We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (654)
Filter reviews
654 results
Traveller rating
200
328
94
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
328
94
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews metro station great location vieux port fresh orange juice taxi stand rooms are a bit small nice toiletries frioul islands staff was very friendly and helpful bed was comfortable tea and coffee would stay here again fourth floor cafes and restaurants easy access reception area twin room
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 654 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2018 via mobile

My friend and I have just returned from a four night stay in this stylish 3* hotel. It's superbly located, one street back from the quayside of the Vieux Port, so very near the daily fish market and the iconic L'Ombrière by Norman Foster.

The quirky reception area, complete with a bright orange life-size model of a cow, provides a tranquil seating space. The staff are warm, friendly and welcoming and always very helpful.

We loved our accessible twin room on the fourth floor, especially the comfortable beds, generous storage and silent air-conditioning. The bathroom was spacious with beautiful tactile tiles on the walls and everywhere was immaculate.It was such a pleasure to return to our cool, relaxing room every day!

The breakfast room is on the first floor and provides a selection of hot and cold food. We particularly enjoyed the freshly-squeezed orange juice and the mini-pastries!

I think we both fell in love with Marseille, a vibrant, exciting city and our visit was enhanced by our stay at the Hotel Carré Vieux Port.A big thank-you to all the staff there. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank JeannieD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carre-hotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Bonjour Jeannie,

What a nice review on Hotel Carré Vieux Port Marseille!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in the city and you felt good in our hotel.

We are looking forward to see you next time.

Regards,

Marie-Sarah Dosson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2018 via mobile

Hotel right by the port. From train station it’s easy to take a Metro but if you are 3 or more, taxi might be cheaper. The hotel rooms are a bit small but adequate. Clean with newly renovated bathrooms. WiFi is free and reasonable speed.
Breakfast is sufficient and there is freshly squeezed OJ. Staff are friendly and check was a breeze but strangely did not ask for any ID. More than sufficient eating places nearby.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank miles28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carre-hotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Bonjour Miles28,

We thank you for your comment on Hotel Carré Vieux Port Marseille.

For your information, the cost for a taxi from the train station is about 15€.

We hope to see you next time you come in Marseille.

Regards,

Marie-Sarah Dosson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

We really loved our stay at Hotel Carré. The staff is very welcoming and seems to have a constant smile on their faces. Our room and bathroom were very small but you get what you pay for. It was tidy and clean. The breakfast buffet was good. Nice fresh orange juice. The location was ideal for us to explore the Vieux Port, the old Panier quarter and the fantastic MuCEM.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank babette_knott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carre-hotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Bonjour Babette,

We thank you for your fair and honnest review about Hotel Carré Vieux Port Marseille.

All the staff is thanking you for the nice comment :))

We hope to welcome you another time.

Marie Sarah Dosson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

We are here at the moment. Hotel is in a great place. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean but pretty small and could be better equipped ie a small fridge would be good. And air conditioner not that great in your room. But the location is very good. There are many eating places one right next door to the right of the hotel. Transportation is very close by so is the port.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Pathfinder608349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carre-hotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Bonjour Levent 412,

Thank you for your review and all the good things you said our staff and localisation.

We heard your advice and will think about it. For your information, a fridge is available at the front desk for our guests.

We hope to see you next time.

Regards,

Marie Sarah Dosson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2018 via mobile

I stayed two nights at the Carré Vieux Port and highly recommend it.
First off: the location is fantastic! One block in from the port, yet on a quiet street. Everything was within easy walking distance or, if needed, the bus depot and metro are a block away.
Two: by far the most comfortable bed I have had in all of Europe. Accompanied by fluffy pillows, I slept great.
Three: the rooms were tidy, fresh and well laid out. The bathroom, while not huge, was well equiped with drawers and hooks for all my needs and was well-lit (important for morning make-up).
Four: a great breakfast buffet. 12€ gets you a nice spread of meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, pastries, pain perdu (french toast), pancakes, and a juicer to make your own super fresh OJ.
Five: the staff were kind and accommodating. I got a recommendation for a seafood restaurant that was fantastic, as well as help for finding my way to my appointment, which was on the other side of town.
All in all, great value for what you pay and this will be my go-to hotel whenever I visit (which I certainly plan to do as I found Marseille a great fun town).

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank kelly l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carre-hotel, Responsable commercial at Hotel Carre Vieux Port Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Bonjour Kelly,

What a pleasure to read your review of Hotel Carré Vieux Port Marseille!

We are very happy to read that you have been delighted by our establishment and the quality of our services.

We are waiting for you soon.

Marie-Sarah Dosson.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews