We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We were a group of 6 Aussie travellers wanting a few days of R & R after a hectic 12 days in Sicily....wow...what a brilliant location. The hotel was magnificent...very rustic with floor boards 8" wide....and very Creaky ...We opted for a lake view, which was beautiful while the other 2 couples settled for the garden view...well worth the extra.

We found a good restaurant in the small village the 1st night and then went into the main city for the 2nd.

There was also a small supermarket in the village selling well priced beer and wine.

What a perfect place for a destination wedding

Room Tip: Lake view is the better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Mark,

thank you for chosing Abbaye for your break and thank you for this fantastic review.
You are right, the floor boards do creek, but imagine: Abbaye will celebrate 1000 years of existance next year and the boards will soon have their 350th birthday too ( only few have been exchanged in the meanwhile!)
Pity that you have not tried our restaurant too, but indeed the small village of Talloires offers many possibilities for everyone's taste.
In the meanwhile we have also opened our Brasserie right on the lake shore on our interieur terrace. Delicious food, menu 36€ and à la carte and what a setting!
Should you come back in our region, we will be very happy to welcome you in Abbaye again!

Best regards to Australia

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

We just loved it! The Abbaye is perfectly set on Lake Anncey with beautiful private gardens. Irs perfectly designed, mixing old and modern. We stayed in room 30 with lake view. Comfy bed, mini bar, slippers... etc. We ate in the hotels restaurant...Excellent menu and wine. Breakfast also very healthy and fresh buffet. Friendly staff. Will definately stay here again.
see more of my travels on evelinerossi.com

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ROSSIEVELINEPIERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Eveline,

the compliments from a "pro" count double, thank you very much!
Succeeding to satisfy our clients is a beautiful return to our every day efforts and we are very grateful for it.
Do come back, we are already looking forward to welcoming you in Abbaye again.

Warmest regards from sunny Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

For EUR 155 / night excluding breakfast (EUR 25 / person / night) i expect service and a quiet night. What i got was a terrible loud night with loud sound below my room, so i was not able to sleep before 2.30 am. In the following morning no breakfast available while the last morning breakfat was available for a price of EUR 25 / person. While i appreciate the location, the service and the standard are below expectations. So there are restaurants and hopefully hotels as well in the area that fullfill better customer expectations.
Coffee, espresso, cappuccino: terrible.
Breakfast: ok
Garden beautiful
Rooms not state of the art.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank djgringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear guest,

I am a little confused reading your review, thank you for the time it took you to write it.
I do not know what was going on under your window, unless you were a part of the wedding party last Saturday with our wedding couple from Zuerich. In this case it is a little funny to complain about the noise of the party you were invited to.
I do not understand the point about the breakfast neither: there was no breakfast, but the breakfast was finally OK? Again, if you were with the wedding couple, there was a brunch for the guests and in fact no breakfast; if not, I can not imagine that there was no breakfast????? Our breakfast buffet is very rich and appetizing.
We have a very high quality of coffee with completely new coffee machine and a lot of compliments on coffee we serve, but I can imagine that this is a very personal affaire of taste.
We were apparentely not the right house for you and I am deeply sorry for this, beleive us we are really trying to give the best to our clients who in 99% appreciate it very much.

Kindest regards

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights with friends. Very nice location and room was excellent other than we could hear water running to a tank all night and the wardrobe door when open stopped access to the bathroom. Breakfast very good but toaster broken and ham slicer did not work properly. Restaurant was closed both nights which was also disappointing. Could have been outstanding.

Thank Rodkoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear guest,

thank you for having stayed in Abbaye de Talloires and thank you for all of your compliments.
So sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the misfunction of the water tank, we have repaired it in the meanwhile. You have noticed that you were staying in historical building rebuilt in 1681, but having a thousand years of history. That means that in some rooms we have some space problems as we of course, wanted to offer you all the comfort possible, it needs some logistic to deal with it. Globaly our clients understand that it is difficult to convert ancient cells of the monks into the spacious modern rooms. I think - according to the opinion of our numerous clients - that we have succeeded quite well, as you confrmed it yourself.
In the meantime we have replaced the toaster and controlled the slicer, everything functions perfectly, we are adding all the time new produces to our rich breakfast buffet, at this moment we serve strawberries from our garden picked just one hour before service. A delight.
So sorry that you have visited us on Monday and Tuesday when our fine dining restaurant is closed. We do serve small snack dishes, but of course uncomparable to our cuisine gourmande.
We hope you will be able to come back (at least to check the little improvements we have done) and will be able to enjoy the complete offer of our services.
Warmest regards from Abbaye de Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of days and I am still impressed by the beauty of this house, its setting and the friendliness of the staff.
Our room was rather small, but we knew that we are coming in to historical venue. Nevertheless it was newly refurbished with taste and had all we needed. The view to the lake was just amazing, we could not get enough of it. Breakfast buffet was very rich, original and tasty and the service was perfect. We also very much enjoyed the restaurant; The staff, all over we went, was helpful and very friendly. The spa is small, but cosy and the treatments are great.
We will definetely come back if we come to this beautiful region again.

Room Tip: With view on the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 250marianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear guest,

we will definitely be very happy if you come back to Abbaye!
Thank you for your compliments, especially the ones regarding our staff. We work very hard to satisfy our clients and are very happy to read that our efforts were fruitful.

We are aware that some of our rooms are rather small, as you rightly say, we are a house with thousand years of history and walls that are over 400 years old. The rooms used to be the cells of the monks, some have been doubled in size, but nowadays we are no more allowed to change their surface. We try to make them as cosy as possible and do one refurbishment after another in order to meet our clients' expectations.

We have huge plans concerning the spa, the first big step will be seen already next year, so we sincerely hope you will be able to come and visit us again soon.

Warmest regards

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 nights, three days at this charming lakeside hotel. As its name suggests it was a former abbey but has been a hotel for many years. Had a room overlooking Lake Annecy and even though the weather wasn't great for the first couple of days you can't get away from the fact that the view is picture-postcard beautiful. You are surrounded by mountains and this time of year everything is lush and green. Went with 4 friends for a cycling holiday and the hotel and surroundings were just perfect. The hotel staff were very accommodating and caring and didn't seem to have a problem with us walking through the hotel in Lycra! If you are cyclist this area is great. The lake has a cycle track all the way around it (over 40k) and the mountains around over some challenging climbs.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Charles,

thank you for your time posting this very nice review.
You are right the setting of the Abbaye de Talloires is really outstanding and regardless the weather it is always worth a stay.
The area is a cyclers' paradise, no wonder that Tour de France is passing here regularly. There are so many possibilities to spend a cycling holidays here combining high mountains climbs with easier tracks around the lake. And after cycling, a swim in the lake, a visit to our cosy spa, a cool drink on the terrace next to the lake, a nice diner - we adjust our menus for the cyclers with pleasure! and of course a solid rest in our old walls.
We will be always glad to welcome you back!

Best greetings from Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Perfect combination of breathtaking nature, high-quality service and mid-centuries charm. Food was outstanding, staff - highly supportive. We had a fireplace in our conference room - go for it if you are looking for a cozy place

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Châteaux & Hôtels Collection
Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Anna,

what a pleasure to read your compliments!
So glad that you have enjoyed your stay during your seminar. We are constantely trying to make our guests feel like at home and at the same time offering them very good working conditions.
I will pass your compliments to our Headchef and the whole staff, they will appreciate that their efforts have been noticed.
Next year our Abbaye will celebrate 1000 years of existence, there will be a lot of special events, come back, we will be delighted to welcome you again.
Warmest regards from Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
0.2 km away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#5 of 9 in Talloires
60 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
682 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#4 of 9 in Talloires
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#2 of 9 in Talloires
289 reviews
8.7 km away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,251 reviews
9.3 km away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbaye de Talloires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbaye de Talloires

Address: 2 Chemin des Moines | Le Port, 74290 Talloires, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range: $212 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abbaye de Talloires 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talloires, the most beautiful place on Lake Annecy is the home to the Abbaye de Talloires, one of the most extraordinary hotels in Annecy. It has everything: centuries of history, a long list of celebrities who have stayed there such as Mark Twain, Paul Cezanne and Jean Reno amongst many others. Fine dining is assured with the Aux Jardins des Delices gourmet restaurant and the light cuisine with the La Table de Cezanne brasserie-restaurant at lunchtime during summer. The historical wine cellar is filled with hidden treasures. Rooms and suites, each one different from the other are offering breathtaking views. The cosy and welcoming Spa; the vaulted bar for romantic evenings; the pontoon equipped with beach beds to escape the world, a wide choice of cultural and sporting activities and so many more. But, above all, it's the people who work here that make this hotel such a special place to stay, the Abbaye de Talloires is the only hotel in France to win twice ( 2009 and 2013 ) 4* et 5* Hotel Customers Trophy Award for its quality of service! ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abbaye de Talloires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing