We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That has become my “Cheers”, but they don’t know my name (not yet anyway)”
Review of Brasserie 199 Cafe

Brasserie 199 Cafe
Restaurant details
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

A typical charming French cafe. It is a stop on my daily walk. Only regret that I haven’t discovered it on earlier visits. Staff speaks English, friendly and efficient. Regardless of what your needs are, you shall not be disappointed. Very highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Atef Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 48 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2018

This brasserie is quite crowded proving the quality of the food. On the other side it is quite noisy and not confortable for a quiet lunch. Service is quick and nice. The menu of the day 10-12 euros is good and very generous.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

Great place for "un petit cafe" on the way back from shopping. Lots of other people having lunch this Saturday and enjoying it.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2016

Sometimes on the Côte d'Azur, you just can't find what you feel like eating downtown, amongst the throngs. So much promise, so may blackboards but ultimately, disappointment.

We were ravenous, having visited Sospel via the Col de Castillon on our bikes and it was midday in the height of the summer season. The rabbit stew, pasta and pizza joints that abound in the pedestrianised strip in Menton echoed slightly - the night after Bastille day only miles from Nice; the shock was palpable.

That's when we just sloped back to our digs in Roquebrun Cap-Martin, showered and dressed to stumble upon this little ripper just down the road.

Salad! Salad! Salad! Hearty slabs of tuna, roast chicken or lardons, vegetables, good bread and condiments. A plat du jour special meant that my Salade Nicoise was followed up with strawberries and chantilly cream for just over 13 euros. Fantastic!

The attentive and pleasant service in this suburban eatery impressed us too. What lovely folk, even making a hot chocolate for my husband in what is clearly NOT the season for hot chocolate. For a no fuss lunch stop this favourite of the locals will please you too!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2015

This is a great little cafe where locals as well as tourists eat. The service, menu and quality of food are first rate.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judy1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brasserie 199 Cafe also viewed

Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Brasserie 199 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing