We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture
Ranked #42 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a room at the front of the hotel, on one of the top floors. We could see the Med from our window. The hotel is 5 minutes from the Med and the 'Old town". The staff are amazingly helpful and the location was fantastic. We would definately go back!
It has a lovely garden room were you can relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyMoffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

The undeniable benefit of this hotel is the location, as has already been pointed out by many other reviewers here. We booked a special offer via a website and were able to have a triple room for a very reasonable price.

Unfortunately when we arrived we were given a double room, not a triple. We went back down to reception to inform them and they said they would bring a 3rd bed to the room for us at some point later that day. I was surprised by this as I couldn't see how they would fit a 3rd bed in such a small room.

A single fold out camp style bed was provided.The maid who delivered the bed was determined to squeeze it in but had to permanently lodge the bathroom door open in order to do so, which wasn't really appropriate for 3 friends who were sharing a room, unless they wanted to see each other whilst using the toilet or having a bath. I was going to go and fetch the manager to complain about this but couldn't really be bothered with the conflict because we just wanted to get on with our holiday. We rearranged the furniture ourselves and managed to close the bathroom door.

The other negative point that I would make is that some of the facilities featured on the hotel's own website were not provided. When requesting the promised tea and coffee making facilities we were told that these were not available in the hotel. The room safe for personal artefacts and valuables was available, but had to be hired at an extra cost.

Would I stay here again? Only if there was a very special offer price and I was on a short trip where I wasn't expecting to spend much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U2fanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

The hotel itself is a fairly standard, medium-sized, medium-priced, medium-quality place serving a decent continental breakfast…but it is in an absolutely brilliant location. Ten minutes walk from the Vieille Ville, three minutes walk from the Promenade des Anglais and opposite a boulangerie, a cheese shop, a wine shop and a mini-supermarket/greengrocer. Given that there are also more than a dozen reasonably priced restaurants within a stone’s throw and a multi-storey car-park at the end of the road for those mad enough to take a car into central Nice, it could not have been in a better position.
Little to say about the bedroom: ours was perhaps a little on the small side and the walls were paper thin, but it was scrupulously clean and the bed was comfortable – which is all that you really need on one week’s holiday. The staff were polite and friendly, and the main receptionist even gave us the choice of conversing in English or French. If I were to return to Nice, there is every chance that I would return to the Hotel De Flore.
And one piece of advice - Car parking is prohibitively expensive in central Nice; public transport throughout the Region is excellent and cheap, so it is a no-brainer: Don't hire a car!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SemperteFallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Fabulous location, walking distance to old part of Nice, beach, bus stations, shops, very good service. We always choose this hotel when visiting Nice

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nino G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Typical "boutique" sized rooms, nice sized bathroom and excellent central location. One negative is the door locks. They used old fashioned keys and they do not lock on their own when you close the door, and you can use the key from inside the room. My teenagers stayed in their own room and I cautioned them not to use the key to lock the door when they were inside the room because they wouldn't be able to get out in an emergen y. I instructed them to just rely on the security bar instead.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmbtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAVEILLAN, General Manager at Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review. The hotel of Flore follows closely all your comments through the web site and then examines and treats them with attention. We often work to make your stay more pleasant and have the pleasure to inform you that several things are already envisaged to satisfy your wishes and requests. Thank you for your interest.
Best regards

Robert Aveillan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

This hotel is located close to the beach and within easy walking distance of most areas in Nice. To get there from the airport, take the 98 bus and get off along the Promenade & Gustave V or de Congres. It is then a short walk up the street. A supermarket is also right next door.

The rooms are dated and quite small, but the biggest issue was when we went to bed, it was only a double, and the mattress dipped badly in the middle and was very soft. Once we were asleep, we were woken 3 out of 4 nights by people talking loudly in the next room. Also, the rooms were quite warm and luckily the windows in the rooms fully opened! If you are a heavy sleeper, this is a great hotel for you. If not, probably consider staying elsewhere unless you take some earplugs and it is only for a night or two.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The room and hotel was mostly clean, although a bit dated in some areas. There was some mold on the ceiling in the entry area in our room. The location was excellent for the price, and was just a few blocks away from the beaches. The receptionist was very nice and helpful. Unfortunately the kitchen/cafe for breakfast was on our floor, so there was no snoozing after 6:00 am. The breakfast was very nice and had lots to choose from.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room NOT on the same floor as the breakfast cafe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinderOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Centre
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#62 of 204 in Nice
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
468 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#78 of 204 in Nice
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture

Address: 2 rue Maccarani, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Quality Hotel Flore Nice Promenade)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Nice
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#24 Business Hotel in Nice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $136 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Flore Nice Promenade is a 4-star hotel ideally situated in the centre of Nice. The hotel offers 65 rooms that have been carefully thought out and designed for your well-being with a refined, warm Provençal decor. From 6pm, let's enjoy of our HappyTime with Provençal savors in our living room or in the patio : drinks, wines, apetizers... let be tempted yourself ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de Flore by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flore Hotel
De Flore Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing