We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Philippe would make King Félipe, Prince Philip, and PM Philippe feel at home”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chamonix
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Chalets de Philippe
Ranked #2 of 73 Hotels in Chamonix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We came here for dinner. The 5-course meal (+ 2 amuse-gueules) - menu changing every night - was very good, but what's unique about this place is the family atmosphere, eclectic décor and charming kindness of the owner M. Philippe and his team. This is not a Swiss watch and organisation isn't very high here, but who cares! Everyone will be treated like royalty here, while royalty and celebrities will enjoy the friendship and discretion that the setup allows.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We visited Chamonix from SF and this amazing alpine dining experience was recommended from our La Reserve concierge-Vincent S. It was extraordinary and worth the trip! Words cannot describe the food, ambiance and views. Put this on your "someday list"! Cheers to the Chef.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank EastWestCoasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

The property is a boutique hotel nestled in the forest 2, 3 miles outside the town of Chamonix. The restaurant has a view of Mont Blanc where we had breakfast, lunch and dinner. The restaurant serves gourmet quality food with fresh local ingredients. The dishes are not only tasty but also creative. Had great dessert there and remembered till today. The owner and staff are all super friendly!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank summeryz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

Fantastic, special place. It is beyond "quaint". We took a 7 mile walk from Chamonix and we happened upon this restaurant. While we didn't stay there, we found out about the option of being driven to and from our hotel if you have dinner there. We had a gastronomical dinner. The food is 5 star! Everyone sits at one large table that faces the kitchen. Watching the 2 chefs preparing the food adds to the experience. This restaurant and hotel are not to be missed! Very special!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JanisPleasantvi... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We normally stay in hotels, so this was a bit of a departure for us. We stayed in chalet La Batie set out on 3 floors. The individual rooms are a reasonable size (other chalets are bigger), although I would say that the stairs (ladders really!) between the floors are very steep, so you do need to be pretty able bodied for this chalet, although others may be more accessible. The setting and the views from the rooms are absolutely gorgeous and we also had a lovely wood burner in our bedroom. The whole place is incredibly peaceful and although at first I thought it was slightly light on facilities, after a day or two I decided I really love this place. I also have to mention the staff, who were great and finally and most spectacularly the food. We dined in the restaurant one night and the food is just amazing - Michelin star standard in a hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask about accessibility if you are not good with ladders
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Drinks and dinner for eight people in late December - it could not have been more charming. The food was outstanding (firs gras, langoustine, veal), the setting is lovely and the staff are terrific. Highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016

The location in the French Alps on the side of the mountain wonderful, the amenities more than you can imagine, so comfy you never want to leave, especilly if you have a roaring fire! They are other worldy!

Room Tip: The higher up the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chamonix hotels
4.6 km away
Grand Hotel des Alpes
Grand Hotel des Alpes
#1 of 73 in Chamonix
422 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Mont-Blanc
Hotel Mont-Blanc
#3 of 73 in Chamonix
457 reviews
4.8 km away
Le Morgane
Le Morgane
#7 of 73 in Chamonix
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Hotel l'Heliopic
Hotel l'Heliopic
#4 of 73 in Chamonix
1,214 reviews
4.9 km away
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
Chalet Hotel Le Prieure
#24 of 73 in Chamonix
407 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Le Faucigny
Hotel Le Faucigny
#6 of 73 in Chamonix
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chalets de Philippe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chalets de Philippe

Address: 718 route du Chapeau | Le Lavancher, 74400, Chamonix, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Chamonix
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Chamonix
#7 Romantic Hotel in Chamonix
#10 Family Hotel in Chamonix
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The totally unique south-facing position of "The balcon du Lavancher" ensures its day-long year-round sunshine, and from this exceptional location at a place called the "Alpage des Esserts", Philippe's 9 chalets look down on the beautiful Chamonix valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Les Chalets De Philippe Hotel Chamonix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing