We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel but good location...”
Review of Hotel Albert 1er

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Albert 1er
Ranked #46 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Worst Hotel I've ever stayed in...Staff were rude, ill-trained and behaved as if they were doing us a favour by letting us stay with them. Location was good which helped get away from the hotel quickly during the day. the hotel is outdated..the standard room we stayed in was tiny...overlooking the road...even though it was sold as overlooking the garden( the garden they are referring to is the one across the road and belongs to another hotel or is a public park).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biji m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here march 2012. The rooms are very old and tired in need of some love and attention.. but spotless clean and belive me I checked for dust under bed etc... so cleanliness not a problem. Loose sockets on the walls were a bit iffy.... Room on the 5th floor was average size with mini fridge. Good view of the park. Staff were helpful with directions etc. The best thing about this hotel is the location... we couldnt have asked for better. Bus from airport stops on the promanade which is across the road from the hotel about 2 minute walk .. same with the bus back to the airport.Close to bus station , 5 minute walk for the monaco bus (€1per person!) and the bus ride was amazing with great scenery.. took about 40 minutes. Close to flower market, restaurants and bars.... Location more than made up for tiredness of hotel...

Room Tip: we had room 507, 5th floor. small balcony large bathroom.. high floor with good city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shelley0266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

It is very central - walking distance to train station, shopping, restaurants etc. Airport bus stops right in front of the hotel.
It is quite worn, hence the reason for the renovation when we arrived. A pitty we were not informed it was under renovation and nothing was stated on their web-site. Which means only lower floors were available.
The sea-view rooms are not really sea-view unless you get a high floor that overlooks the very nice palm trees. But it's a nice side view to the garden and you can see the sea between the palm trees. The room standard is ok, nothing special but spacy with a minifridge you can store your own food in.
We didn't go for the breakfast as supermarkets are near and cheap french bakeries are close as well. Here you can buy cheeses, pastries and bread to die for!.
Behind the hotel is a great bistro : Bistro Gourmand which is the best restaurant, large meals, good prices. Make sure to book in advance!
Beds are too soft....but room is clean...

Room Tip: High floor, balkony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This is an old-fashioned French banged up hotel in a prime location which has seen much better days. They put lipstick on the pig, meaning they had the rooms recently painted but did not adjust the doors which did not close. Our first room still stank of paint and we could hardly breathe. The air conditioning dispensed heat.The first receptionist was very unhelpful (like at most services in France), but then we lucked out and found Rachel who went out of her way to get us a better room. Thank you for saving our stay at Nice. All rooms are very clean, but the hotel does not deserve 3.8 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristaJupitet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at Albert’s Hotel for only 1 night. The first time I got there, it was late at night and I was very tired from my trip. I was so shocked by the hotel room, it deserved 2 stars out of 5. I had their breakfast the next morning, and I can’t believe it, their croissant was the best I’ve ever tasted. It was fresh and delicious. Definitely the highlight of my stay in this hotel.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
Thank AppleMuffin710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The hotel is in a perfect location for Nice: close to the beaches, close to Vieux Nice, with its market and restaurants, and close to transportation to sights. The staff was helpful and the rooms (European in size) were clean. Breakfast was very good. The only problem is that the bed were softer than we like.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leslie372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

The location of this hotel is almost perfect but I am surprised that it was given a 3 star rating. It is clean (ish) and decent. The bed is rather small, and we are not big people. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. They allowed us to see 2 rooms before chosing the most suitable for us. I really apprecitated that. I would not recomend you to pay anything extra for the sea view as you can only see a tiny bit of sea from your window.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel West End
#39 of 204 in Nice
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Royal
#118 of 204 in Nice
678 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
468 reviews
Le Meridien Nice
#80 of 204 in Nice
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albert 1er? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albert 1er

Address: 4 avenue des Phoceens, 06300 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $112 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Albert 1er 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera-style 6-story Hotel located in city, across from gardens & beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albert 1er reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert 1er Nice
Albert 1er Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing