We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This villa is an amazing find in the South of...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Marseille, Bouches-du-Rhone, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Montague1...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This villa is an amazing find in the South of France”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just returned from a truly fantastic holiday at Marie's villa in Marseille. We are a family of 5 (12y, 9y & 6y) and we stayed for 4 nts/5 days in this wonderful oasis just minutes from the heart of Marseille's old port. Marie was a wonderful host and we managed to communicate with our limited French and her limited English and the help of google translate! She is so kind and helpful and really wants you to get the most out of your stay. Our children slept on a double click clack sofa bed and a separate single put you up bed and the living room was large enough for us to keep the beds up all the time. The weather was perfect (mid 20's every day) so we spent all our time outdoors in the lovely garden and spacious terrace areas around the pool. There isn't an oven (just a hob and microwave) but this wasn't a problem as we used the BBQ every night, most nights grilling fresh fish bought from the fishermen at the old port. We ate every meal on the terrace outside, including breakfast. When we were at the villa the children spent hours playing in the large L shaped swimming pool with the inflatables. There was also a dart board and bats and balls which they also enjoyed.
We had a car but we used the metro to go into Marseille, the metro station is a 5-10 minute walk from the villa. We then used the car to go further afield, the first day we went to Aix en Provence which is a beautiful town and it had a morning market on. The next day we drove to Monaco (approx 2.5 hrs) which was an amazing day out - we went on the beach and did the open top bus tour. We also did the 2hr boat trip to the Calanques which we thought might be more impressive as the reality doesn't quite match the stunning pictures that you see of these little bays. Next time we will take a ferry to the islands just off Marseille's harbour and our sons are keen to do a football stadium tour.
This was our first trip to the South of France and we are well travelled and usually like to always explore different places but we are already booking to go back to Marie's villa. There is so much more for us to explore on this coast and the villa is great value for money, Marie is so friendly and welcoming and the bustle of Marseille is close by. This holiday ticked all the boxes and the people of Marseille were all so friendly and helpful - a wonderful all round experience. Thank you Marie - we will see you again next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the terraces, sunbeds, outside seating, BBQ and garden
Liked least: The bathroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandypoon...
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super house”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 2 nights in Marseille, why we choose this house?? There is a swimming pool, kitchen, bathroom and sleep enough for 5 adult and the price is fair to us, so why not???Everything is super!! We love it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: swimming pool
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ruth S
Seoul, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“An oasis!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

An excellent little apartment adjoining the owner's home. The pool is much bigger than it looks in the photos and the apartment is also bigger than it looks. Although the owner is next door she NEVER intruded or bothered our space - quite the contrary, she was very helpful when we needs to ask for anything. She does not speak English and we only speak a little French but she is very willing to engage in communication when needed. The washing machine and dishwasher were good additions to the kitchen. Parking is inside the locked wall area. A large Carrefour is a few minutes away by car. There is a lovely bakery around the corner from the apartment. Only one small improvement would be to have an additional mattress and bedding available as there is one double bed and one sofa bed - our children didn't really like to share the sofa bed. We would stay here again if we visited Marseille.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private pool and safe feeling.
Liked least: The sofa bed
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2014 for a stay in November 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 1, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anne V
Saint-Etienne, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2017
Anne ,Niall ,un couple sympathique ,très discret .respectueux .Quant à leur chien l' adorable Fudge je lui décerne le titre du chien le plus sage que j'ai reçu ( ni aboiement,.ni pleur , aucune bêtise) Propriétaires je vous recommande vivement ce trio ,vous serez ravis ..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing