We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, modest” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'Europe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de l'Europe
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Certificate of Excellence
Besancon, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, modest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here to "get away" and stroll around Grenoble. The location is great. There was air conditioning so we could close the windows (avoid noise!) and be comfortable. However everytime people opened or closed doors in the corridor, it was a large "clack". The staff was nice and helpful. The continental breakfast in the morning (9 euros/person) was fairly complete. The room is quite small, modest furnishings, but the bathroom is quite inconvenient. The shower was placed behind the door, so it was very difficult to be two in the bathroom at the same time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenchubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    77
    33
    6
    4
See reviews for
12
50
14
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We booked this hotel for two nights last week-end, and got exactly what we wanted/needed: a small, clean and fresh room with a great view and friendly staff.

Our room was at the third floor, and although (1) place grenette is quite busy at night on week ends (2) there was a rave party on la bastille which was very loud, as soon as we closed the windows, there was no problem of noise. The room had obviously been renovated recently and everything was fresh.
This is a historic building, however, so everything is not extremely modern, but i don't think that is the reason why people should come to this hotel.

The reason is in fact that this is a very charming place right in the middle of the city, with an excellent view of la bastille and the mountains behind, and friendly and efficient staff.

We did not try the breakfast, because here are many great terrasses around, but it looked appetizing enough.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicoinstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

We arrived around 6pm as walk-ins, with no prior reservation. Room (top, 3rd floor) was spacious enough for four for 1 night, overlooking the main pedestrian zone with decent choice of restaurants, bars, cafés, shops. Only downside: it gets noisy early in the morning with delivery trucks, streetcars, etc. right in front of the hotel.
Bathroom was small with little to no space for toilettries but we were only there for 1 night, so didn't matter. Room/bath were clean and seemed to be recently renovated. Breakfast was relatively simple, typical French continental breakfast, but fresh and ample.
Only criticism: Coffee was not great and cold chocolate milk for the kids was not available. A bit more water pressure in the shower could work wonders...!
Public parking garage is 3min walk nearby with discount as hotel guests.
For a short stay in the center of town it was very good value though.

Room Tip: Ask for a top-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mauritianfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

Very Good location, right opposite of la Galleries Lafayette at city center. Very good value.
Basic breakfast as usual in France. Basic room however and quite small. Only negative point was that although breakfast was included at room rate, I had to a bit argue at check-out about that.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Klaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2009

Brilliant location, in the heart of the pedestrian zone in historic Grenoble, on the tram line to boot & within walking distance of major attractions. Charming historic building, tastefully upgraded. Everything seemed freshly painted & wallpapered. Room is no-frills but tasteful & clean. Rooms are small but that is to be expected in Old Europe. Bathroom functions well, clean & modern. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast is all-you-can-eat continental, simple, tasty & plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twosweethounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strasbourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

this was the worst place i have ever been to in my life....it was so bad that when we got to the tiny room, that reeked of smoke, me and my girlfriend spent 5 minutes formulating a plan how to leave and get our money back, so we pretended someone had died and had to leave...it was THAT bad.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ihatehoteldeleurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2009

We invested a great deal of time looking for places to stay on our 6 week trip to Europe. We were on a budget and carrying backpacks and mixed train travel with hiring rental cars. It was difficult to find a hotel in Grenoble and we settled on L'Hotel de l'Europe as it suited our budget, is central so easy to get to on the tram, had a good sized basic room with comfortable bed and a stunning view from the wee balcony. Booking directly with the hotel via email was hassle-free. We stayed one night in transit and were happy with our choice, although we would look again if we wanted to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PukekoPair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grenoble hotels
Hyper-Centre
Grand Hotel Grenoble Centre
Royal Hotel
#11 of 50 in Grenoble
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Hyper-Centre
Hotel d’Angleterre
Hotel d’Angleterre
#13 of 50 in Grenoble
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Grenoble Centre
#15 of 50 in Grenoble
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'Europe

Property: Hotel de l'Europe
Address: 22 Place Grenette, 38000, Grenoble, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Grenoble > Hyper-Centre
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Grenoble
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de l'Europe 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de l'Europe All the comforts in the heart of the historic center of Grenoble. Hotel de l'Europe is the oldest hotel in Grenoble. It is located in the heart of the old town, along the pedestrian area and animations in a style building, built in the seventeenth century and whose classical facade was restored in the nineteenth century. Located in the heart of the pedestrian area, close to the cable car to the Bastille area, this hotel is part of the historical heritage of the city. For a comfortable stay, the hotel offers modern, soundproofed rooms with balconies, from where you can enjoy a magnificent view of the mountains. The WIFI is free for our customers. All of our rooms (1 to 4) are equipped with bath / WC, hair dryer, air conditioning, telephone and flat screen television. SPECIAL OFFER: Breakfast offered on weekends and school holidays! Valid for 1 or 2 people only for superior rooms. To benefit from this offer, reservation must be made by email or by phone only. Announce "Breakfast Free". Railway and bus 700 meters, Tram 10 meters, parking, Stendhal Grenoble Museum and Museum nearby. The hotel is open all year 24/24. Underground parking nearby. Hotel de l'Europe is located 350 meters from the cable that leads to the Bastille, offering a amazing view of the capital of the Alps and its green mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel de l'Europe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Hotel Grenoble

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing