We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would defintely return”
Review of Hotel West End

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel West End
Ranked #37 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Excellent location, on the Promenade and near to the town centre, The bus stops outside.
Good price. good rooms. There is public parking behind the hotel. Everything was just what I would expect from a large hotel like this. Pleasant staff, free wifi and a typical buffet breakfast to ssuit all tastes. They could have better coffee perhaps! La Siecle restaurant was perfectly good also. Overall an excellent find- a roomy hotel on the front.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view you must ask and pay a bit more. Or go for a cheaper room and get out more!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GALCHESHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for such a nice comment.
We do hope to welcome you back.
Sincerely yours
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,252 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I love France -
But I always find it very difficult to find a hotel, as the standard is (what all respect) not very high.

After reading Trip Advisor, I was a litlle "nervous" reg. our booking.

But it was all forgotten when arrived at the hotel.
Nice welcome, great rooms.
The rooms where extremely clean, every thing was "fresh" - it was just great.

The hotel is located apx 10 min. walk from central of Nice (Nice Etoile) - but you do not notice the 10 min walk when you go along the beautilful beach, and just enjoying Nice at its best.

The hotel was all over very clean, and the staff was so friendly and gave a perfect service.

So will defently stay here again.
But some few advise:

Avoid their smallest rooms. - Upgrade upgrade!
Do not waste your money on the breakfast*
Parking just next to the hotel (parking house) - 22 EUR per. night (24h) - so be aware!


* = The break cost 20 EUR - simply to expensive! there are hardly any breakfast.
But again, I am from Scandinavia, where are are use to breakfast being the "most imporant meal of the day"

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

It is so good to read such positive comment . Your experience at the West End was quite satisfactory and that will help a lot all our future guests to make their own appreciation.

Thank you very much.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. The reception and the housekeeping staff were very helpful especially the concierge guy (forgot the name). The location is excellent and the view from the balcony is awesome. The room needs refurbishment though.
As mentioned in other reviews here, the hotel is very accessible from and to the airport as the bus stops just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhilKay92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed in April 2012 booked a executive room asked for one with a balcony. First to book in at 1400 hours got a room on first floor with no balcony asked to be changed but even though the hotel did not appear full could not accommodate my request. Room was good size clean and partial skies of sea. The main road is just outside the window close the window and no noise. Great location for walking into town centre of walking along the promenade. Didn't try the expensive breakfast loads of little cafes nearby for coffee and croissants.. Would I go back? Probably not.

Room Tip: Higher the better but even if you ask for it there is no guarantee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treetops20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you for your posistive comment about our hotel -
Thank you again for reporting how you appreciate the cleanliness , quietness, size and comfort.
Our location is an asset and very few hotel in town has such a wonderful location.
We are really trying hard to make each of our guest comfortable but regretfully our availabilities could not allocate you a room on the top floors - though this request on reservation can easily be notified it is therefore not confirmable especially when hotel is almost completely booked like it was last week end ( Spring holidays ) . I am quite sure you will one make another visit in our hotel and enjoy a memorable stay.
We are already waiting for you.
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have travelled to Nice many times, often staying in the centre, other times in beach hotels or rural hotels away from the city. This time we decided to go for the West End, right on the Promenade des Anglais.  It looks a grand old Belle Époque building; its one of the three similar on that stretch of the Prom (The Royal, The Westminster & The West End).
I reserved an Ocean View Junior Suite via a large online agent, but on arrival was told that we were getting a side view, 'There is no other choice tonight Monsieur, we are fully booked.' This room was a joke: two floors crammed into a high ceilinged room.  This made a sleeping platform above, connected by a tight and vertiginous spiral staircase to a very odd-shaped living area below. It was also hot, cramped and lacking in light.  The WC was tiny, bathroom hard to use, wardrobes inaccessible.  We spent an uncomfortable night in this room, which was nothing like the picture online of that which we had so carefully reserved.
The second day we were moved to an Ocean View suite, which was full sized, with large French windows and two small balconies facing the sea. The suite was a rather odd shape again, with three other small parts leading to main bedroom, but at least the bedroom was light, airy and sunny, and we had the ocean view, as we'd wished for.
However, some problems reared their ugly heads pretty quickly: we asked for a feather pillow rather than the supplied foam-rubber bricks; none could be found for us.
The air conditioning was ineffective, so the only source of cool air was from  the windows. But with these open the incessant roar of night traffic, even drowning the sea and surf sounds, was so loud that it was difficult to sleep.
Then there was a stink - literally.  A pungent smell of sewage appeared from time to time in bathrooms and corridors, even up on the third floor.   Down at basement level it was choking on the one morning that we used that link to the breakfast room.
We didn't eat-in other than for breakfast.  The buffet provided was adequate, but not generous or lavish in any way.  Juices were reconstituted rather than fresh, the coffee was a treacly bitter brew.
We departed, tired from lack of sleep and somewhat disillusioned with the idea of a Belle Epoque stay on Nice's most famous street. Nowadays that street  is a heavy traffic zone and the West End isn't far enough removed from it. This hotel is lacking in facilities, has no pool, and seems to be badly in need of a refurb and new plumbing.   
The staff were all friendly and pleasant enough, but the building and the situation really isn't 4-star or in any way conducive to a relaxing stay.
Next time I'll be trying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toofastcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you Sir for your comment. Beyond all your impressions we do all appreciate how you enjoyed the full size Ocean view suite with two small balconies facing the sea which was perfectly matching with your expectations. Thank you for your positive impression about the re staff and the location as well as the Belle Epoque style which offer a very cosy atmosphere far from the coldness of modern design hotel.
Therefore we have to clear up a few issues such as the air conditionning system, smell,feather pillows, room allocation.
Early April is mild enough and heating is no longer required. For ecological purposes we turn our general air con system on May and provide to all our guests various solutions if any discomfort related to temperature is mentionned. Ventilation can be regulated in the room and provide a satisfactory temperature and perfect comfort to all our eco friendly guests.Being eco responsible is one or our engagement .
Window open let the street noise come in and we do note recommend this option.
A noticeable smell may not be considered as a hotel fault as we regret with you the underground works in progress in he city which revealed in the neighborhood the same consequences.
Feather pillow are availble on request as allergy are regularly mentionned on our reservation.
We could easily could provide you one depending on our availabilities.
Please note : Our partner the Blue Beach will be opened from May to October with sunshades and all beach facilities such as bar and restaurant is opened.
Along with our apologies we remind you that a first average impression may be turned on to a much better one and we do hope to welcome you back and enjoy our hotel .
Sincerely yours.
Guest relation manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed at the West End Hotel in Feb 2012 Located on the magnificent Promenade des Anglais in the beautiful city of Nice. The hotel is within walking distance of all attractions. The room was comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast was a little expensive but worth the experience for a day. The whole hotel is furnished in Grand Victorian style - antiques wherever you look (including one or two of the staff!) Bus for airport just outside front door. Regular service. Wrap up warm in Feb!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST2010, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for such a nice review. We wish to welcome you back and enjoy the Victorian style of our hotel that make a quick or long stay a peaceful and memorable one.
Sincerely yours
Guest relation manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from spending 4 nights at the Hotel West End. I was a little apprehensive booking this hotel given some of the negative reviews I read, but there was not a whole lot of availability elsewhere, so we went for it. We actually ended up being very pleasantly surprised.
We took other reviewers advice and splurged on a deluxe sea-view room and we were very glad we did. The view could absolutely not have been better. We even had a small balcony with a high table and two high stools which we used quite a bit. The room itself was sort of small and very white, not exactly my taste, but it didn't bother me. I'm not a huge fan of tile floors, but not a big deal either. There was a nice sized closet (with safe) for clothes, but no drawers at all which was a little annoying. If you were staying a week or so with another person, this would be frustrating I think. The bathroom was quite nice and they did provide shampoo, soap, etc. There were also bathrobes and sippers provided, as well as a hairdryer.
A big plus for us was the in-room coffee/tea. The instant coffee they provide is surprisingly good. We did not find the beds to be very comfortable and two twin-sized beds pushed together to make a king is pretty awful, but I am not sure this would be any different at another hotel.
We had nothing but polite service from the front desk, free wifi was included in our room (but I'm not sure this is always the case?) and we were given a username and password to use. We had breakfast at the hotel one morning, even though it was completely overpriced. We were honestly craving large cups of American coffee which is a little harder to come by than you might think. The rest of the breakfast (a buffet) was OK, nothing special.
The location of this hotel is fantastic. A 10 minute walk to the old town, right across the street from the promenade d'anglais. There is also a bus stop just outside the hotel which we used going to/from the airport as well as when we took the bus to Antibes. Definitely take the bus from the airport - #98, just outside the baggage claim area in Terminal 1 (it also stops at Terminal 2 first). It costs 4 euros and drops you off right across the street from the hotel. You can buy your ticket directly from the driver (he/she can make change) or at the tickets office. The ticket gives you unlimited use of the bus for one day, so save your ticket. Apparently a taxi ride from the airport is over 40 euros.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jgphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Negresco
#17 of 203 in Nice
2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel West End

Address: 31 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#33 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $141 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel West End 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1842, the West End Hotel, a jewel of the Belle Epoque, is ideally located on the legendary Promenade des Anglais. It is 5 minutes from the old city, 10 minutes from the airport and the Palais des Congrès congress centre.In an enchanting setting, the Hotel is a perfect combination of tradition, savoir-faire, and modernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel West End reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Nice
West End Hotel Nice
Nice Best Western
Hotel West End Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing