We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming and cozy with a great location, but...”
Landscaped garden, sunny terrasses
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Landscaped garden, sunny terrasses
Antique furnishings throughout the house Living room facing west
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Landscaped garden, sunny terrasses
Antique furnishings throughout the house
Living room facing west
Living room looking south east
Flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi and long distance phone calls
Casual bar connecting sun porch and living room
Salon
Formal dining room seats 6
Master bedroom, king bed
View from  master bedroom
Ensuite bath room, master bedroom
Ensuite bath room , master bed room
Downstairs bedroom, double bed
Bathroom downstairs
Well equipped kitchen
Kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Saint-Remy-de-Provence, Bouches-du-Rhone, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Makml
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Charming and cozy with a great location, but could be better”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I chose this villa for our 1 week stay in Provence due to its proximity to St Remy town centre. The town center is about 5-10 mins walk from the villa which made it great for access to fresh produce on the market day (on Wednesday), town activities and restaurants/cafes/bars, as well as the only convenience-supermarket store in town. The villa is also located close to tourist attractions like the Glanum Roman ruins, Saint Paul de Mausole asylum where Van Gogh spent some time, as well as Chateau Les Baux.

As for the villa itself:
The pros:
- wifi/internet access
- 2 spacious bathrooms and a small powder room
- fully equipped kitchen including a refrigerator, stove, microwave oven
- a king bed on the upper floor, and a double bed on the lower floor
- air conditioning
- laundry facilities including washer and dryer (the property owner provides 2 tablets; for more, you can buy from the town's convenience store)
- beautiful garden
- sufficient parking for one mid range car

The cons:
- damp bath mat and towels (the pink ones) on the upper floor upon arrival
- most of the furniture are old, and the sofa and chairs look worn, lumpy and threadbare in parts. While they add to the charm of the property, they could do with some reupholstering
- the bed spreads look old and musty and worn (the beds are reasonably comfortable and sheets and duvets are clean though)
- some of the equipment in the kitchen should be replaced eg. pot with chipped enamel, faulty electric kettle, broken chopping board, salt bottle with broken cover. Would also recommend the addition of some deeper plates or bigger bowls to the kitchen as we found those lacking, as well as some coasters for hot items (to protect the lovely kitchen table ). - the toiletries are mismatched (a jumble of brands) and some looked old. We mostly used the toiletries we brought.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the villa, as it was generally cozy and was sufficient for our family of four adults.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2015
We are glad that over-all they enjoyed their stay at our villa and I would just add to the positive comments that there is ample room to park two cars on this gated property.

As for the “cons”, I am not on the same page with the majority of the comments:

• Bath mat and towels – the property had been vacant for a week so it was not a same day turnover where such mistakes might happen. My partner and co-owner personally placed the towels and mats for each bathroom and they were dry, nor do we have pink mats in any of the bathrooms.
• Furniture – is Provincial style furniture which is by definition “old fashioned”, as if it has been in the family for generations It is well upholstered and there is not a single piece that could be described as threadbare or worn. The sofa cushions do need to be fluffed from time to time so they do not appear “lumpy”. We think the style of decoration of the villa adds charm and warmth. We will be sure the sofa cushions are fluffed before guests arrive.
• Bedspreads on both beds are cotton summer covers, they are clean and do not have any signs of wear and tear.
• The electric kettle is not faulty. I tested it today and it worked perfectly when the lid is firmly closed.
• Chopping boards. There are four plastic colored chopping mats, two wood chopping boards and one wooden latticed cutting board for bread, none are broken, all are in good condition.
• The cover on the salt container is a different color but not broken.
• Bowls – in the kitchen there are six deep serving bowls and 12 deep dish plates as part of the kitchen dining set. The kitchen cupboards also contain 8 mixing bowls of different sizes plus a bamboo salad bowl. In the cupboard by the formal dining there is another full set of table and serving dishes.
• Chipped enamel - the set of 4 enamel cooking pots of different sizes indeed has two which are chipped which have been replaced. Besides this set, there are more than ample pots and pans of very good quality in the same cupboard and the pantry.
• Coasters - there are 4 wooden coasters of different sizes, perhaps overlooked because they are towards the rear of the drawer with the table mats and table cloths.
• The toiletries – since vacation rental properties rarely offer this amenity, on a whim, we decided to furnish each bathroom with a courtesy basket filled with toiletries collected from our travels. We will continue to do so and hope that this gesture will be appreciated, as mismatched the brands may be.
• I was personally at the property twice during their stay to water the plants, was greeted by the guests and would have been more than happy to resolve any of these issues had they mentioned them.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Reviewed July 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wayne
Reviewed July 4, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CEPMonte
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Central Location for vacationing in Provence”
Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We loved this house. It had everything we needed including a washer/dryer which comes in handy in the summer. My husband, myself and two teen age boys age 13 and 18 thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We walked into town every night and had a delightful meal and a pleasant walk home. St. Remy is truly centrally located with nothing more than 45 minutes away that we visited for 6 days/5 nights. We traveled by train to Avignon TGV, rented a car and with easy directions from the owner, arrived in the charming town on a Saturday early evening. It was only about 10 - 15 minutes from the train station. Easy driving to the Hill towns, Nimes, Les Baux, Avignon and Isle de la Sorgue. Visited a couple of wineries just minutes away. We loved it and would love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to come home and relax in a nice air conditioned home with a glass of wine and local cheese.T
Liked least: There were no problems
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Reviewed September 20, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobertJGr...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“First rate property, well appointed and located”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. It's an easy walk to town but far enough away not to be bothered by any noise. It would suit two couples perfectly.
Unlike the last property we rented this one has everything you'd expect and we only needed to buy laundry detergent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy to get to town
Liked least: kitchen a little dated
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PJW6669
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location, spacious, well equipped”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

We liked the location at the edge of town, away from the hubbub but within easy walking distance of town and the historic sites of Glanum and the St. Paul Monastery. Home was basically as advertised but showed some signs of neglected maintenance. Not all air conditioners were working, gate locking mechanism was tricky until you got the hang of it, and the awning mechanism was too sensitive, withdrawing its welcome shade at the slightest hint of a breeze. Patio garden needs a shade tree or umbrella to make it usable in summer; otherwise it's much too hot for comfortable lounging. Owner was very responsive to questions and problems. Overall, would rate it a good experience, above average.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: antique furniture (not comfortable enough for our taste)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing