We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
113
251
137
37
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
251
137
37
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beds were comfortable perrache station parking place tiny room decent hotel breakfast buffet budget hotel on foot min walk old town reception city centre alps tram
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 559 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2018 via mobile

Chose this hotel online whilst travelling cross country from The Alps to the North coast of France.
My decision was based on reviews, price, location and the fact that it had a secure car park.
Unfortunately, they had no space in the secure car park when we arrived and so we had to park in the railway station car park a short drive from the hotel. This was a nuisance, but the two guys on reception softened the blow - not only did they both speak excellent English (and one fluent Spanish) but they were most helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
They allowed us to park in the car park entrance while we ferried our bags up to our fourth floor room, before we moved the car.
The railway station car park is secure, under cover and €20 for 24hrs. Lugging our bags there the next morning was a pain, so if parking is important to you, book a space in the car park in advance.
The room was tiny, but it had all we needed. Lyon is a big city and, like most big cities, space is at a premium. They have crammed as many rooms into the hotel as possible. The decor is black and purple - not to everyone's liking I suspect and it does give the place a slightly oppressive feel.
In summary though, a good hotel, excellent value, well located and the staff are first class.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank marisincola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception69002, Responsable réception at Hotel des Savoies Lyon Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Dear Guest, we thank you for this very positive feedback. You emphasize on our staff behavior, it is indeed our duty to help you spend a good stay, especially when you need car park solutions. It is important to book our garage in advance for peace of mind. Our decoration is pleasant but if you prefer green-blue or red rather than puple it is up to you to request such color. Warm regards. Vincent, quality agent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 3, 2018

I used the hotel website to book rooms for me and my friends and all went smoothly, the hotel answered all my questions and I was able to book breakfast seats via e-mail. Check-in and check-out were handled quickly and efficiently, and reception was always very helpful as was the breakfast buffet staff. I was pleasantly surprised to find fresh towels every day, but during our 6 night stay our bed sheets were never changed and the carpet was never vacuumed. Once, used towels were removed but not replaced and tea/ teacup was also not restocked. I had to go down to the reception to get the missing items.
The hotel uses an old building and although it has been renovated in the past, it is in need of a lot of care. Carpets and wallpaper need a serious deep cleaning and bathroom needs regrouting. Breakfast buffet has fresh/ good quality products but could use a few more options (cooked eggs, fruit etc).
Rooms are not soundproofed and if you are a light sleeper it could be an issue. Rooms and all hotel areas are tiny (as presented in the webpage) and were no issue for me as a single room occupant but it is something to have in mind when booking.
Price is ok considering this is France and location is pretty good, only a five minute walk from a very central metro/tram station and in a walking distance from a lot of shops, restaurants and main squares.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the end of the corridor, away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception69002, Responsable réception at Hotel des Savoies Lyon Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2018

Dear Georgia, we thank you for this comprehensive review. You took time to give some details about your stay that may be useful for us in order to improve our guideline. You did appreciate our organization and our staff attitude. Otherwise you draw our attention towards maintenance issues and we assure you that the work will be done very soon, we cooperate with a contracted team. We are sorry if any towel was missing during housekeeping activity, we are at your disposal at reception to fix that. We hope to host you again. Warm regards. Vincent, quality agent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2017 via mobile

I Stayed here whilst travelling to the Alps. Rooms were nice and modern in appearance and the beds were comfortable. The showers were also very good. There was also a good breakfast selection in the morning

There was also a good selection of restaurants close to the hotel.

Can highly recommend this hotel and would definatly stay again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception69002, Responsable réception at Hotel des Savoies Lyon Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2017

Dear Jack, it is a great pleasure for us to read such a positive feedback. We strive to offer the best conditions for a flawless stay and you have the kindness to outline these efforts. Obviously we would be delighted to receive you again. Yours faithfully. Vincent, quality agent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2017

Found this last-minute after being stuck in Lyon due to a cancelled flight and was pleasantly surprised by this hotel, which delivered far and above its price. Though small, the rooms have stylish motifs that you more often see in upscale hotels, and everything was very clean. You are about a 5-minute walk from Perrache (which is on the same line as Part-Diex and quite convenient if you are taking the Rhonexpress train to or from the airport as you can get there without transfers). Bellecour is about a 10-minute walk away, but you can walk for most of the way up a pedestrian shopping street, which makes the walk pleasant. I had heard from a friend that this area of Lyon used to be a bit shady, but I walked back to the hotel alone after dark and felt safe.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank emarienyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception69002, Responsable réception at Hotel des Savoies Lyon Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2017

Dear Guest, we thank you for this feedback. We are glad to know that you took pleasure in visiting the city from our hotel, the neighborhood is very pleasant. Our quality standards as well met your expectations. It would be a pleasure to receive you again. Yours faithfully. Vincent, quality agent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 28, 2017

great little hotel right in the middle of Lyon, clean, friendly staff, car park, perfect. Enjoyed our stay there and Lyon beautiful city, if only the airport was a little more efficient, but they are building there

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S4438EOjessicah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reception69002, Responsable réception at Hotel des Savoies Lyon Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2017

Dear Jessica, we truly thank you for this very positive review. It is a great pleasure to know that your stay gave you satisfaction, mainly due to location, great attitude at reception that makes the stay a refreshing moment and services (the parking is convenient but needs to be booked in advance). Besides you liked the city sightseeing, that is great. Warm regards. Vincent, quality agent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews