We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Not worth the money at all” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Aurenjo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Aurenjo
Ranked #3 of 9 Orange B&B and Inns
Manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not worth the money at all”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights on route to Aix en Provence. I should have listened to some previous reviewers regarding the hostess but thought no one owning a business could be that bad. We arrived early knowing we would not be able to check in but just wanted to know if we could perhaps leave the car and explore Orange until later- the owner was quite abrupt ( I was speaking French to her but that made no difference) and unwelcoming. We did leave the car but did not feel great to be there. We returned at 4.50 and check In is at 5.00. Our room was still not ready with no towels etc and the owner was in the pool. She was again abrupt and almost rude whilst showing us our room. We had no info given to us about the pool, breakfast etc and then she left in a bit of a huff! The room was big and airy but was slightly tired - the bathroom again was big and on first glance was glamorous but the shower was filthy along with the bath- the towels were very old and thread bear and with no air con it was very hot and stuffy. We had a balcony of sorts but really it was just a roof top that had not been made into a balcony al all. For €170 per night this was most definitely not worth it. I have stayed in 5* accommodation for that per night and had all of the normal luxuries and courtesy expected. There were no croissants / pastries at breakfast just stale bread and jam with a yoghurt. Overall we were v disappointed and I also don't agree with some other reviewers about it being the 'french' way. Having travelled extensively in France I think this is an awful generalization to make as common courtesy and decent service has always been given wherever I have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilchard_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    10
    1
    1
    5
See reviews for
10
29
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

really enjoyed staying here.. very calm, but very close to the centre, just a two minute walk.
had fun playing tennis with friends, the hostess is learning english.. it is still poor but she tries.
But she did cook us a wonderfull meal.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiewatwaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2006

I stayed here with a large group of friends which was perfect as you could all wander around and talk to each other and it felt very homely - left on own to make own breakfast and coffee etc but that made it all the more relaxed. Nice to sit by pool & relax. The rooms were great and all fixtures were of a very high standard and nice & clean. However if I had arrived on my own or with friend/ part of a couple I do not think I would have felt comfortable at all & the when we did see them the hosts did make us feel as if they did not want us there. If it has not been for the company of a large group of friends I would not have enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anon1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2005

We stayed at Villa Aurenjo after travelling around Provence for a week. I had booked the room over the internet for around €80.

We had the Iris room and it was wonderful.

The bed was enormous, fresh linen sheets, the bathroom beautiful - with a fantastic open shower. We spent a few hours by the pool in the afternoon before heading out to explore Orange.

The best part of the stay was sitting at the pretty little desk, looking out over the garden and writing in my diary. A moment I don't think I'll ever forget.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2F1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ch��teauneuf du Pape
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2005

The breakfast is horrible. Not at all what one expects to recieve in & B & B anywhere in the world. It seems to be disorganised.
Decoration is lovely.?? But .... With one chair for a double room, sinks that don't drain, small towels, no shower curtains I would not recommend it. Although I speak french fluently along with other languages I think the answers to questions in English were null and void, especially when making an email inquiry. Even in French the directrice was not very pleasant. Definitely not to be recommended.
A visitor from Canada.

  • Stayed January 2003, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Autricana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2004

Though nice looking from outside, the Villa Aurenjo in Orange has many drawbacks : the hostess does not speak nor understand English, the room where we were staying had only ONE chair for 2 and no decoration on the walls.
Moreover the breakfast is desperately poor : bad bread quality and croissants (industrial type) no home made marmelade.
Definitely not worth 120 euros per night !

  • Stayed January 2003
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Orange hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
#1 of 18 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Le Glacier
Hotel Le Glacier
#2 of 18 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Arene
Hotel Arene
#4 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Kyriad Orange Centre
Kyriad Orange Centre
#5 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.1 km away
Mercure Orange Centre
Mercure Orange Centre
#3 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.7 km away
Ibis Orange Centre
Ibis Orange Centre
#7 of 18 in Orange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Aurenjo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Aurenjo

Property: Villa Aurenjo
Address: 121 rue Francois Chambovet, 84104 Orange, France
Region: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Orange
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Orange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Aurenjo 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Aurenjo is situated in the heart of the Antique Roman City of ORANGE. This beautiful residence sits amidst one hectare of enclosed grounds, half of it accesible for guests, filled with magnolias, roses, olive trees and hundred-year old sycamoresThe 18th century stone house, renovated with all respect given to Provençal art, guarantees you comfort and the aroma of authenticity.Rooms and suites, all with luxuriously comfortable bathrooms, are decorated with a refinement recalling the charm of bygone days. Some rooms offer access to a private terrace.Depending on the season and the weather's humour, a copious breakfast is served on the sunny terrace or in the cosy living room.If you feel like some action you can dive into the pool, play tennis or relax in the sauna.A 7 minute walk will bring you to the center of Orange with it's beautiful UNESCO protected Roman Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Aurenjo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Aurenjo Orange, France - Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing