We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
149
282
114
44
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
282
114
44
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewmuesliwaves lapping on the shoreold towntop floorlarge comfortable bedideal hotelhotel looks greatolder peoplefantastic locationbeautiful old buildingoverlooking the gardena stones throwsea frontan upgradestayed two nightsunderground car park
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 608 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2018

Our friends visit the Royal Westminster at least once a year in early spring or autumn and their enthusiasm for both Menton and this hotel encouraged us to join them this time, so have just returned (20 March 2018). All the public areas are spacious and bright, the reception area open, staff don't hide behind tall intimidating desks and are generally very helpful. Our room was one of the nicest I have stayed in - 3rd floor immediately above the main entrance, overlooking the sea, newly decorated and bright, high ceilings, no noise from above or sideways that disturbed / prevented good sound sleep, lots of wardrobe space and large french windows, diaphanous curtains with separate light- barrier ones behind, small balcony and the best view. Wonderful to wake up to. I am an art lover and this was like being in a Matisse painting. They give you a fridge so you can keep drinks cold, a safe,bathroom is very clean with good fittings and shower, separate loo.

Breakfasts are relaxed, serve yourself as is common in so many hotels now, lots of choice, decent cereals, fruit and croissants, bread etc, plus cold cheeses, meats and there is scrambled or boil your own egg, bacon, coffee is fine (always ask for boiling water if having tea as urn usually tepid!). My only real criticism is the main restaurant - menu is very limited, same all the time we were there, no vegetables to speak of (why is this so common and yet the markets are full of wonderful things..... potatoes do not count!). I think they need to up their choice and flavourings.but there are several excellent restaurants in the town or along the front.

Room Tip: sea view, superior or privilidge worth the extra
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2018

everything perfect, great view, big and beautiful rooms; nice staff and very helpfull, speaking different languages. excellent location, front of sea and in the centre. we'll go back for sure. reccomended

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank diego_abbatescianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2018

Top location, very nice building, the rooms on seaside are commodious, but the booking was a challange. The breakfast and the service was everytime vigilant. During rush-hour the parking in front of the hotel is betimes tight.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ascvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018 via mobile

An elegant hotel which does not meet exprctations. A room must be cool, dark, comfortable and silent! And a room without proper ventilation can not become cool and opening a window in a noisy environment is not option.
Too bad as the rest is ok!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2017

Best view in town and we had booked their best sea view room for six nights. It was unusually warm for the season and room facing south it became unbearable hot, well above 25 degrees - and more likely around 30 degrees in the afternoon. We did not understand why A/C did not work although high noise from the fan. The receptionist understood our problem but informed us that management had turned off the A/C some days ago. We contacted management, they replied it “was for the benefit of the guests” as only fan speed can be adjusted in the room. We suggested that they should monitor our room temperature which they ignored. We do recommend that you stay in the nearby Ibis Styles instead. They have a good A/C and a much better Service attitude.
By the way. The illumination lamps at the facade of the Royal Westminster Hotel lights up their best rooms which attracts the mosquitos into the room when you have to sleep with the windows open. Would we stay at this hotel again? No, not until they change Management. We believe Service attitude and guest attention should be of high priority for a hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Lars969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews