We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
85
148
74
16
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
148
74
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location victor hugo square decor is dated recommend this hotel charming hotel old town city trip family room balcony overlooking four nights hotel guests central location pedestrian area rooms are clean separate toilet tram stop walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 333 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2018

My room was clean and comfortable. It had a little balcony overlooking the Victor Hugo Square. Within walking distance of great shops and resturants, with Tram A/B less than a minute walk away. Reception was friendly and very helpful. I would say the bathroom is a bit small and the shower fiddly to work. Also breakfast is pricey if not included with your room, but it was delicious as a treat.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KirstenMMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for choosing us for your last stay in Grenoble as well as for taking time to post the above comment.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially our great location at the heart of the city as well as the service of our staff.

For your next stay, do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be very happy to offer you some great rates including our fantastic breakfast full of local products.

It is with great pleasure that we will welcome you again very soon.

Best regards.

The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

Forgot to book my usual hotel in Grenoble and ended up last minute in Hotel d’Angleterre. And although I was doubtful on beforehand, I was very positively surprised by the hotel quality and its services. It is located very centrally in the city, which is another big plus. Definitely a hidden gem. Try it out yourself!!!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank SlowTrippery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2018

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for choosing us for your last stay in Grenoble as well as for taking time to post the above comment.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially the very central location of our hotel, as well as the quality of our services.

It is with great pleasure that we will welcome you again very soon

Best regards.

The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

Decent hotel, good location, very central. all night reception. Everything is a bit outdated but fine. bed was a bit hard. we had a family room and it was ok. bathroom decent. price quality was average . there is probably better price quality elsewhere but if you want a central location go for it. breakfast pricey at 13 euros pp.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank erikzimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2018

Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for choosing us for your last stay in Grenoble and for taking time to post the above comment.
We are glad to read that you rather enjoyed your stay with us, especially our very central location.
Do note that our breakfast price is average for the town a Grenoble but our quality certainly is not. We propose home baked croissants and bread, home made pudding, cold cuts, local cheeses and jams, fruit juices, omlets, sausages and locally brewed coffee.

We hope being able to welcome you again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

The Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2018

Older (circa. 1898) hotel, perfect location, welcoming bi-lingual staff. Room, bathroom (and hotel foyer) were small but the Juliette balcony in the room overlooked the Placa Victor Hugo AND the back of the 1600's Église Saint-Louis church. Probably couldn't stay in such a small room for more that a few nights but tres charming hotel. And the right rate. Within blocks are numerous cafes / restaurants / patisseries, shops and tram stop.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dscerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for choosing us for your last stay in Grenoble as well as for taking time to post the above comment.
We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially the location of the hotel and the service of our friendly staff.
It is with great pleasure that we will welcome you again very soon

Best regards.

The management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018 via mobile

Visited this hotel for four nights at the end of April. Hotel is well placed for shops, restaurants etc. Staff very nice. Helful and friendly.

Room was okay. Clean and tidied every day. The only downside is the hotel is tired and in need of an update. Decor is dated and dark.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Autab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAngleterre02, Responsable réception at Hotel d’Angleterre, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for chosing us for your last stay in Grenoble and for taking the time to write the above comment.
We are delighted to read that your enjoyed our location right in the center of the town as well as the great service of our staff.
Our hotel is one of the oldest of the town, celebrating its 120th anniversary this year. This is why it holds a unique authenticity and charm. However, we do conduct regular rénovations and we also update our Equipments as often as possible (all ou tv sets are with flat screens since last year)

We will be very happy to welcome you once again very soon.

Yours Sincerely

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews