We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
NH Nice(Nice)
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$484
US$379
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$312
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$232
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Suisse(Nice)
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$143
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,762)
Filter reviews
2,762 results
Traveller rating
1,547
617
291
148
159
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,547
617
291
148
159
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla rotondeart collectioniconic hotelmerry go roundmichelin star restaurantsea viewleading hotels of the worldluxury hotelpublic areasfrench rivierahotel barprivate beachsouth of francepromenade desbreakfast roomcote d'azurold town
Filter
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 2,762 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2015

Filled with art, the owner staring out at you from every corner out of various portraits, slightly dated decor, but spotlessly clean. Poor Wifi - everyone at breakfast was talking about the poor quality of the reception. Very slow service at breakfast unless you went down early or did not want a cooked breakfast. On the first day, the bacon etc in the chafing dishes was stone cold - no apologies made, nothing re cooked, just an 'oh dear, this is a problem'. Hubby's eggs, requested hard boiled, arrived raw! Scrambled eggs in the chafing dish were runny and undercooked. Lots of bread and fruit and cold stuff, the few cooked items were sub standard and looked pretty unappetising. The maitre'd didn't seem very dynamic, he was more keen on shuffling papers about and walking around importantly - a few days later a lady took over and she was a bit more dynamic.
Room clean, cleaners quite diligent - unfortunately one of them left her dusting rag on my suitcase, and she had moved all my toiletries into the bedroom to clean the bathroom and not put them back. The loo was in a separate, tiny compartment, and though we are not large, we had difficulty getting out without banging our knees against the door. Comfortable beds, very soft pillows, we could have done with tea/coffee making facilities, and an ironing board. The courtyard view is a joke - there is no courtyard, the room looked over the cupola of the ballroom. There was no lock on the door, just a chain and the only way to shut the door on leaving the room was by banging it shut as there was no handle one could turn. There was also a short corridor leading to the room from the main corridor, and that door kept opening mysteriously even though we shut it carefully. The staff were very friendly and very polite, but very laid back - especially at breakfast there was a distinct lack of leadership which meant a lot of chaos, and a half an hour wait for eggs - so the toast/tea etc had gone completely cold until we got used to their pace - S L O W.
We took our own kettle, but they had no mugs, only little teacups, so we had to go out and buy our own - the cleaning lady left the mugs for us to wash, which was fine, but didn't say much for her professionalism. The bathroom was roomy, with a roll top bath, but the toilet was in a tiny compartment, we kept knocking our knees against the door. A very expensive mini bar - a half pack of Pringles was over 8 Euros - and of course the restaurant and bar were pricey but that was to be expected. On the whole an enjoyable experience and we would most definitely go back if we ever went back to Nice.

Stayed: August 2015
1  Thank HalleMaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2015

Dear HalleMaisie,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay at The Negresco Hotel.

We sincerely apologize for the lack of proper service you experienced in the restaurant "La Rotonde". During high season, the promptness of the service may unfortunately be affected by the full occupancy of the property. Be assured that your remarks have been communicated to our food and beverage manager.

Once again we are sorry to read that the service provided by the housekeeping service was not as accurate as it should be. This point will be reviewed by our executive housekeeping manager.

Despite all these inadequacies, we are happy to read that you will be back to the Negresco in the future.

We look forward to better serving you on your future stay with us.

With best regards,

Pierre BORD
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2015

We spent two nights in this hotel. We got an upgrade and had a direct sea view. The hotel is packed with antique items, beds, tapestries, pictures etc. Some of the decorations are quite gaudy, I did not appreciate gold colored sink and toilet bowl.

They have a strange custom of making explicit hints re tipping, e.g. for parking cars on the street (for free) instead of a pricey hotel park.

The concierge was generally helpful.

The breakfast was ok, but not the most diverse.

Nice experience, but next time we would stay in a more conventional Hyatt.

We did not appreciate the brasserie where we had a dinner on one of the nights.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zilonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

Visited this iconic hotel even though it says no visitors for a while. Was so lucky I got in.
Wow the ace is really amazing. I mean if they were smarter they could charge a small admission to see all the art work :)
There is also a little shop that sells lots of lovely delights at a very not so lovely price hehehehe

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
1  Thank angelina1813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction_Negresco, Directeur général at Hotel Negresco, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2015

Dear angelina1813,

thank you for posting a comment on Tripadvisor.

Due to past security issues, visits are no more allowed at the Negresco Hotel.

However, you will be allowed to visit all our public areas after taking a drink in our Bar "Le Relais" or having lunch in our brasserie "La Rotonde".

The artwork collection is unique in France and our 117 individually decorated guestrooms offer either a couryard, garden or sea view.

We hope you will be back soon in order to try our fabulous drinks served on the terrace of the summer bar overlooking the Mediterranean.

With my best personal regards,

Pierre BORD
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2015

I have never been to a hotel like this before. It is quite enchanting. The Hotel is almost a museum in itself. The Owner has displayed many works of art throughout the hotel, each floor having its very own theme, making the hotel rather charming. The most exciting being the elevator itself. Even the rooms have a lovely vintage vibe. The only thing I have to say that I wasn't the most pleased about was that my room was entirely pink, but that is not something I couldn't deal with. Location wise this hotel is excellent!

Room Tip: Ask what colour you will be getting.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kacraze35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2015

Our children booked us in to the Negressco as a surprise on Thursday night ( Sept 3rd). We were upgraded to a deluxe sea view room on arrival by the very helpful Pierre in Reception. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully appointed.
We had cocktails and were very well served by Jeremy, the manager of the champagne bar, who arranged a birthday surprise for my husband.
On return to our room, we found a birthday card signed by the Duty Manager and his team, together with a selection of beautiful chocolates. We were most impressed with the customer service and attention from the staff.
We will certainly be back later on in the Autumn.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureenrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews