We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
299
316
55
28
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
316
55
28
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station quirky decor express breakfast old town minute walk the main shopping street storage space superior room enjoyed our stay would highly recommend this hotel small balcony late at night would stay again nice room south of france comfortable hotel visiting nice
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 709 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Spent 3 nights in this lovely hotel and hopefully we will return. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly without being overwhelming. Im told that the room was an upgrade and it certainly was large. The breakfast was more than adequate and the restaurant was clean.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ruthy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent_deferrieres, Directeur général at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear Travelers,

Thank you for this lovely comment about our hotel ! I will not hesitate to share your comment with all my team who works very hard every day in order to satisfy every travelers.

We look forward to welcome you again !

Best regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2017

Stayed here for 4 nights.The room was cleaned every day and we received fresh towels.The air condition was working too,Breakfast was delicious everyday,you have to be down quick if you want more variety.The hotel staff is lovely and speak good English.The hotel is literally 2 mins from the train station.The train tickets to Monaco were so cheap,and it only took 20mins to get there.The Hotel was a great location for us,we didn't mind walking ,but it could be a good 25 mins walk from the beach.Overall it was a very pleasant and hot stay:)

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Bianka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent_deferrieres, Directeur général at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear travelers,

We are glad to see that your stay was exactely as you expected. Indeed, our location is perfect for anyone who want to discover Nice and it's surrondings. The walking distance from the beach is between 10 and 15 minutes.

If you want to come back do not hesitate to contact us directely to get the best price available and free breakfast .

Best regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2017

Perfect City Trip, nice hotel. 15-20 to the beach boulevard, nice breakfast. car-parking only 5 min near the train station. very kindly people and nice service. wlan is faster than in germany and its free

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Les Collectionneurs
Thank raykt2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent_deferrieres, Directeur général at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you notice the speed about the wifi as we just invest in a new wifi system much faster.

Do not hesitate to book directely with us next time to get the best price available and free breakfast.

Best regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2017

This hotel was a clean and cute boutique hotel in the city of Nice. The staff speaks English and are very helpful. Housekeeping was also good.

The room however was teeny tiny, even for just my husband and I with our one luggage a piece. We had to shimmy around each other in the room LOL. The bathroom is also small. The beds were pretty comfy and sheets were clean.

The fridge didn't work however and the drinks were not included, but no biggie. Our only real complaint was the temperature. The AC unit in the ceiling would always be freezing or too hot, and at one point, we had to call the front desk to turn it on (which I didn't understand - why have the thermostat in the room if it's regulated at the front desk?).

The hotel is quite a walking distance from the beach and old towne. Shopping however is on the same street about 10-15 min walking distance away and there is a grocery store on that street too. I advise grabbing a few snacks to take back to the hotel with you, as we Americans were off with the time difference and we got hungry in the middle of the night, and there was NO FOOD available in the hotel. Not even snacks, chips, small bites, etc. I think that is the standard in France however, but when you are 6 hours behind.... it's slightly inconvenient.

I would probably pick a hotel closer to old towne if I ever returned, but this hotel was a good value and clean!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunjay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent_deferrieres, Directeur général at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Dear Travelers,

Thank you for your comment about the staff who is doing their best every day to satisfy every travelers. I am a bit surprise about your comment on the AC as you can regulate it from your room, we only have an access at the front desk to help people when they do not understand how the AC is working. Moreover, you have a room service menu which have been in your room for the whole stay and you can order food at any time even if we need time to make it.

Have a safe trip back.

Best regards,

management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017

I booked the hotel for a sight seeing trip to Nice. We were mostly visiting the town, museums and going to Antibes, Monaco and Monte Carlo. For this type of vacation, the hotel was fine.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. They speak English as well as French and were willing to research some information about beaches for me. The location of the hotel is great if you want to travel to other places by train or bus as it is just 3 minutes from the train station. It is a 10 minute walk into old Nice or to the beach.

The hotel decor is nice and modern. Sheets and towels are changed every day.

However, I don't think I would choose the hotel for a beach vacation. It is quite a walk to the beach. And the rooms are VERY small. So is the bathroom (which is quite modern). With lots of towels and wet bathing suits it could get quite crammed especially as there is nowhere to dry them. The balcony is too tiny and has nothing to hang things on.
The closet cannot even be opened properly. And I wish the nightstands would have had some drawers and not just the design of it. However, the more expensive rooms might be bigger.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Rosenbogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent_deferrieres, Directeur général at Nice Excelsior Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Dear Travelers,

Thank you for your comment which help us to improve the quality of our stay. I have notice your comment about the size of the room but as we are in a very old bulding (1858) we cannot increase the size of the room. However, the superior rooms which is 20 euros more are much bigger if you are staying for a longer stay.

Hope you had enjoy Nice and it 's surrondings.

Best regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews