We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience at Mont Blanc!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Les Balcons Du Savoy
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent experience at Mont Blanc!”
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This hotel is our favourite during my trip to France. it gives a very stunning view of Mont Blanc which is totally beautiful both in the morning and evening. It is totally a bliss! would really recommend to stay here. first we are afraid that it will be more than our budget but it s worth every euro!

Room : There are four of us so we chose the apartment for 4 (1 bedroom and 1 living room with the sofa bed for 2 and a kitchen - fully equiped with all kitchenware you can think of). It is nicely decorated. The apartment is fully equipped and is very spacious. It is just like in the hotel website.

Location : we drove there and it is easily found. it is in a nice and peaceful area with a panoramic view of Mont Blanc. It is around 15-20 minute walk to train station & to Aiguille du Midi. Around 10 minute or less to the city center on foot, 5 minute to the nearest bakery & supermarket.

Service : staffs are nice and friendly. dont forget to ask for the tourist card from them. Car park is provided, contact the reception first for the keycard.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plaakem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    117
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
168
82
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Everything was very good! Just simply perfect! Room with the beautiful view and good location! Heated underground parking and sledges for kids!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shrubmakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lovely 1 bedroom apartment with more facilities than usual in this sort ski area property. Staff were very helpfull and their English was very good....use them to find out about the place obviously they have the local knowledge. Bread etc can be ordered and picked up from reception so there is no reason not to be on the slopes early. One of our party is not a skier but she felt very confortable in the apartemnt and found several activies to occupy her close by. Try the snowshoeing its great fun and you go to areas that even the skiers cant go!!
Food was generally excellent and we splashed out and had a meal at the tripadvosr recommended Les panear du four seasons...wow it was food on another level absolutely fabulous.
The only slight negatives about the apartments are the fairly cold pool and slightly smelly steam room...they would do so much better by having a big hot tub type area, which is common in USA & Canada. The hot water really helps those tired muscles.
The other slight down side are the skibusses which are confusing and very busy...the bus drivers are not at all helpfull!!
Overall a great place to stay and we wouldn't think twice about returning

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SurreyDeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is an apartment block but with the service you'd expect from a good hotel so everything is made easy and the reception staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a two room apartment for four of us. There was masses of room and the "sofa bed" is actually a single sofa bed and a roll out single bed so much more comfortable for my two teenage sons who didn't want to share a bed. The kitchen is well equipped but the building is so close to the centre of chamonix that it is also easy to walk out for supper in a restaurant. And there are lots of good food shops in town although we couldn't find a good traiteur which I would have expected to be there. The soundproofing between the apartments is excellent, at least in winter. There was a large young family next us and the only time we heard them was when they were in the corridor outside their apartment and ours. Spacious underground car park is useful as chamonix is a resort where it's helpful to have your own car. We were able to book 5 nights rather than a full week even thought it was high season through the Venere website. It wasn't possible to do this through the hotels own web site except at quite a premium in terms of price (as I remember). If I had any criticism, it's that the apartment is beginning to show its age in terms of wear and tear. Rather tatty carpet, elderly towels and furnishings are pretty basic so no comfortable chair to sit in after a heavy day skiing - hence I grade it 4 not 5.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I can not fault the accommodation or the staff both are excellent. However I hate to trudge when skiing and with regards to the Savoy you don't ski out, more like ski across to the savoy ski lift, then you ski 15 seconds down the slope take off you skis and walk through a subway and up the the ramp to the cable car. 10 minutes up the cable and your there, ready to ski. All in all I would guest it takes between 25 and 30 minutes to get from the apartment to the slopes. There are lots of buses that travel around Chamonix dropping you off a various locations and there are not many places that can call themselves Ski in/ Ski out but I would describe the Savoy as Ski in/ Ski out ish. BTW unless you want to ski down the the narrow, long black run you have to get the cable car back down. The slopes however are fantastic and empty, despite the trudging I would ski there again.

If any one from Balcons du Savoy reads this review, your beds are 4 star but the pillows are 1 star at best.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The staff at the balcons du savoy are wonderful! We had issues with our booking through a travel agent, and Julie from balcons du savoy was most accommodating. The attention to detail and the service were impeccable, and we would not hesitate to reccommend them to all our friends and we would stay there again in a heartbeat.. Thankyou Julie and other staff for making our stay wonderful!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scuddsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at Balcons Du Savoy for a week and loved it. Our room faced the mountains and looked over the Ski School-they all do! It was terrific to have cooking facilities so that we could stay in after a hard days skiing. We also used the gym and indoor pool to work off the croissants that were delivered for us each morning. The ski hire company they recommend delivered our ski's straight to our downstairs locker and each morning you can ski out the door to the small Poma lift and then on to Brevent if you wish. The staff were very helpful and the apartment very comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: They all have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_pair24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
0.9 km away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
815 reviews
1.3 km away
Le Refuge des Aiglons
Le Refuge des Aiglons
#10 of 73 in Chamonix
1,042 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#5 of 73 in Chamonix
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel de l'Arve
Hotel de l'Arve
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
510 reviews
3.8 km away
Best Western Plus Excelsior Chamonix Hotel & Spa
7.0 km away
Hotel Les Grands Montets
Hotel Les Grands Montets
#21 of 73 in Chamonix
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons Du Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons Du Savoy

Property: Les Balcons Du Savoy
Address: 179 rue Mummery, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Family Hotel in Chamonix
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Balcons Du Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Suites Hotel with suites from 45m2 to 85m2. In each suite : bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom, balcony or terrace, view on the Mont-Blanc range. - Swimming pool - Sauna & steam bath - Fitness - Arcade - Concierge 24/24 - Private underground carpark - Apres-ski bar / Tea room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Les Balcons Du Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons Du Savoy Hotel Chamonix
Les Balcons Du Savoy Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing