We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
88
120
32
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
120
32
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews de france fourth floor apartment building the bus perfect location small refrigerator tiny elevator star hotel small terrace air conditioning your doorstep thin walls restaurants and cafes wonderful stay solana thierry balcony
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 257 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2010

When we were booking hotels for our trip to France, we wanted to stay in small hotels with charm that were within easy walking distance of where we wanted to be. Hotel Solara fits that bill!!! This hotel is located in the pedestrian area of Nice near lots of restaurants and shopping. This hotel is unique in that it has an older elevator which is good for two passengers or one passenger with luggage. The hotel is located on the 4th floor and is reached either by steps or the small elevator. The rooms are small but had plenty of space for our large suitcases. The bathroom is small but with new fixtures and a nicely tiled wall. We got a room with a balcony and enjoyed watching the birds and smelling the good food. If you are looking for an inexpensive room and a great area, then Hotel Solara is for you!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatPod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Me and my husband stand here for a three night break in May 2009.

First of all the location is perfect. You are only a seven minute walk to the beach front and the hotel is based on a main strip.. You can also walk to the train station which was about 10 / 15 minutes away (nice slow stroll)..

The room was of a very good size with a new bathroom which although was small was ideal. We were lucky enough to have a balcony and you could see the mountains in the distance.

The staff at the hotel (i think they may have been father and son) were incredibly helpeful. They were helpful with looking after bags down to directions and maps.

The hotel was very clean and using the small lift was a very nice feature if not a little scary the first time.

We caught the bus from the airport into Nice and the hotel was a short stroll from the bus stop.

We spent one day in monaco and one day in St Rapheal which was beautiful (we caught the train to these locations)..

All in all I would efinitely go back, in fact my husband is staying here again in May 2010 for the Grand Prix.

I wouldnt recommend this hotel for people with children, however for older travellers / couples etc I would say prime location with very comfortable environment.

One let down for us (nothing to do with the hotel) was one restaurant. We had booked to eat at an expensive seaford restaurant however the service appalling and we walked out within 10 minutes.... (if you have a boat and are loaded you seemed to get preferential treatment)..

You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EMMADUKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We were due to stop here from 14-18th April but as the volcano errupted...it ended up till the 23rd April. Thierry (the owner) and Jonathan (his son) really helped us out when our flight was cancelled...he kept our room open for us and he let us use the telephone and his internet free of charge to help us out. He also recommended places to visit.
We stopped in room 4 on the ground floor of the hotel for the first week and this was on the front of the hotel...the room was quite old fashioned and very noisy at night...however on the second week he let us move to room 9 and this was on the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor and also had a balcony. This room had been recently done up and was so much quieter.
The location of the hotel is close to the beach and airport bus stop and also lots of restaurants and shops. However if I were to go again to Nice, I think I would choose a hotel in the old part of Nice as this area was alot cleaner and there were nicer cafes/shops nearby.
For the money though...and the friendliness of the owners...you couldn't ask 4 more!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mellieha1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I like how another reviewer said "serviceable" to describe the rooms and bathrooms. The room and bathroom were large enough, the sheets were clean and the bathroom was ok clean but things in general were just older with the room needing some maintenance/decorating attention. It was the kind of place my husband and I said "boy what we could do with a place like this". The potential is there but not met. I am not a complete germ phobe but I just had to take a cloth w/ soap and water and wash off all the light switches as they were so darkened with finger prints. We did enjoy our stay here though with no problems.

The owner was great. He helped us arrange a tour, spoke excellent English and was overall very accommodating. We asked about an earlier review mentioning bed bugs and he did not deny but said yes those things happen and went into detail of fumigating the rooms etc. to clear up the problem. And we know they do happen even in 4 star properties as travelers sometime bring them in with them.

The location just cannot be beat. In the heart of everything, yet VERY walkable from the train station (which had hotels nearby but somewhat of a dodgy area). And finally the rate was superb. A safe, reasonably clean room in a great neighborhood for a bargain price is not easy to find so we rate this hotel ok.

A Note for When You Arrive: We knew the hotel was on the 4th floor of what appears to be a residential building but expected a desk or something on the 1st floor. We pushed the outside door open to get in the building, found no signage or desk so we started climbing the stairs but then one flight up the lights went off. We found out the outside door normally stays locked so the correct procedure is to ring the bell outside (which we did not see) and they buzz you in or meet you, but since we got in without them knowing it, we were concerned about what we were walking in to! So be sure to buzz before you come in the building and learn where the light switches are if the motion does not turn the lights on.

Additional Notes:
Laundry and internet point if needed are nearby but expensive! Buy water or snacks at small grocer on the street walking from train station to hotel as nearby all Cokes and water are 3.00 each. Mc Donald's two blocks away if everything else too expensive. We loved the south of France but found it to be even pricier than Paris.

Take a tour or bus into the hill towns around the area... just lovely! Monaco was cool too just to see the wealth and amazing cars. It is only 1.00 to ride the bus there and is a BEAUTIFUL ride! And take time to sit and relax on the promenade. We did, and enjoyed it more than we would have thought.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcalmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2010

A basic 2 star but very good value for the price and a really superb location a block from the promenade/beach (and airport bus drop-off) and five minutes from Place Massina, ten from old town Nice (and bus stop). You can walk everywhere. The street is pedestrianized with lots of decent food options including a grocery store around the corner. The hotel is on the fourth floor (there is a lift – super tiny but effective) and some rooms are up another flight. Room(#8) had two single beds, desk, tv, mini-fridge, ensuite and a terrace with small table and two chairs (view of other buildings though, not the sea, but it is sunny). Very basic and bathroom is a few decades old but serviceable and staff is friendly and speak English. 50€ night. I think the high season rate is around 75€

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews