We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Your Father’s Oldsmobile (or Hotel)”
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #16 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2012

When I last walked thru the Negresco to have an interesting dinner at Chanticler, I thought I was walking thru the set for “Sunset Boulevard”; an aging mansion going to seed as it’s matriarch owner lived on her dreams of the past.
At the suggestion of a friend who said it is coming back; they have new 5 star management and are spending $50 million Euros renovating the property I decided to try it, as I had to be a night in Nice.
Walking by the white clad door staff into the grand 1912’s edifice (a French Historical Building) one could immediately sense that the Negresco was into ascendancy. Madame Augier has brought in a new management with 5 Star experience and is putting the money behind them. Living there (I spotted her in the coffee shop having lunch) also shows serious of purpose. The commitment and capital shows.
It was great fun walking thru spacious lobby looking at the eclectic collection of art, a Dali portrait of Madame, and the famous Baccarat chandelier and a men’s room like no other in the world. The washbasin is an old general’s field mess kit.
The British bar is bustling and a throwback to another time.
La Rotonde, the coffee shop could double for FAO Schwartz in the old days with carrousel horses that actually go up and down periodically. On nice days one can take their refreshment overlooking the pebbly beach of the Med.
And the Chanticler, with a new young chef, is still Nice’s best restaurant.
The rooms are a work in process. Don’t stay here if you want the Four Seasons bland perfection; but I found the "in your face" ecclecticness refreshing.
We had a still to be fully renovated room with bright silk wall covering and in-your-face gold fixtures in the bath. The huge gold bath/shower lacked a shower curtain but maybe that is because it was a fashion statement, not a practical device.
The old 2 button electrical switches were an example of the kookiness of the place.
But the French balcony overlooking the Med. Reminded me why I was in Nice.
The stay was a fun experience. Different; more than just a lodging. More than just another night in a beautiful old building. It is a romp in a wealthy owner’s fantasy.
Definitely I will stay here again, if I have to be in Nice, if only to see what other new great things are brought to this fun old place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Venamo,
We are really happy to see that you enjoyed your stay amongst us! Our chef, Jean Denis Rieubland, was delighted that you had a good time at Le Chantecler. We hope to see you again soon!

Pierre Bord, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,107 - 1,113 of 2,486 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

Let me say at the outset that Hotel Negresco is the nicest and most unique hotel experience I have ever had, and I have stayed at many nice hotels. Now, let me again say that it is the overall experience which places this hotel in a special category, as there are undboubtedly many newer glass and steel hotels that are glitzier than Hotel Negresco.
My wife and I spent 4 nights at the hotel as part of a 30 day trip to Italy, France, and Spain (9 hotels in total); the trip was for my 70th birthday. We made our reservations about 6 months in advance after finding a really good rate on the internet. Even at this good rate, the hotel was still the most expensive hotel of our trip, but certainly worth the cost.
The experience begins almost immediately when you walk in the front door and are greeted by the hotel staff, and then are personally escorted to your room by a hotel representative. Our room was basically a standard room (which was still very nice sized), although the view out of our window was nothing spectacular as it was looked out at the glass dome covering an interior courtyard (the rooms overlooking the sea and the promenade were in an entirely much higher price category). Our room did include a sitting area, a magnificent bathroom, and a large comfortable poster bed. I was always inspired whenever we left our room, and walked down the hallway, which had an incredibly ornate carpet, and by the eclectic collection of modern art which had been personally selected and purchased by the owner of the hotel.
The hotel is privately owned, and I shared the elevator one evening with the owner (an elderly lady who is now in a wheel chair) who was on her cell phone asking questions and providing answers to the hotel's employees.
The hotel has an outstanding restaurant (Michelin 3 star rated) and bar, although we never had any meals there, as the prices did not fit our budget. We were able to find an excellent bakery / cafe around the corner from the hotel, where for about 15 euros we shared a really good breakfast every day. For dinner, there are many fine restaurants in the city, especially down by the old port, which is about a 15 minute walk.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike39604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear mike39604,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Pierre Bord, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed for two nights in May when the weather was warming up and Nice was buzzing. Arrived by car and the very kind valet took care of the care and our luggage while we were ushered to the front desk. The staff have got a lot of slack from other reviews, but I only found the nicest people who were not only kind but helpful and engaging. Our guest liason who checked us in was warn and welcoming, found out we had not stayed before, showed us around the facilities and then took us to our room. Nothing was a problem during our stay and the staff went out of their way to make my stay pleasant.

I understand that this hotel is not for everyone, if you like modern and sleek then this may not be the best place for you. However, I like art and interesting experiences and if this sounds like you then there are lots of suprises in store. The rooms are beautifully decorated with antiques and art works on all walls. The eye for detail in each room can be felt including how art works were paired and what fashion statements could me made with wall paper and in our bathroom gold baths and bidets. I didn't find this gaudy, I found it a statement on art and appreciated it. The amenities are all there- really liked the toiletries like body wash and shampoo. The view from our room was spectacular with the Museum over the road as well as the beautiful Mediterranean. Loved that it was not one the main road but rather on a side road (we chose the partial sea view and garden view).

The rest of the hotel was a treat- we were in the African section on the second floor but there is art all over the hotel from the reception to outside, to the hallways- this is a walking art museum and one which is interesting and clearly put together out of love of art.

I personally had a great time-loved the art-loved the room- loved the service and left feeling sad and can't wait to come back again and will do soon.

Room Tip: Do yourself a favour and book one of the sea facing or garden and sea partial view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Jasonleg,
We are very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay amongst us! We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Pierre Bord, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

A bit of a shame, far too much overpriced, too crowdy (convention going on in the main hall) Staff do not give you the idea that you are a GUEST. Price/quality not present.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casale372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Dear Casale372,

We are surprised that you did not feel like a guest as one of our strongpoints is personal service as we are a private hotel. We do organize conventions and seminars in our meeting rooms, and occasionally in the Salon Royal. Nevertheless, we would like to know more about your experience, in order to improve for your next visit. Therefore, do not hesitate to send us a message with more details on what went wrong during your stay.

Pierre Bord, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed 4 nights at this pretentious and over-rated hotel. I had a bathroom with shimmering red fixtures more appropriate for a gaudy bordello. The room carpet had scuff marks and looked tatty.The staff is stiff and opinionated and while the art collection is something they crow about it just looks like lots of odds and ends collected and displayed with no particular theme or frankly taste. I had stayed at this hotel about 14/15 years ago and had forgotten what it was like. Won't make the same mistake the third time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kwando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear Kwando,
We are sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay amongst us. Our art collection is very diversified and includes pieces of work by Picasso, Dali,Vasarelli …. But we understand that our collection might not match everyone’s tastes. The owner, Madame Augier has decorated with artwork and antique furnitures from Louis XIII to today in order to share her passion for the History of France.The hotel is indeed full of History but we know that some customers prefer modernity.
Pierre Bord, General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hotel Negresco is a grand dame hotel. A little old now but the location is very good, the rooms are spacious, the hot water comes in right away and with good water pressure. The interior design needs some consistency and updating but a very good hotel and probably the best in Nice along the seaside. The breakfast is wonderful and the services in the restaurants, at the front desk and from housekeeping are excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpmarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Dear hpmarge,
We are happy to read your satisfaction about you stay at Le Negresco! Our staff is there to satisfy you in every circumstance, we are glad that they succeeded in making your stay a pleasant one. We do hope to welcome you again soon !
Pierre Bord, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

No doubt once the Grand Dame of Hotels in Nice, sadley that is not the case now. Most everything is dated and in need of a serious refurbishment. Doors in our room to the bath or the loo wouldn't close, on the first day the room wasn't cleaned or made up, the breakfast area is a small room, where one is sitting one on top of the other. Service at best is average. In our opinion, they need to sell some of the impressive art collection and reinvest it in the actual building and amenities. The service at the beach restaurant was a disgrace.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arcjnb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#15 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $211 - $632 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing