We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel with wonderful view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Grande Bastide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Grande Bastide
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in St-Paul-de-Vence
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Lovely hotel with wonderful view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights and we loved everything! The room, the service and also the wonderful view to St. Paul. The swimming pool was heated. Very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view to the village
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    57
    14
    4
    5
See reviews for
39
135
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

I spent with my wife a couple of days at the end of October at La Grande Bastide.
We had a nearly perfect room with beautiful views over old Saint-Paul. The warm
welcome, the charming and professional staff made our stay unforgettable.
The heated swimming pool we appreciated very much.
Ralf Smith

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

During our trip throug europe, we spent some time in st. paul de vence, where we stayed at the hotel la grande bastide. this was the right choice for us. a very charming hotel, quiet and relaxing on a superb standard. we certainly will come back and can recommend this beautyful place to couples who are looking for a romantic stay as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsidler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We only knew we were staying here just before we left after a booking cock-up by "histoires de las Bastide" (qv) nearby. It's more expensive than we are used to but you can see why. The hotel overlooks St Paul de Vence and has fabulous views over it and down to the sea. Thee is a tiny L-shaped pool which is more than a dunk than a swim - in fact everything seems squeezed into the smallest possible space. But it's beautifully appointed and run. The loungers are welcoming and the public areas charming with fruit bowls, biscuits, towels as if you were guests in an upmarket and posh house. There is free wi-fi everywhere - about five different circuits . I imagine you could even use it in the outdoor jacuzzi with another great view. Not that we did.
Quibbles (apart from the price) being that there is a road just under the hotel so it's not very quiet plus there is NO storage space in the bedroom we had. You could not have properly unpacked more than a couple of night's worth as there was nowhere to put anything. I get rather cross about this. Everything else lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saranLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Overall Comments: It’s hard to fault this lovely hotel in a great location with great staff.

Room: Absolutely great. A huge room over two floors with views to St Paul. Decorated in clean Provincial style with modern and clean furniture and two Juliet balconies.

Location: Well located just outside St Paul, The hotel has a shuttle service in a very cool old Citroen to take you the two minute drive to St Paul and bring you back if you wish. It is a 15 minute downhill walk back after dinner.

Facilities: Very small hotel, with a nice pool, a juccuzzi overlooking St Paul and a small restaurant. Free wifi throughout the hotel.

Food: Both breakfast and lunch were good.

Service: Outstanding. Michaela the manager was incredibly helpful and attentive…some of Europe’s more prestigious establishments could learn a lot from her attitude.

Parking: On site car park behind the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodJunkie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for three nights after reading about it on line. It did not disappoint at all a very courteous and helpful Michaela on reception welcomed us and explained in excellent English all we needed to know. The hotel is clean and the facilities are good. The hotel will give you a courtesy lift to the local village of St Paul de Vence and will reccommend where to eat in some excellent restaurants. We will return definitely.

Room Tip: Great view of St Paul de Vence from room 3 a superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PMH91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We loved this hotel. It is a wonderful place.We'll be back!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Erica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St-Paul-de-Vence hotels
0.6 km away
Le Hameau
Le Hameau
#2 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
2.0 km away
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
Le Mas de Pierre Hotel
#3 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Le Saint Paul
Hotel Le Saint Paul
#6 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Toile Blanche
Toile Blanche
#1 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Mas d'Artigny
Le Mas d'Artigny
#13 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
1.5 km away
La Vague de Saint Paul
La Vague de Saint Paul
#5 of 13 in St-Paul-de-Vence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Grande Bastide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Grande Bastide

Property: Hotel La Grande Bastide
Address: 1350 avenue de la Colle, 06570 St-Paul-de-Vence, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Paul-de-Vence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#6 Romantic Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
#8 Family Hotel in St-Paul-de-Vence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Grande Bastide 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Grande Bastide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Grande Bastide Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing