We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NICEST PEOPLE. BEAUTIFUL ROOMS. Best for its price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nice Home Sweet Home
Ranked #13 of 44 Nice B&B and Inns
Stanford, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“NICEST PEOPLE. BEAUTIFUL ROOMS. Best for its price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

Beautiful gigantic apartment that makes you feel like a true local in Nice. Walking distance of everything in the city. Has the nicest staff who welcome you to the apartment, map out the surroundings for you, and help you with any issues! I would stay here 10 times out of 10 and recommend it to ALL friends!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crsmkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
33
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We reserved for 2 nights earlier this week (21 and 22 October 2010). We arrived late, about 1:15 p.m. vs. noon, as travel has been a little disrupted with the strike. We were driving so had to find fuel. We arrived at the office building in which the apartment is located (HSH is not on one of the plaques on the outside of the building - you will find a sticker on a door buzzer). Thankfully the front door was open so we went to the apartment. A note on the door indicated that someone would return at 5:30 p.m. but to push the button for a mobile phone. We talked to Mr. who said he would be there in 20 minutes. He arrived in 50 minutes. He showed us our room, took our passport information, showed us a few things on the city map, and asked for payment in advance. Had I been smart, I would have paid for 1 night, withholding the second night. He left. We were provided with keys, a towel each and a map.

The room was very large with an attached bath with shower. It was not clean. The room had large dust bunnies with wads of hair in them and the bath was moldy with a bare compact flourescent bulb hanging from a wire in the ceiling.

So we left our stuff and set out to see the city. When we returned, the room was very cold - the weather recently has been much cooler than normal. So we pushed the mobile phone button again and ended up having to leave a message asking for heat on Mr's voice mail. No response. So we closed the shutters, hoping it might help. It didn't.

In the morning, we discovered that there was no hair dryer in the room. Unfortunately, I discovered it after I had washed my hair. My friend and I decided we could not spent a second night without heat, so we left before the 10:30 check out time.

Before we checked out, we looked for the breakfast. There was no breakfast and no one was there to ask (owners live someplace else). The room where breakfast would have been prepared also is the laundry room, the hang up your stuff to dry room and was filthy. I opened the refrigerator to select a beverage to pay for and shut it immediately as the stench coming from the fridge was awful. We saw no one during our stay except when we checked in.

We went to the tourist information office and they found another hotel with the same ranking. That hotel had heat, wifi , elevator, helpful cheerful staff, a hairdryer and several blocks closer to the beach (yes, closer!) with close parking and was just 5 euro more a night for the room, not per person (that's $7 US when I bought my euros).

We were able to check in to our new hotel at noon and at 12:09 p.m. I sent Mme. an email telling her that we had left because no heat and asked for a refund of our second night. She responded at 12:44 p.m. that she had turned on the heat. I again asked for a refund. No comment on the refund as of this writing on 26 October 2010.

Observations: We never saw the charming wonderful people that everyone raves about. There really was no heat and there was a bare flourescent bulb hanging from a wire in the bath.
There was significant mold in the bath and the room was not clean. The towel I received had a sour smell once water hit it. It smelled like a towel that had been left in a washer too long before drying. Since I saw a whole load of washed towels sitting in the washer when we arrived and those same towels were there when we left, this supports my sour towel theory.

This was not a good value for the money - evidenced by a hotel with same star rating and a nominal cost difference that was closer to the beach. I've been travelling in France for 4 weeks and this was undoubtedly the very worst place I've stayed. I have stayed at dozens of B&Bs and nothing has ever been like this. This is about a half step up from a youth hostel and not a B&B. Don't let the name fool you.

If you are driving and it is the off-season, even though our second hotel was excellent, I still suggest staying in a smaller town and driving in for the day. For example, stay in Le Lavendou and drive to Nice. Much cheaper, save on parking and still easy access. Of course this approach won't work in season.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fannyfrance2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Per other reviews, very well located. Pluses: Well located within Nice, rooms are huge, the inexpensive water bottles, drinks in the shared fridge and use of the kitchen with laundry facilities (on an honor system). We were here mid-September and kept the windows open - and the street noise did not bother us. Negatives: So-so on the cleanliness. Our bedsheets smelled funny and were wrinkled giving the impression that they had been slept in - maybe not, but this sort of turned us off. Expensive underground parking (Mozart across the street at 24 euros/day).
No comment on the breakfasts as we did not stick around for them as we were up and about too early both nights we stayed.
Geneviève does not reside on the property so we only saw her when we checked in - she seemed nice enough.
OK deal for the price (65euros) if a place to sleep/wash is all you need.
Note: As another member indicated, a few hooks/shelves would help in the bathroom as there was not even a place to put your soap bar in the shower.. ...

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank souriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Box Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

we stayed for 3 nights and had a large room. initially we where very impressed with the decor. there was a large flat screen tv aswell. the shared bathroom was nice too. there was at least 5 rooms all sharing 2 bathrooms and a kitchen. luckily our house mates where quiet, as just a door was separating us from another room.

my gps unit found the street easily and it only took 10 min to find the right building.

there was however a strange odor which was over powering and i found irritating. it was like a very concentrated perfume to scent the room or something. this lasted our whole stay and meant i needed to sleep with open windows which let in quite abit of noise. especially one night when the neighbours where having a fight. we noticed on the first morning that the floor had not been vacuumed.

there was free wifi. no need for a cable like the other reviewer states. there was no car park. luckily we where returning the hire car that day, as there was no parking and it would cost ALOT to use the underground car park near by. the breakfast was very plain. bread and jam. but it was pretty good bread and jam so i was happy. the coffee was not very nice or strong, like all hotels in france.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank random_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

We stayed here for two nights in July 2010. The reviews on TripAdvisor were fantastic, part of why we booked here. The location was good, a 5 minute walk from the train station and a 10 minute walk into the old city. We had four people and had a room with one double bed, two single beds, and a private washroom. The washroom was a bit dated and could use some work. There are two other washrooms in the common area, one of which was quite nice and recently renovated. Our room was nicely decorated and fairly clean. There is also a fridge where you can purchase cheap drinks, a portable hot stove which didn't look like anyone ever used, and a washer/dryer.


However, apart from the nice decor and tidy place, we were a bit disappointed. The breakfast was as basic as you could get. It was coffee, tea or juice, and to eat was just bread, butter and jam. Nothing more. What really turned us off was the noise outside the B&B. The building is on the corner of the street and throughout the night, the street was really noisy, especially with many mopeds slowing down at the intersection, and then accelerating again. Normally this wouldn't be a problem, but the room has no A/C and we left the windows open to let some cooler air in since it was hot. We were provided a fan, but it didn't do much but blow the hot air around. On top of the noise, leaving the window open let the mosquitoes in as well. Finally, one of us gave up and shut the windows, leaving the room extremely warm throughout the night. If you're a light sleeper and you're staying during the warmer seasons, beware of the noise from the outside if you leave the window open. We also had another problem with the internet. We were provided cables which plugged into our computers and the wall to access the internet. They didn't work at all.


If staying in Nice again, I'd probably look elsewhere even though this place is a bargain.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wesleywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

Close to station which helps when you have as much luggage as we did so it was an easy 5min walk . We had a beautiful room at a great rate and nice people , Everything we needed , laundry , kitchen and an easy 10 min walk to the centre . We will be back and for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotshowbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, CO
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights about 2 weeks apart - going and coming from the Nice airport. We had a little trouble connecting with Genevieve on our arrivals both times. If she is not there, you cannot get in. Also we had requested an ensuite bathroom for both nights. Before our departure, she had advised that there was not an ensuite available for the 1st stay but would be for the 2nd night. But on our arrival back for the 2nd stay, there was not an ensuite available either. We did have a private bath down the hall with a key just for us, but someone else's towels were in the bath. The rooms were very large with 2 or 3 beds. Even though she wasn't home, she let us use her computer to check in for our flight. The location is very good - only a 7-8 minute walk to the train station and to the tram to get to the old town. For only 72 Euro per night, it was a good value despite the few aggravations.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveandMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Hotel Monsigny
#9 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Home Sweet Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Home Sweet Home

Property: Nice Home Sweet Home
Address: 35 rue Rossini, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nice Home Sweet Home 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic centre of Nice, the Musicians Quarter, a Bed and Breakfast in a typical Nicois building of the 19th century, with large sunlit rooms overlooking a mediterranean garden decorated with palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Nice Home Sweet Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nice Home Sweet Home Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing