We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$282
US$236
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$479
US$422
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Suisse(Nice)
US$317
US$287
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$238
US$225
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
NH Nice(Nice)
US$201
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$357
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$147
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$225
US$211
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice(Nice)
US$139
US$129
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
87
118
32
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
118
32
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsde francefourth floorapartment buildingthe busold towntiny elevatorrooms are smallterrific locationstar hotelyour doorstepthin wallsair conditioningbars and restaurantscentral locationsolanathierrybalcony
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 254 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Me and my husband stand here for a three night break in May 2009.

First of all the location is perfect. You are only a seven minute walk to the beach front and the hotel is based on a main strip.. You can also walk to the train station which was about 10 / 15 minutes away (nice slow stroll)..

The room was of a very good size with a new bathroom which although was small was ideal. We were lucky enough to have a balcony and you could see the mountains in the distance.

The staff at the hotel (i think they may have been father and son) were incredibly helpeful. They were helpful with looking after bags down to directions and maps.

The hotel was very clean and using the small lift was a very nice feature if not a little scary the first time.

We caught the bus from the airport into Nice and the hotel was a short stroll from the bus stop.

We spent one day in monaco and one day in St Rapheal which was beautiful (we caught the train to these locations)..

All in all I would efinitely go back, in fact my husband is staying here again in May 2010 for the Grand Prix.

I wouldnt recommend this hotel for people with children, however for older travellers / couples etc I would say prime location with very comfortable environment.

One let down for us (nothing to do with the hotel) was one restaurant. We had booked to eat at an expensive seaford restaurant however the service appalling and we walked out within 10 minutes.... (if you have a boat and are loaded you seemed to get preferential treatment)..

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMMADUKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We were due to stop here from 14-18th April but as the volcano errupted...it ended up till the 23rd April. Thierry (the owner) and Jonathan (his son) really helped us out when our flight was cancelled...he kept our room open for us and he let us use the telephone and his internet free of charge to help us out. He also recommended places to visit.
We stopped in room 4 on the ground floor of the hotel for the first week and this was on the front of the hotel...the room was quite old fashioned and very noisy at night...however on the second week he let us move to room 9 and this was on the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor and also had a balcony. This room had been recently done up and was so much quieter.
The location of the hotel is close to the beach and airport bus stop and also lots of restaurants and shops. However if I were to go again to Nice, I think I would choose a hotel in the old part of Nice as this area was alot cleaner and there were nicer cafes/shops nearby.
For the money though...and the friendliness of the owners...you couldn't ask 4 more!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellieha1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I like how another reviewer said "serviceable" to describe the rooms and bathrooms. The room and bathroom were large enough, the sheets were clean and the bathroom was ok clean but things in general were just older with the room needing some maintenance/decorating attention. It was the kind of place my husband and I said "boy what we could do with a place like this". The potential is there but not met. I am not a complete germ phobe but I just had to take a cloth w/ soap and water and wash off all the light switches as they were so darkened with finger prints. We did enjoy our stay here though with no problems.

The owner was great. He helped us arrange a tour, spoke excellent English and was overall very accommodating. We asked about an earlier review mentioning bed bugs and he did not deny but said yes those things happen and went into detail of fumigating the rooms etc. to clear up the problem. And we know they do happen even in 4 star properties as travelers sometime bring them in with them.

The location just cannot be beat. In the heart of everything, yet VERY walkable from the train station (which had hotels nearby but somewhat of a dodgy area). And finally the rate was superb. A safe, reasonably clean room in a great neighborhood for a bargain price is not easy to find so we rate this hotel ok.

A Note for When You Arrive: We knew the hotel was on the 4th floor of what appears to be a residential building but expected a desk or something on the 1st floor. We pushed the outside door open to get in the building, found no signage or desk so we started climbing the stairs but then one flight up the lights went off. We found out the outside door normally stays locked so the correct procedure is to ring the bell outside (which we did not see) and they buzz you in or meet you, but since we got in without them knowing it, we were concerned about what we were walking in to! So be sure to buzz before you come in the building and learn where the light switches are if the motion does not turn the lights on.

Additional Notes:
Laundry and internet point if needed are nearby but expensive! Buy water or snacks at small grocer on the street walking from train station to hotel as nearby all Cokes and water are 3.00 each. Mc Donald's two blocks away if everything else too expensive. We loved the south of France but found it to be even pricier than Paris.

Take a tour or bus into the hill towns around the area... just lovely! Monaco was cool too just to see the wealth and amazing cars. It is only 1.00 to ride the bus there and is a BEAUTIFUL ride! And take time to sit and relax on the promenade. We did, and enjoyed it more than we would have thought.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcalmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2010

A basic 2 star but very good value for the price and a really superb location a block from the promenade/beach (and airport bus drop-off) and five minutes from Place Massina, ten from old town Nice (and bus stop). You can walk everywhere. The street is pedestrianized with lots of decent food options including a grocery store around the corner. The hotel is on the fourth floor (there is a lift – super tiny but effective) and some rooms are up another flight. Room(#8) had two single beds, desk, tv, mini-fridge, ensuite and a terrace with small table and two chairs (view of other buildings though, not the sea, but it is sunny). Very basic and bathroom is a few decades old but serviceable and staff is friendly and speak English. 50€ night. I think the high season rate is around 75€

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2009

We arrived in Nice in the early afternoon and were able to walk to the Hotel Solara from the rail station (all downhill) in about 20 minutes. It is on a busy pedestrian only thoroughfare near the heart of the city and not hard to find. It definitely has a "beam me up Scottie" elevator that gets you easily up to the fourth floor lobby, though maybe not at the same time. Our room was simple, narrow, but quite comfortable and serviceable for our needs. There was even a small seating area near the window to eat breakfast, etc. The bathroom was typical European, with a window overlooking the rooftops. The location was great, only a 3 minute walk from Place Messena, the center between the old and new city. The staff was very friendly and helpful with all requests, even letting me use their computer terminal to check my e-mail and mail home. Like I said, we did not pay for the breakfasts from the hotel, but instead bought pastries from this great shop off the Rue de France each day. We toured Vieux Nice (fabulous), took the local bus to Monaco (1 euro per ride), and loved the Museum of Contemporary Art. Though my food expectations were lower after the amazing food in Arles, I had dishes at the local Nicoise restaurants that were the equal to any I had elsewhere in Provence. Try the fish soup and the mussels, yummmm! Enjoy the Hotel Solara and the beautiful city of Nice as much as we did.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Bethalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews