. The most disappointing part of the main course was a large slice of mushroom with visible signs of holes created by worms. That was a final touch that spoiled the whole meal. The waiter could not understand at first and then said: “Oh, animals”. “Yes, animals”, we confirmed. The waitress rushed to the kitchen and then returned saying “The Chef apologizes”. That’s it. The Grande Chef did not even bother to apologize in person, nor offer any gesture (although we saw that our water was comped). My wife was hoping to enjoy the last drop of wine, but a waiter took it away. When we tried to explain, we got new glasses with water... the next morning we both had upset stomachs.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau Eza also viewed

Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Eze, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Chateau Eza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing