We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real experience which we'll most likely repeat.”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #18 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A real experience which we'll most likely repeat.”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here overnight at the end of a week's holiday in the South of France and had decided to treat ourselves by spending a little more than usual and experiencing this iconic hotel for ourselves. I've been agonising over whether to award an 'excellent' or a 'very good' to the hotel, based on our experiences, and in this case I've gone for 'very good' on the grounds that there were one or two very small niggles, without which this would truly have been a magnificent experience.

There is no faulting this hotel's location, with spectacular views and handy for most local amenities by foot. The building itself is stunning and a real icon, which is one of the things which attracted us to book it in the first place. The interior feels kind of 'oldey-worldey comfortable faded opulence' and when you walk into the cool, circular lobby you really feel as if you are stepping into another world- and that's before you even set foot in any of the other public rooms, which are all spectacular and littered with amazing works of artold and new, collected by the owner.

Our room (112) was comfortable and very impressive in a quirky way, with crazy, mis-matched furniture and very bright colours everywhere. We loved it though- it was kind of eccentric and likeable and certainly made us smile. We had a pink wall, a turquoise wall, a wall painted with a mural, a magnificent gold four-poster bed with twiddly bits and supported by carved lions, gold twiddly light fittings, a pink-and-blue-glass chandelier and a beautiful marble bathroom with bronze glittery bathtub and matching sinks. This was all matched with beautiful antique walnut furniture and a very modern TV stand, complete with a flat screen telly (dozens of different channels available in all languages). The bed was supremely comfortable and we could lie back on it and admire the top of the canopy which was a little picture of cherubs cavorting in what looked like a sea of coffee beans, on the ceiling.

The positives, then? This was a truly memorable experience and one which we will probably repeat at some point. The view from our room was great- we had a sea view as well as looking over the cardens next door- and the service was generally polite, friendly and efficient, if perhaps a little off-hand. A very sociable check-out time of midday was also appreciated.

The niggles? Well, maybe I'm over-expecting here, but in our experience, a lot of the smaller and cheaper hotels in Nice (All Seasons, Holiday Inn etc) offer free shuttle services to and from the airport which are very much appreciated, subject to a small tip for the driver who will turn up in a nice minibus and help you on and off with your bags. On arrival at the airport, and having checked our hire car in, I called the Negresco to ask if a shuttle service was available (we assumed that as one of the more expensive hotels in the City, something might be provided). I was kept on hold for ages, waiting to speak to a Concierge, who eventually told me there was no shuttle and that I should take a number 98 bus or a taxi, before hanging up. Now we didn't pay a huge price for our room but for all the guy on the phone knew, we could have been booked into one of their top suites, we could have been VIPs, whatever, and I felt the service was a bit brusque. I was quite surpised at the lack of any transfer facility.

So we took a taxi in the end as the queue for the number 98 bus was huge, which set us back 35 Euros for a 10-minute drive in a pleasant Merc with an equally pleasant driver. 'Ouch' we thought, but hey, we were on our way to the Negresco and this was Nice, after all. Never mind. Our return to the airport, by the way, cost us even more, organised for us by the Negresco and in a fairly shabby people carrier which smelt very strongly of cigarettes (although the driver was nice). Lesson learned- in the future we make our own transfer arrangements in advance.

On arrival at the hotel- around midday- we enquired at the Reception desk, only to be told our room wouldn't be ready before 3pm and that we would have to go away and come back. They did take our luggage, which was a blessing, but I couldn't help wondering how it would take 3 hours to clean a room. Never mind, off we went to explore the surrounding area and find something to eat and drink.

At 3pm sharp, we returned, having spent a rather warm and sticky three hours in Nice and craving a nice cool room (and a shower to boot!). Only to be told that the room wasn't quite ready and wouldn't be available to us until at least 3.30pm! Again, I found this odd. 3.30 is unusually late and we had somewhere to be at 5pm so we were keen to freshen up and settle in. The Receptionist did at least offer us a complimentary drink each in the bar next door, which was stunning, and the drinks were appreciated although to be honest we felt very scruffy and out of place in our scruffy shorts and vest tops, and we'd certainly have preferred to visit the bar after a good shower and clean-up. To this end, I think the problem was quite well handled, in that we were able to sit and relax, but it was a little disappointing that it took quite so long for our room to be ready.

In short? A fascinating place riddled with history, and which should probably be experienced at least once. Quirky, stylish and very cute. Our room was good value for what we paid (we got a good online deal via a third party site several months in advance) and we'd certainly go back- but with a couple of small reservations, in that we felt the service was perhaps not quite as good as it could have been, our room took far too long to prepare, and we did feel they could at least offer some kind of in-house shuttle service, given the cost of their product. If the cheap hotels can manage an on-call minibus and driver, then perhaps some of the big boys could manage it too. And THAT would have turned this very good experience into an excellent one.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula_reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,267
    552
    251
    128
    131
See reviews for
346
1,278
92
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

This hotel is not for everyone. However, in a world where hotels are so often so similar, bland and owned by international chains, Le Negresco is a breath of fresh air. It will make you smile.
The best way I can describe the hotel is having a feel of staying in an eccentric elderly relative's home. (Indeed, the grand elderly lady owner lives on site and was present during our stay).
The rooms are not perfect - we saw two. The first we stayed in was a little dated and tired but it's hard to grumble when the whole place is so different and enjoyable. Our bath and basin were glittery gold, the bedroom walls were flocked with vivid yellow fabric, the breakfast restaurant is designed like a fairground carousel, there were themed cloakrooms, vast public spaces stuffed with fantastic art and the staff are dressed in fabulous costumes. (Understated it is not)!
Contrary to some of the comments on Tripadvisor, we found the staff without exception to be warm and terribly helpful.
Le Negresco is wacky but huge fun.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear LondonJC,
We are glad you liked you stay! The hotel has been decorated by Madame Augier herself. She chose every piece of art, including in the rooms.
Regarding the staff, they are dressed “à la Française”, in copies of uniforms worn by staff employed in the grand households during the XVIII and XIX centuries.
You are entirely right, the Negresco Hotel is for people who are looking for a unique hotel and an unexpected experience!
We hope to see you again soon !
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

It is not simply hotel, it is a legend. Wonderful location, amazing interiors. If to mention practical things, so it is fast wi fi, spacious room, excellent facilities. I wish to stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zhamilya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Zhamilya,
We are thankful for your comment and we hope to welcome you again soon !
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 812 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The Negresco is not for everyone but if its genre appeals to you it is an awesome hotel (we loved it!). The hotel was built in 1912 and walking through it you feel walking back in time but with modern touches. Everywhere in the hotel you are surrounded by original works of art – some modern some classics. For example, our wing was completely decorated in original works by Salvador Dali who used to stay in the hotel a lot. The rooms are decorated in Napoleon era style with updated bathrooms (the tub, toilet and bidet were sparkling gold glitter – spectacular in their glitziness). The elevator is indescribable – a beautiful and complete throwback to an earlier era. This is not a modern steel and glass hotel but falls into the category of world class treasures.

Also remarkable is the restaurant Chanticleer. It has 2 Michelin stars and deserves them (if you are unfamiliar with Michelin restaurant ratings – 2 stars are very impressive in its own right.) Expensive, it is worth every penny if you enjoy world class service and gourmet food. We do not consider ourselves gourmands by any means but even we were extremely impressed. Reservations and Jackets recommended for men.

Regarding the practical parts of The Negresco, the hotel is in a great location on the Avenue de Anglais (the main seafront street) and about 10 to 15 minutes’ walk from Old Town, the Flower Mart ( a must see!), the elevator to the top of the Citadel and about 20 minutes’ walk to the main Nice train station.

Before arriving we were concerned that a “sea view” room looking out over the high traffic Avenue de Anglais would be very noisy with traffic. At night, the rooms have electronically operated metal roll down shutters that block the street noise very effectively. If you get noisy neighbors, be aware that the walls, while not paper thin, are not extremely well insulated.
The summary for this hotel is that it is excellent in spite of not having any exercise facilities, no pool and a very surly staff. By the way, except for the restaurant, all the staff is surly and very pretentious. They generally are unhelpful and almost seem to snarl at the guests. It is a weird given how grand the rest of the hotel is. If they could fix the staff attitude, this really would be a world class 5 star hotel.

On balance, if you can look past the unhelpful concierge desk and the surliness, this hotel is awesome!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davekv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Davekv,
We thank you for taking the time to post a comment. You do describe the hotel very well and we are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay. We do take into consideration your remark on the staff which is a subject we are particularly sensitive about. We strive to offer a warm welcome to all our guests and will definitely be more vigilant in the future.
We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Neck, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had admired this beautiful hotel on a previous visit, but thought it completely out of our price range; however, we were able to get a reasonable price for a hotel of this caliber, maybe due to preseason prices. It lived up to high expectations. The hotel is also a museum, displaying high quality art on each floor, which adds to the beauty of an already lovely place. The rooms are impeccable with pretty wallpaper and furnishings. Ours had a lovely view of the world renown beach across the street, while our family members had no view but an equally pretty room with an even larger bathroom. Location couldn't be better, since it is also walkable to shopping and the historic area. We chose breakfast in our room to allow us to enjoy the view. Service and food were excellent. This definitely is a destination hotel. For info: As is typical in European hotels, rooms accomidate only 2 people.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahR358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear SarahR358,
We are very happy you enjoyed our stay with us! Our rooms can accommodate 2 adults and up to 2 children depending on the category. We also have 2 bedroom suites for families traveling together.
We hope to see you again soon in our hotel !
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Negresco is one of the most renowned hotels in Nice and France. It is hosted in a gorgeous art nouveau building right on the Promenade des Anglais. We booked a Junior Suite with sea view and were not disappointed. The room was spacious with a great bathroom and a sauna/shower. Two balconies overlooked directly the sea and it was sensational to go to bed and wake up with such a stunning view of the sea and the sound of the waves. Staff at reception was extremely helpful. Staying at the Negresco is like stepping back to the early days of the 20th Century. Grand ballrooms and reception rooms are worth visiting and spending some time to take in the eclectic art collection of the hotel owner and the great ambience.

The buffet breakfast (included with our room) was also ok and served in The Rotunda, a carousel like room that is much better than it looks in the pictures one can find on the web. The buffet consisted of fresh juices, bread, viennoiserie, cheese, salmon, ham, yogurts and a selection of eggs, sausages and bacon.

I would definitely recommend the Negresco to other travellers as a unique place where to stay. It is true, as some other reviews on tripadvisor state, that the quality of service (concierge, breakfast etc) is not on the same scale as that of other 5 star hotels but this is a unique place that must be appreciated for what it is: an historical gem in a great location, a one of a kind.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariodibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Mariodibi,
Thank you for taking the time to share your point of view on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Le Negresco! You are right about La Rotonde, it is a place you should see with your eyes rather than in pictures, just like the Negresco itself !
We will take your remark into consideration regarding the staff. However we hope to see you again soon !
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel has the perfect location by the sea. It is old but still going strong. The staff were very becoming, always. There are two reataurants in the building: La Chanteclere and La Routonde. The first with its two stars was heavenly in ALL aspects, the second felt a little disorganized when it came to service and timing. The bar was nicely furnished and gave an impression of early pre WWI luxury, though the Bloody Mary was far to weak.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Bettinasgranddad,
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment! Our Chef, Jean-Denis Rieubland was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your diner at Le Chantecler. Did you know that Le Chantecler was just awarded its second Michelin star?
As regard to La Rotonde, we take your comment into consideration and we will work on it.
Yet we hope to see you again soon!
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Property: Hotel Negresco
Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing