We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A picturesque and thrilling holiday excursion - highly recommend!

We really enjoyed our trip down the canyon with Richard! He was professional and expert. The canyon... read more

Reviewed September 14, 2018
Ellie D
Awesome adventure with Richard Martinez

Our group of 4, from Toronto and San Francisco, had an awesome morning with Richard and our... read more

Reviewed September 13, 2017
Joel H
,
Toronto, Canada
Read all 76 reviews
  
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
10
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews half day trip richard rocks abseiling jumping slides jumps waterfall
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 11 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2018

We really enjoyed our trip down the canyon with Richard! He was professional and expert. The canyon was beautiful (and very quiet in early September, we hardly saw anyone else). We tackled jumps and slides down the river that we would never have considered possible without Richard's expert advice and guidance. Highlight of our holiday - thank you!

(Helmets and wetsuits etc were all provided! You need shoes with good grip that you don't mind wearing in the water.)

Thank Ellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2017

Our group of 4, from Toronto and San Francisco, had an awesome morning with Richard and our canyoning adventure. While 2 of us left the course at about the 20% mark (yes, this is an option for those who find it too difficult), 2 of us carried on, and had an amazing time. Shot lots of GoPro video, the best footage I've ever got on that camera. Beautiful landscape, and a fabulous course to push you to your limits, or if you prefer, skip around some of the harder sections.

If you have time, and can get here, don't miss it.

Things to know:
You can leave the course at about 20% through. You will have had a great experience, but it does get harder past that point.

Take a GoPro and carry it. After a few parts of the course, this will become easier. Get something to allow it to float, just in case.

You wear a wet suit, so don't worry about what you have on underneath. Also, be sure to wear shoes you can climb/maneuver around rocks with.

Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Richard was delightful, very friendly and welcoming. We had a great day in the loop cannon with our family of four. Everyone was able to do whatever they wanted within their limits and their comfort zone. Very highly recommend, a great activity for all the family with a wonderful guide.

Thank Tbeau1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

Great service should always be appreciated. I contacted Olivier late on a Sunday night regarding the possibility of some canyoning the next day. He came straight back with all the necessary details. In the end we could not make it happen but what a great response - really great service

Thank TWM200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2017 via mobile

We went canyoning today in the beautiful Gorge du Loup. Richard was wonderful in helping us to set up a trip via email and text. We've been canyoning before in the Pyrenees, and this half day trip was less strenuous, especially since it did not entail any real abseiling. My kids, 11 and 9, had a great time (as did my husband and I).

Richard drove us to the drop off spot, which was next to a stunning waterfall, and then under the bridge was a secret pool above another waterfall, which we slid/kind of abseiled down. From there were lots of jumps and slides. But really, the scenery was exceptional and Richard was so kind (especially when I wanted to go around instead of jumping). In the end, I felt enough trust to go ahead and jump!

Thank Jmarshall95678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

We (father 49 + daughters 20 and 18) did the Level 2 half-day trip, which was great fun. The duration of Level 2 is two effective hours, which we as first-timers felt was suitable. There were some really fun challenges (abseiling, slides, jumps), but Richard had a good focus on safety. The surroundings down the gorge were also really beautiful. Would definitely do it again if we have another vacation in this area.

1  Thank Karl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2016 via mobile

A huge thanks to Richard and Michel who took a group of nervous ladies out canyoning. It was a fantastic adventure! You learn to absail, you climb through rocks, you slide through waterfalls and you jump of rocks to reach the end of the canyon. All the time the guides encourage, teach, laugh and ensure you are safe. It was a fantastic experience and I cannot recommend it enough. I highly recommend all ages to take part in it as there is always an easier walkable route to take!

Thank Shell_iloveski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2015

The group of 8 had a fantastic time and Richard was a superb guide. The course was adapted to meet the enthusiasm and level of all members of the group. Excellent trip.

Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We just drove through this area but the 'nature' theme hits you, many cyclists, activities for families, camping etc. the countryside high up in the hills is stunning. It us close to the medieval village if Tourettes sur loup

Thank belbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have gone canyoning with Richard and Denature for 4 years now and we love it every time. The kids in particular! And the 8 year olds seem braver than anyone else. It is well controlled, feels safe and Richard has good English so tells you stories from his childhood as well as introducing you to the local flora and fauna. Definitely recommended for kids from 8 years up - others can wait at the bottom of the canyon and swim etc in cool pools.

2  Thank LondonBigdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews