We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible home cooked Italian food, vegan options, perfect night”

peperoncino di barbara
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: un tres joli restaurant italien sur une petite place avec une fontaine en face du cinema d orange, une vrais cuisine italienne avec produit frais un acceuil chaleureus comme l italie demande,,,, je vous conseille le detour. cordialement
Reviewed May 5, 2018

We were in Orange for one night on our drive from UK to Spain. Both being vegan we had looked at a couple of places and decided to go here as the menu gave 3 pasta options which we could have. We are so pleased we did. Barbara is such a wonderful host, not to mention a great cook. We had a vegetable timbale, homebaked breads with olive tapenade, spaghetti puttanesca and spaghetti with chilli and herbs from the garden. The pasta was cooked to perfection and the sauces were simple but had great depth of flavour and were seasoned perfectly. We had a great bottle of wine. The ambience in there was great, it seemed to be local people. The restaurant is small and has a really friendly vibe. Thank you so much for giving us such a great vegan meal Barbara, you're the best!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ell_Steve_Ozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbi1966, Gérant at peperoncino di barbara, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2018

I’ m touched, It has been a pleasure for me to cook vegano for you. I hope to see again soon you. You are the best vegan clients

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 320 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2018 via mobile

Barbara was running a one woman show on a Monday afternoon. There are 8 tables in the restaurant with a warm, homey, local feel. Barbara was happy to give us recommendations that were wonderfully satisfying and flavorful. We ordered a vegetable lasagne and a spaghetti dish. We shared dessert and house red wine. My husband lives to cook and Barbara graciously welcomed him into her kitchen to show him around. What a wonderful woman and gastronomic experience.

Thank Sprout211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile

Barbara's in the kitchen! And, that's a very good thing. If you're in Orange stop by if you like Italian food at reasonable prices. We stopped by towards the end of lunchtime and the outdoor seating was packed with locals. So, we went inside, ordered some wine and watched the food being served. Barbara kept cooking and talking with us until we had decided what we wanted. Very cool. We enjoyed the pasta with vegetables, cannoli with meat inside, two large salads and two awesome desserts. All for under 45€. Barbara and Nicholas (server) work really hard to make everything work for their customers. We'll be back tomorrow!

Thank Hulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbi1966, Propriétaire at peperoncino di barbara, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2017

Thank you, I hope of see you tomorow, regards Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2017

Went in a group of 16, had booked a table in advance.
Simple menu, Barbara will let you know what is available to choose from on the day. Great.
Tried both the peperoncino and bolognese, which where both awesome. Servings are quite large...
Nice desserts and limoncello.
Main, Dessert, wine, coffee and limoncello was a totalt of 25€.
Will definitely be back another time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Snorris27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbi1966, Gérant at peperoncino di barbara, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2017
Google Translation

SI SI SI SI
you are fantastik,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 3, 2016

I love this place, depending on the menu du jour
The owner grows most of the stuff she cooks
Simple down to earth

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Og N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbi1966, Gérant at peperoncino di barbara, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2017

Thank you for your compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed peperoncino di barbara also viewed

 
Orange, Vaucluse
 

Been to peperoncino di barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing