We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very good, needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Abbaye de Talloires
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2017

The staff at this old established abbey hotel are unfailingly polite and helpful but just sometimes things weren't up to scratch. We had to leave early and ordered breakfast but they did not produce any hot food until half an hour after opening so we had to make do with the cold buffet. The receipt for the rebooking said we had paid for dinner but it turned out we hadn't. (It was six months earlier so I could not remember without consulting bank account). Just a minor irritation.

The room was large and comfortable although needed some updating. The plum coloured bathroom ware was 1980s and the gold taps were long turned to dull brass. It ought to be possible to put in a lift in such a large hotel, a bit of a trek up with heavy bags.

The meal was excellent and well served. The food is good. The whole stay is quite expensive but typical of Relais & Chateaux.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake, it is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear client,

thank you for having chosen our beautiful venue for your stay!
I wish everything would always go fine and as you know it is very often a Murphy's rule: when it happends, it always happends with one and the same person. Sorry for these faults, we will definitely try to improve.

We refurbish our rooms in continuation, so it can happend that you will have a completely renovated one or one that will be renovated next year or at the latest a year after.
And of course some of the things are left authentical but functional.

Bad news for the lift: there is absolutely no way to install a lift in our house, not inside and even less outside, being a national monument we can not touch to the structure at all.
Our vallets are glad to take care of your lugagge, if they are not present, someone from the reception does it for you.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed our restaurant, we have a lot of compliments on the cuisine of our Chef.

For your information, Abbaye was the 5th Realais Châteaux of the history but it does not belong to this chain for over 20 years now, we are Châteaux Hôtels Collection and Esprits de France.

Warmest regards from the bay of Talloires


Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2017

Located our hotel Abbaye de Talloires. Gave car keys to porter so he could park the car as carpark full and easier for him to park it. Easy check in. Our room (55) on 2nd floor - NO elevator because it is historic building. Luckily Baptiste (pronounced BATISTE) took our suitcases up. Beautiful room overlooking Lake Annecy. Large bathroom. Lots of cupboard space. Free wifi.

Down to lunch in garden beside the lake. Food ok but nothing to write home about. OK garden salad, ok chicken salad, ok strawberries and pretty good icecream with berries for me.

Dinner set up outside in garden. Beautiful setting, however, we were sat at table in the sun and almost melted. Requested a change of table to shade. Staff appeared harassed and not in control. Perfunctory attention. Waited longer than 1 hour before our starter arrived.

Description on menu was "leek tatin". It came out as 1 inch slices of leek in a circle with a thin small sliver of some kind of unidentifiable lid - did not look like pastry - looked like a potato crisp topped with deep fried shredded leeks. Truly AWFUL. Leek overload. No finesse to the dish whatsoever.

Our red mullet dish was very good. Red mullet with olive tapenade, roasted small eggplants and thin watery mushroom ravioli. Dish was well conceived but the ravioli and tapenade were lacking in finesse. Decided to cut our losses and not order dessert. Waitress gave us petit fours which were excellent. Staff were stretched. Food was slow. Leek tarts were awful. No love in this restaurant. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear guest,

thank you very much for all the complients concerning the hotel. We are happy that you have enjoyed your room and the beautiul views over the lake and the mountains.

So sorry that it was not the same as far as the restaurants are concerned. For lunch we serve light summer cuisine in our brasserie at the lake, you have chosen the salads - mostly we grove them ourselves in our garden - and fruits. In fact nothing to write about, but a lot of freshness that we all look for the summer lunch.

Leeks Tatin was a dish that was appreciated not only by the vegetarians and I do not know what went wrong. The Chef is upset that apparentely he let the dish be served without control, pity that you did not send it back, we would be glad to replace it by something else.
Thank you for the compliments on red mullet; it is a pity you haven't try a dessert, they really are superb, but I can understand that you were not in the mood.

What a pity you have not mentioned this during our conversation at your departure, of course I could have not make it better a day after, but could at least make a gesture in one way or another.

And beleive me there is love here, in the kitchen and in the restaurant as well as in hotel. Sometimes we do not suceed to show it clearly, but we try and take the remarks of our clients - especially of the clients who dare tell us critics in face and not just on the social medias! - very seriously and as humble as possible.

Best to you

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We were a group of 6 Aussie travellers wanting a few days of R & R after a hectic 12 days in Sicily....wow...what a brilliant location. The hotel was magnificent...very rustic with floor boards 8" wide....and very Creaky ...We opted for a lake view, which was beautiful while the other 2 couples settled for the garden view...well worth the extra.

We found a good restaurant in the small village the 1st night and then went into the main city for the 2nd.

There was also a small supermarket in the village selling well priced beer and wine.

What a perfect place for a destination wedding

Room Tip: Lake view is the better option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Mark,

thank you for chosing Abbaye for your break and thank you for this fantastic review.
You are right, the floor boards do creek, but imagine: Abbaye will celebrate 1000 years of existance next year and the boards will soon have their 350th birthday too ( only few have been exchanged in the meanwhile!)
Pity that you have not tried our restaurant too, but indeed the small village of Talloires offers many possibilities for everyone's taste.
In the meanwhile we have also opened our Brasserie right on the lake shore on our interieur terrace. Delicious food, menu 36€ and à la carte and what a setting!
Should you come back in our region, we will be very happy to welcome you in Abbaye again!

Best regards to Australia

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

We just loved it! The Abbaye is perfectly set on Lake Anncey with beautiful private gardens. Irs perfectly designed, mixing old and modern. We stayed in room 30 with lake view. Comfy bed, mini bar, slippers... etc. We ate in the hotels restaurant...Excellent menu and wine. Breakfast also very healthy and fresh buffet. Friendly staff. Will definately stay here again.
see more of my travels on evelinerossi.com

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ROSSIEVELINEPIERO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2017

Dear Eveline,

the compliments from a "pro" count double, thank you very much!
Succeeding to satisfy our clients is a beautiful return to our every day efforts and we are very grateful for it.
Do come back, we are already looking forward to welcoming you in Abbaye again.

Warmest regards from sunny Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

For EUR 155 / night excluding breakfast (EUR 25 / person / night) i expect service and a quiet night. What i got was a terrible loud night with loud sound below my room, so i was not able to sleep before 2.30 am. In the following morning no breakfast available while the last morning breakfat was available for a price of EUR 25 / person. While i appreciate the location, the service and the standard are below expectations. So there are restaurants and hopefully hotels as well in the area that fullfill better customer expectations.
Coffee, espresso, cappuccino: terrible.
Breakfast: ok
Garden beautiful
Rooms not state of the art.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank djgringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear guest,

I am a little confused reading your review, thank you for the time it took you to write it.
I do not know what was going on under your window, unless you were a part of the wedding party last Saturday with our wedding couple from Zuerich. In this case it is a little funny to complain about the noise of the party you were invited to.
I do not understand the point about the breakfast neither: there was no breakfast, but the breakfast was finally OK? Again, if you were with the wedding couple, there was a brunch for the guests and in fact no breakfast; if not, I can not imagine that there was no breakfast????? Our breakfast buffet is very rich and appetizing.
We have a very high quality of coffee with completely new coffee machine and a lot of compliments on coffee we serve, but I can imagine that this is a very personal affaire of taste.
We were apparentely not the right house for you and I am deeply sorry for this, beleive us we are really trying to give the best to our clients who in 99% appreciate it very much.

Kindest regards

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed two nights with friends. Very nice location and room was excellent other than we could hear water running to a tank all night and the wardrobe door when open stopped access to the bathroom. Breakfast very good but toaster broken and ham slicer did not work properly. Restaurant was closed both nights which was also disappointing. Could have been outstanding.

Thank Rodkoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear guest,

thank you for having stayed in Abbaye de Talloires and thank you for all of your compliments.
So sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the misfunction of the water tank, we have repaired it in the meanwhile. You have noticed that you were staying in historical building rebuilt in 1681, but having a thousand years of history. That means that in some rooms we have some space problems as we of course, wanted to offer you all the comfort possible, it needs some logistic to deal with it. Globaly our clients understand that it is difficult to convert ancient cells of the monks into the spacious modern rooms. I think - according to the opinion of our numerous clients - that we have succeeded quite well, as you confrmed it yourself.
In the meantime we have replaced the toaster and controlled the slicer, everything functions perfectly, we are adding all the time new produces to our rich breakfast buffet, at this moment we serve strawberries from our garden picked just one hour before service. A delight.
So sorry that you have visited us on Monday and Tuesday when our fine dining restaurant is closed. We do serve small snack dishes, but of course uncomparable to our cuisine gourmande.
We hope you will be able to come back (at least to check the little improvements we have done) and will be able to enjoy the complete offer of our services.
Warmest regards from Abbaye de Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of days and I am still impressed by the beauty of this house, its setting and the friendliness of the staff.
Our room was rather small, but we knew that we are coming in to historical venue. Nevertheless it was newly refurbished with taste and had all we needed. The view to the lake was just amazing, we could not get enough of it. Breakfast buffet was very rich, original and tasty and the service was perfect. We also very much enjoyed the restaurant; The staff, all over we went, was helpful and very friendly. The spa is small, but cosy and the treatments are great.
We will definetely come back if we come to this beautiful region again.

Room Tip: With view on the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 250marianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear guest,

we will definitely be very happy if you come back to Abbaye!
Thank you for your compliments, especially the ones regarding our staff. We work very hard to satisfy our clients and are very happy to read that our efforts were fruitful.

We are aware that some of our rooms are rather small, as you rightly say, we are a house with thousand years of history and walls that are over 400 years old. The rooms used to be the cells of the monks, some have been doubled in size, but nowadays we are no more allowed to change their surface. We try to make them as cosy as possible and do one refurbishment after another in order to meet our clients' expectations.

We have huge plans concerning the spa, the first big step will be seen already next year, so we sincerely hope you will be able to come and visit us again soon.

Warmest regards

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Talloires
0.2 km away
Auberge Du Pere Bise
Auberge Du Pere Bise
#5 of 9 in Talloires
60 reviews
2.3 km away
Le Palace de Menthon
Le Palace de Menthon
#1 of 2 in Menthon-Saint-Bernard
684 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Cottage Bise
Le Cottage Bise
#2 of 9 in Talloires
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Le Beau Site
Hotel Le Beau Site
#4 of 9 in Talloires
240 reviews
8.7 km away
L'Imperial Palace
L'Imperial Palace
#4 of 47 in Annecy
1,256 reviews
9.3 km away
Splendid Hotel
Splendid Hotel
#3 of 47 in Annecy
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abbaye de Talloires? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abbaye de Talloires

Address: 2 Chemin des Moines | Le Port, 74290 Talloires, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Talloires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Talloires
Price Range: $212 - $603 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Abbaye de Talloires 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Talloires, the most beautiful place on Lake Annecy is the home to the Abbaye de Talloires, one of the most extraordinary hotels in Annecy. It has everything: centuries of history, a long list of celebrities who have stayed there such as Mark Twain, Paul Cezanne and Jean Reno amongst many others. Fine dining is assured with the Aux Jardins des Delices gourmet restaurant and the light cuisine with the La Table de Cezanne brasserie-restaurant at lunchtime during summer. The historical wine cellar is filled with hidden treasures. Rooms and suites, each one different from the other are offering breathtaking views. The cosy and welcoming Spa; the vaulted bar for romantic evenings; the pontoon equipped with beach beds to escape the world, a wide choice of cultural and sporting activities and so many more. But, above all, it's the people who work here that make this hotel such a special place to stay, the Abbaye de Talloires is the only hotel in France to win twice ( 2009 and 2013 ) 4* et 5* Hotel Customers Trophy Award for its quality of service! ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Abbaye de Talloires reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing