We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Lac(Talloires)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Logis La Charpenterie(Talloires)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Cottage Bise(Talloires)
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chalet Christine(Talloires)
US$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$689
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveller rating
317
160
49
20
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
160
49
20
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake annecybeautiful hotelpark the carmark twainlakeside settingsun chairsno elevatorinteresting buildingold world elegancefloor boardslake viewdefinitely worth a visitimpeccable servicelarge bathroombeautiful gardenamazing settingwonderful view
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 552 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2017 via mobile

We just loved it! The Abbaye is perfectly set on Lake Anncey with beautiful private gardens. Irs perfectly designed, mixing old and modern. We stayed in room 30 with lake view. Comfy bed, mini bar, slippers... etc. We ate in the hotels restaurant...Excellent menu and wine. Breakfast also very healthy and fresh buffet. Friendly staff. Will definately stay here again.
see more of my travels on evelinerossi.com

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DesignandTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2017

Dear Eveline,

the compliments from a "pro" count double, thank you very much!
Succeeding to satisfy our clients is a beautiful return to our every day efforts and we are very grateful for it.
Do come back, we are already looking forward to welcoming you in Abbaye again.

Warmest regards from sunny Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

For EUR 155 / night excluding breakfast (EUR 25 / person / night) i expect service and a quiet night. What i got was a terrible loud night with loud sound below my room, so i was not able to sleep before 2.30 am. In the following morning no breakfast available while the last morning breakfat was available for a price of EUR 25 / person. While i appreciate the location, the service and the standard are below expectations. So there are restaurants and hopefully hotels as well in the area that fullfill better customer expectations.
Coffee, espresso, cappuccino: terrible.
Breakfast: ok
Garden beautiful
Rooms not state of the art.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank djgringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2017

Dear guest,

I am a little confused reading your review, thank you for the time it took you to write it.
I do not know what was going on under your window, unless you were a part of the wedding party last Saturday with our wedding couple from Zuerich. In this case it is a little funny to complain about the noise of the party you were invited to.
I do not understand the point about the breakfast neither: there was no breakfast, but the breakfast was finally OK? Again, if you were with the wedding couple, there was a brunch for the guests and in fact no breakfast; if not, I can not imagine that there was no breakfast????? Our breakfast buffet is very rich and appetizing.
We have a very high quality of coffee with completely new coffee machine and a lot of compliments on coffee we serve, but I can imagine that this is a very personal affaire of taste.
We were apparentely not the right house for you and I am deeply sorry for this, beleive us we are really trying to give the best to our clients who in 99% appreciate it very much.

Kindest regards

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights with friends. Very nice location and room was excellent other than we could hear water running to a tank all night and the wardrobe door when open stopped access to the bathroom. Breakfast very good but toaster broken and ham slicer did not work properly. Restaurant was closed both nights which was also disappointing. Could have been outstanding.

Thank Rodkoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Dear guest,

thank you for having stayed in Abbaye de Talloires and thank you for all of your compliments.
So sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the misfunction of the water tank, we have repaired it in the meanwhile. You have noticed that you were staying in historical building rebuilt in 1681, but having a thousand years of history. That means that in some rooms we have some space problems as we of course, wanted to offer you all the comfort possible, it needs some logistic to deal with it. Globaly our clients understand that it is difficult to convert ancient cells of the monks into the spacious modern rooms. I think - according to the opinion of our numerous clients - that we have succeeded quite well, as you confrmed it yourself.
In the meantime we have replaced the toaster and controlled the slicer, everything functions perfectly, we are adding all the time new produces to our rich breakfast buffet, at this moment we serve strawberries from our garden picked just one hour before service. A delight.
So sorry that you have visited us on Monday and Tuesday when our fine dining restaurant is closed. We do serve small snack dishes, but of course uncomparable to our cuisine gourmande.
We hope you will be able to come back (at least to check the little improvements we have done) and will be able to enjoy the complete offer of our services.
Warmest regards from Abbaye de Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2017

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of days and I am still impressed by the beauty of this house, its setting and the friendliness of the staff.
Our room was rather small, but we knew that we are coming in to historical venue. Nevertheless it was newly refurbished with taste and had all we needed. The view to the lake was just amazing, we could not get enough of it. Breakfast buffet was very rich, original and tasty and the service was perfect. We also very much enjoyed the restaurant; The staff, all over we went, was helpful and very friendly. The spa is small, but cosy and the treatments are great.
We will definetely come back if we come to this beautiful region again.

Room Tip: With view on the Lake.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 250marianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

Dear guest,

we will definitely be very happy if you come back to Abbaye!
Thank you for your compliments, especially the ones regarding our staff. We work very hard to satisfy our clients and are very happy to read that our efforts were fruitful.

We are aware that some of our rooms are rather small, as you rightly say, we are a house with thousand years of history and walls that are over 400 years old. The rooms used to be the cells of the monks, some have been doubled in size, but nowadays we are no more allowed to change their surface. We try to make them as cosy as possible and do one refurbishment after another in order to meet our clients' expectations.

We have huge plans concerning the spa, the first big step will be seen already next year, so we sincerely hope you will be able to come and visit us again soon.

Warmest regards

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights, three days at this charming lakeside hotel. As its name suggests it was a former abbey but has been a hotel for many years. Had a room overlooking Lake Annecy and even though the weather wasn't great for the first couple of days you can't get away from the fact that the view is picture-postcard beautiful. You are surrounded by mountains and this time of year everything is lush and green. Went with 4 friends for a cycling holiday and the hotel and surroundings were just perfect. The hotel staff were very accommodating and caring and didn't seem to have a problem with us walking through the hotel in Lycra! If you are cyclist this area is great. The lake has a cycle track all the way around it (over 40k) and the mountains around over some challenging climbs.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2017

Dear Charles,

thank you for your time posting this very nice review.
You are right the setting of the Abbaye de Talloires is really outstanding and regardless the weather it is always worth a stay.
The area is a cyclers' paradise, no wonder that Tour de France is passing here regularly. There are so many possibilities to spend a cycling holidays here combining high mountains climbs with easier tracks around the lake. And after cycling, a swim in the lake, a visit to our cosy spa, a cool drink on the terrace next to the lake, a nice diner - we adjust our menus for the cyclers with pleasure! and of course a solid rest in our old walls.
We will be always glad to welcome you back!

Best greetings from Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews