We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
251
448
157
64
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
251
448
157
64
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle pharogreat hotelthe bell boyvieux portold portminute walkquirky hotelmini barmain roadsuperior roomconvenient locationbars and restaurantscoffee machineport areanotre dameharbourarty
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 957 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile

we stayed for 6 nights from 3-9 of Sept and we had a lovely time. The hotel is just a short walk to vuex port and a wide range of restaurants and bars. Our room was spacious, clean and had a safe and locataine bathroom products. The food was lovely and cocktails very nice. Concierge was super helpful with getting us the best tour company for day trips which was brilliant! Downsides: very expensive for dinner and drinks. There is water and a nespresso machine in rooms but again expensive. Pool was like ice all day everyday as the sun never gets to it which was disappointing as we really booked for the pool and couldn't swim. Overall great stay though!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ainekm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JL_De_Bodisko, Directeur général at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Thank you for your comment. We take note about your remarks. We'll be happy to welcome you for your next trip in Marseille. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017

We booked this hotel last minute and were pleasantly surprised with our stay. The reception staff were friendly and very helpful.

Location: This hotel is only a 10 minute walk to the harbour area. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel so easy to get to from the central train/bus station (Bus 82s) and to other tourist attractions. There is a small beach in Le Pharo and a casino supermarket for water etc.; both are a 5 min walk from the hotel.

Room: We had a superior room on the 4th floor for 6 nights. All suites on the 4th (top) floor had large balconies; the front rooms overlooked the harbour, whilst the ones at the back gave views of the Notre Dame de la Garde. The rooms were spacious, comfy, clean and modern. There was a coffee machine and mini-bar, although use of them was at a cost. There was a safe for personal belongings.

Restaurant: We used this once. The food was excellent when it arrived, but we found it too expensive, had to wait ½ hour before our order was taken (we were the only people in the restaurant at the time), and the bar/restaurant staff weren’t overly friendly. We found there was plenty of local and reasonably priced restaurants down in the harbour.

Facilities: The pool is a little small but nice to have for those hot days. The sun loungers were limited, although we only had one day when we couldn’t access some, so not bad for peak season. The only downside is the hotel has a café next door to the pool, and often this was full of locals and businessmen who would stare at guests using the pool. This felt a little uncomfortable.

Note: Make sure you have your credit card for the room deposit. If you do not have a credit card they will charge you a deposit of 150 euros per night of your stay. They do not accept debit cards for this.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter; top (4th) floor rooms have a balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bex_LL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JL_De_Bodisko, Directeur général at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2017

Dear Guest, we appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Newhotel Of Marseille, thank you for your comment. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

The rooms on the 4th floor have large terraces, bathrooms are oversized for Europe and the rooms are comfortable. We stayed for a week and I saw 4 different rooms. The suite was great with a comfortable sitting area. The wood flooring in the rooms should be scrubbed better and more often but the over all decor, cleanliness and amenities were fantastic.
The restraunt is pricey and the servers are not overly friendly. The front desk people, management and maintenance people were fantastic. The view on the port side is best.
We booked with Trip Advisor and paid substantially less than the posted pricing.
The location is walking distance to the port area and other areas of interest.
We will stay here when visiting Marsaille.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank kelly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JL_De_Bodisko, Directeur général at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2017

Dear Kelly, thank you for your comment. We are glad that you appreciate our hotel and we take note about your remarks. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017

I have just returned my hen weekend and the destination of Marseille was a surprise. I had the best weekend and think Marseille unjustly has a slightly bad reputation. Its a big city (the 2nd largest in France apparently), the people are so friendly and helpful and there are lots of hidden treasures in Marseille. Our hotel was a great location, just 10 mins one way to the port where there are loads of bars and restaurants and 10 mins the other way to the beach. The hotel is lovely and modern, rooms a good size and the beds are so comfortable. The pool is a little on the small size and sometimes you have to be up early to get a sun bed but other than that I was very impressed. Opposite The New Hotel is the Sofitel Hotel which has a gorgeous roof top bar. If you go to Marseille I would really recommend the Electric Bike Tour with Ebike tours (that was so much fun and so easy) and definitely take a trip to Cassis - beautiful and chic resort. We also did a couple of vineyard tours which I loved. All in all I loved The New Hotel and Marseille and would not hesitate in recommend a trip there

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HOBKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JL_De_Bodisko, Directeur général at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

What a pleasure to read your comment! Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We'll be happy to welcome you for your next trip in Marseille !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

Lovely rooms, friendly staff, poolside with bar and restaurant service and easy reach of the old port/marina.
Restaurants in Marseille stop serving around 10:30pm. We would have been glad of 24-hour room service when we missed out on a meal out, but otherwise had a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alexa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JL_De_Bodisko, Directeur général at New Hotel Of Marseille, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at the Newhotel, thank you for your comment and we take note about the 24-hour room service. We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews