We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice pool, great service, not really a 5 star” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Nice pool, great service, not really a 5 star”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

The welcome service was fantastic. The porter fetched our luggage from the car and we seamlessly were checked in - an upgrade to a suite was even complimentary. The pool was beautiful and relaxing - didn't feel pretentious at all. The room seemed outdated even though it was obvious it had been updated - hard to explain but just didn't feel like 5star room. The hotel had a spa, but had inconsistent hours (closed the day we checked in) and therefore made it difficult to plan any treatments in my visit. The breakfast was completely overpriced for what was offered - this was really a surprise given dinner in the restaurant was quite exquisite. All in all, probably a good choice for the area, but was not worth 5 star rates.

Room Tip: Booked on expedia and was given an upgrade - don't know if the two were connected
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catchthefever22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    228
    124
    45
    21
See reviews for
119
587
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

took the euro star and tgv down to avignon and booked to stay 3 nights at the valrugues hotel..
we were shown to our room and on entering the room our first impressions were of how small it was and how it looked nothing like the website pictures.
we were also greeted by a rancid smell of urine coming from the toilet which over powered the whole room..
we also noted that the paint was pealing off of the bathroom wall.
so i immediately went back down to the reception and asked for a room change due to the smell and was informed by the receptionist that we could only be moved for one night as the hotel was fully booked from tomorrow and would have to return to our original urine smelling room.
so obviously i took this as "this room is not suitable for our other guests but it"s perfectly acceptable for you"..
so pretty astonished by this response i complained but to no avail but they did send up a cleaner with a bottle of bleach(very nice of them)..
another note is that for a 5* hotel there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and on the 35 international tv channels there was only 1 english channel but they managed to put a kazakstan,thai,cuban,brazilian channel on there,so this place must be truly international..

overall a very poor hotel and nowhere near a 4* let alone a 5*..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonJammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

From previous TA reviews we have learned that the rooms are small. Though the reality is that our room was the smallest room we have ever had in a hotel - hence like living in a box. The bathroom was a joke and does not deserve the name bathroom. It is so small that only one person can be in the bathroom. Also one have to enter the tube to take a shower. I don't like this and it is simply not 5-star. All in all the hotel is not bad but it is not 5 star quality compared to other 5-star hotels we have been. The valet parking and check-in was good and fast and we got a renovated room. Wifi worked efficiently and without any additional cost. According to their website, they are offering a gym but this was not ready or not available during our stay of 7 nights. The food in the Bistro was just OK. Nothing special. However, we did not eat in their Michelin rated restaurant. The breakfast was good except that we had to operate the coffee machine ourselves to get espresso coffees. Again, not 5-star. The pool and pool area is really good with plenty of sunloungers and umbrellas. However, the pool service was sometimes inexisting as nobody came along for long times to check for drinks or water. The worst of our stay was that the (small) window of our room was right across from the roof of the new soon-to-be indoor pool. During our entire stay, we have had workers in front of this window and thus we needed to hide ourselves while moving from one corner to the corner in our room. It just happens that you do not want to be fully dressed in your own room... Or we had to move the curtains which is rather strange during sunny days. After a few days I complained about that at the reception and all they offered was to put something in front of the window that would have solved the problem according to them. How come? Do they expect that you sit in the dark? Frankly I would not expect this situation in a 5-star hotel and thus would not give away this room to clients during the work on the roof. Or at least we should have been informed in advance which would also make a little difference. For us it was a reason to leave the hotel one day earlier than initially booked.

We don't think that we will return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights for part of our grand provence road trip. As it is was peak season, all the hotels in Provence were over priced compared to what it is really worth. So 350 euro will not get you a spacious room with breakfast. This was also true for Vallon de Valrugues. Very nice hotel and efficient staff but compared to Fourseasons or other hotels we stayed at, they are not willing to go a mile for their customers. We booked a Deluxe room but was upgraded to a Junior suite which we thought was not a real Junior suite but more like a regular Deluxe. It was very nice of them to do this and we appreciated but in general, I do not think this is a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast at 25 euro I think was too much for continental. We instead went out to the bakery and bought pastries and sat outside a cafe for breakfast. However, their 1 Michelin star restaurant was exquisite! Service was impeccable, food was unbelievably. I was surprised the restaurant was not full during dinner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanghaijules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

My husband and I found Hotel le Vallon de Valrugues via a tour group that had booked this hotel as part of our tour of France. It is in a lovely setting and is so peaceful. The rooms were spacious and the staff is very courteous and helpful. The food was incredible. We will most certainly revisit here during our next stay to the area. I would highly recommend Hotel le Vallon de Valrugues to anyone looking for peace in the French countryside.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cboyleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed here as part of an otherwise excellent Tauck tour of France. The disappointments included the hotel's rooms were under renovation. While the outdoor areas and public spaces (front desk, hallways, restaurant) had the look of a smaller quality hotel, our room's problems included a chipped toilet seat, cracks in the headboard and balcony doors, a desk with an unfinished sanded top like it was halfway through being redone. Worst of all, the bathroom shower hand fixture did not sit properly in its base, so when you turned on the water it fell out and sprayed everywhere. Others in our tour had at least the same shower problem. The insensitive front desk staff said run the water at a trickle to avoid that! I asked to speak to the manager and never got to talk to him, nor did I receive a letter or any token acknowledgment (fruit plate etc.) for the aggravation I had here. For what was supposed to be a 5-star hotel on a 5-star Tauck tour, this hotel was far off the mark from the 2 other hotels in Nice and Paris. Le Vallon de Valrugues is supposed to be the best in this provincial area, but beware if its still being renovated, the staff attitude if you have problems and the shower hardware if it hasn't been upgraded.

Room Tip: Two story smaller hotel. You could ask for a 2nd fl room although noise and security didn't see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank msilvers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willebroek, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

We booked 4 nights in this beautiful hotel.
Yes, the (standard)room was not very spacious but it was kept very neat and clean by professional and friendly staff.
The breakfast was excellent.
We had a good meal at the "bistrot" for a reasonable price.
The last day we experienced a one star diner a the gourmet restaurant and loved it from beginning to end.
We recommend this hotel to an expierienced audience who like good services, nice rooms and delicious food.
We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerry69_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nicolas_barriquand, Responsable commercial at Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Good morning
Thanks you for your really nice comment. It was a real pleasure welcoming you at the Vallon de Valrugues.
Looking forward welcoming you another time.
Yours faithfully
La Direction
Damien GALLON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Remy-de-Provence
2.6 km away
Le Chateau des Alpilles
Le Chateau des Alpilles
#2 of 23 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.1 km away
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
Le Mas Des Carassins Hotel
#1 of 23 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel de l'Image
Hotel de l'Image
#6 of 23 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel du Soleil
Hotel du Soleil
#4 of 23 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.3 km away
Mas Valentine
Mas Valentine
#10 of 23 in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
19.7 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa

Property: Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa
Address: 9 Chemin de Canto Cigalo, 13210 Saint-Remy-de-Provence, France
Region: France > Provence > Bouches-du-Rhone > Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#3 Family Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
#5 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Remy-de-Provence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vallon de Valrugues is a 5 star Hotel and Spa with 48 rooms and suites, elegant and personalized, mostly renovated in 2014. The Hotel is ideally located in a quiet area just 600 meters from the center of Saint Remy de Provence. You will enjoy discovering the gastronomic restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Le Vallon de Valrugues & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Vallon De Valrugues And Spa
Hotel Le Vallon De Valrugues St-Remy-De-Provence
Vallon De Valrugues
Hotel Le Vallon De Valrugues & Spa Provence/Saint-Remy-De-Provence, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing