We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty, sloppy staff, minimum service and equipment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland
Ranked #170 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Paris, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty, sloppy staff, minimum service and equipment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Must be close to bankruptcy, based on the size of the towels, soap and shampoo given to guests. Room not properly done, but staff could not care less. TV in room not working (TV in living room was OK, although quality of channels was also bare minimum - e.g. no english-speaking channels). Room was located right above a small public garden, so I had the noise (summer) from north african immigrants and their children having fun all evening.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sansfronteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    46
    52
    41
    30
See reviews for
41
35
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed one night here (2 couples), but considered trying another hotel! Was rated as "decent" on another site, but when we entered the room, we didn't quite agree with that assessment! Maybe our standards are a bit high, but the room didn't feel very clean. The hallways were smelly. The room was quite minimal (in size, decoration & amenities). I stayed on the pull out couch in the main room: the cushions on the pull-out bed were dirty, but surprisingly the mattress was actually comfortable! There is a small kitchen area. Internet was included, but only in the main area of the room (not in the bedroom). There is an underground parking lot.
Was ok place to stay, but I usually prefer cleaner, with more towels and amenities.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyon hotels

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

Correct name of this hotel at 175 Ave. Jean Jaures is "Park&Suites Elegance-Lyon Gerland".
Metro station is just outside hotel entrance. Supermarket is around the corner from the hotel.
English speaking staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Cold buffet breakfast was very good.
This was our 50th anniversary trip and we very much enjoyed our stay here. This is not a luxury hotel, the suites are somewhat plain, but sufficient and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George60956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2010

The hotel now goes by the name of "Park & Suites Elégance Lyon Gerland".

From the moment we checked in to when we left service was abrupt. On checking the guy just handed me the key with no explanation of where the room was, or when breakfast was. All the usual greeting you would expect at a hotel were non-existent. Throughout the stay the attitude of the staff bordered on rude.

Even though we had booked a double room for two people we only got one set of towels. We had to request more towels a number of times before we eventually got them. When we arrived there was no tea or coffee in the room and these were not replenished. Similarly there was no shampoo and other toiletries were missing. These were not replenished despite the room being cleaned daily.

Our room was on the side of the hotel which is in front of the metro stop. The underground entrance to the metro appeared to be used by drunks, homeless and smokers throughout the night. Even with the window shut the noise could be heard until 4am.

If this was a cheap budget hotel maybe I could accept the complete lack of service and usual hotel facilities, but the hotel was not cheap.

On the plus side the (cold) buffet breakfast has good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siasllaffh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2008

We stayed at this hotel from 5 to 10 Feb 2008 at room 212 and subsequently rm 211. we chose this place because we wanted extra space for the family since there are 2 children with us. After reading some of the earlier reviews, I felt this could be a good choice for our long stay. I'll try to be as objective as I can and pin point both the advantages and disadvantages.
Generally I think Lyon has its charm and is a cosy city and it has the advantages of being a vibrant place without the overwhelming size of Paris. Its very easy to get around Lyon as its Metro only consists of 4 lines. That's right, very straight forward, no confusion - easy.
On the downside, if you're staying away from the city centre, there's really not much - plain dull and boring. Gerland was one of those places.
Meanwhile, back to the hotel, based on my experience here's my recap:

Location
Pros:
- The Gerland Metro entrant is right at the hotel's doorstep. Very accessible to get to the town centre via train.
- There is a supermarket to the left where I could find a fantastic selection of baby food. It was convenient for other buys like mineral water and also food for cooking in the kitchenette etc.
- A fenced playground in front of the supermarket was a plus.
- Fancy restaurant next door (see Cons).
Cons:
- Fancy restaurant next door which we didn't bother with because the staff appeared stuck up. I was tired of putting up with another french mediocre service. Unfortunately, this was the only dining within 1 kilometres of the hotel.
- Very quiet area with absolutly nothing else. Yawn!
- we had to walk quite a bit to find another restaurant. It was the ICEO which served a funky fusion of french/mediterranean/tunisian cuisine. Highly recommended - friendly, prompt and attentive service with great music, vibrant crowd and exotic food.

Suite
Pros:
- The kitchenette had a sink, two stoves, a microwave, small fridge and a small kettle. Some basic utensils are there and you can request for more as we did. We did some light pasta cooking on some nights and made our own breakfast on most days.
Cons:
- The central heating in our room was faulty and couldn't be adjusted at all. It was cold in the room and bear in mind February is the coldest month.
- The fridge smelled like rotten cheese. Ugh!
- No safe in the room for passports/valuables.
- The light bulb in the toilet blew up on Saturday and we asked them to change that but they didn't care and it seemed that there are no working staff about except for the guy at the reception and the lady at the breakfast counter.
When my husband demanded for a discount for the lack of service - they asked us to shift to another room. we moved next door (room 211) and finally on the second last day of our stay, we got some heat on. The heating was properly functioning, the switches okay, no smell from the fridge this time. We realised they had given us a semi-faulty suite earlier on when we checked in. However, the following day when we checked out, the guy at the reception was smart enough to give us a discount - in that he didnt charge us for the use of the sofa bed throughout our stay, nor the hotel breakfast which we took once, so we were quite pleased with the 'compensation'. And he was kind enough to call a taxi on our behalf.
Hallelujah!

  • Liked — The kitchenette, supermarket next door and the ICEO restaurant
  • Disliked — Room 212: television not fully functional, fridge smelled, heater not adjustable, light bulb in toilet blew, horrid sofa bed, need I go on??
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamperedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eperlecques
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2008

Stayed for two nights. Room was fine - large and tidy.
When I was there the lift was out of order - the desk receptionist was less than apologetic.
This receptionist clearly would have rather been elsewhere. The Wi-fi was expensive and the connection unreliable. Overall, a decent enough hotel marred by a cocky, rude, and unhelpful member of staff.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Roestigraben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2007

My wife and I wanted a place to stay for 10 days using Lyon as a base for exploring South France. City Suites was just right. Our "suite superior" was big enough so we weren't cramped, and the microwave and fridge let us do our own breakfasts and some dinners (a big saving). There is a supermarket right next door to get food and other supplies.

The hotel is not in the tourist area of Lyon, but there is a subway stop right in front of the hotel to get to anywhere else in 15 minutes or so.

Service was competent, but not gushing. All our requests and questions (made in English) were handled promptly. Rooms were clean and were serviced daily.

I do think 30 euros / day is too high for internet service, but rates in Europe seem to be like that.

For a similar trip we would definitely go back to this same hotel.

  • Liked — kitchen
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridian082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.1 km away
Residence Sejours et Affaires Lyon Park Avenue
1.2 km away
Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux
1.3 km away
Hotel ibis Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quality Suites Lyon 7 Lodge
1.2 km away
Comfort Suites Rive Gauche Lyon Centre
1.3 km away
Ibis Budget Lyon Gerland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland

Property: Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland
Address: 175 avenue Jean Jaures, 69007, Lyon, France (Formerly Park & Suites Lyon Gerland)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Park & Suites residence is located across from the Place Jean Jaurès Metro Station in Lyon. It offers air conditioned suites with equipped kitchenettes and free Wi-Fi internet access.All suites at the Park & Suites Elégance Lyon Gerland have satellite TV and a telephone and each kitchenette has a microwave and fridge. Some suites have a sitting area and a terrace.Guests are invited to relax in the hotel’s lounge and bar, where a daily buffet breakfast is served. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Appart'City Confort Lyon Gerland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park And Suites Lyon Gerland Hotel Lyon
City Hotel Lyon Gerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing