We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
335
166
50
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
166
50
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old building beautiful hotel lake annecy mark twain park the car sun chairs no elevator interesting building floor boards lake view definitely worth a visit impeccable service large bathroom wonderful view beautiful garden spent four nights foie gras
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 576 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2018

We went there for a wedding. "Of course you liked it, it was a wedding", you might say. No, this place is awesome, no matter the event! The building itself is really nice and old. The old monks’ rooms serve as guest rooms, now. They kept a lot of old components, like the rooms doors that are heavy and banged up, and require an old key to open. Each room has a nice balcony that gives you incredible views on the terraces and the surroundings. And while we’re at it, the views around the Lake Annecy are simply breathtaking! Just look at the photo attached! And the food... gosh it was good!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martz560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear client,

wedding is indeed an occasion where you may be perhaps less critical, that's why we appreciate your review even more as you are aware of it and you have looked for the positive things knowing it.
Thank you a lot!
Abbaye is made for weddings, but not only : everything is beautiful here and we are really trying to satisfy our clients wherever we can.
Not all of our rooms have balconies, only the ones on the both sides of the building; the rest of the rooms have direct lake view and there are four that are overlooking the cloister and the mountains. Always breathtaking as you say!

The food in Abbaye is really good. Our Head chef Christophe loves what he is doing and his menus are fantastic;
I would say, all the reasons to come back! We surely would be glad to welcoming you back.

Sunny regards

Dunaj Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018 via mobile

Wonderful location and the most beautiful building sympathetically made into luxury hotel. Stayed for two nights. Food was excellent. Service slightly mixed and at several times could have better; not always as attentive to the detail as they should be for the price charged (even when gently raised). So very good and lovely place to stay but not quite as good as it could be, or perhaps should be for the price.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Dear guest,

thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay and the excellent food of our Headchef Christophe Le Digol.
I am sorry to read that the service was not always at your expectations. I do not want to look for excuses, but it is true that it was somehow "headless" during your stay as the service manager is sick at the moment. Nevertheless we will have a serious discussion and will try to do all necessary that the service will equalize with the quality of the cuisine.

We hope you will come back to Abbaye and see the improvements we will make in service ( and elsewhere as we have great plans also for the hotel! )

Very best regards from Abbaye de Talloires

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

A thousand year old hotel that has been refurbished but has retained the history and charm. The location is exquisite which makes meals all the more special if they are taken outside. The weather was kind so we were spoilt! Simply amazing!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 385elainem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear Elaine,

we are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for chosing Abbaye.
You are right, having the possibility to take your breakfast and diner on the upper terrace or you lunch right next to the water on the lower terrace is simply devine. And we do not even talk about the cuisine for which we get a lot of compliments from breakfast buffet, brasserie lunch to the fine dining diner.
And I hope that you had time for swimming or any other activity in our breathtaking region.
We will be always glad to welcome you back.

Sunny regards from Abbaye

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2018 via mobile

The Abbaye was a great hotel for my wife, my in-laws and myself go stay. It may be the one hotel where the pictures and description online were understated compared to our visit. It’s a beautiful, historic property, has amazing panoramic views of Lake Annecy, and my family loved our stay. An attentive friendly staff made it such a pleasant stay. And we’ve enjoyed many breakfasts in the USA and all over Europe, and the one we enjoyed here is the best breakfast we’ve ever had! Tremendous personal attention!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Grossness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2018

Dear guest,

we are sincerly touched by your kind words. We know that our venue is very special having such an amazing history and beiing set in such a magical setting! But hearing it frrom our guests it is always so rewarding as we try to share our enthusiasm with you all day after day.
We appreciate your compliments on our breakfast, it really is very rich,tasty and healthy: there are over 65 products to your choice and most of them are organic and coming from our region, some even from our garden!
We were delighted to have had you among us and it will be always a great pleasure to welcome you back.

Very best regards from Abbaye

Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2018

My Room, 55 , was very big with a wonderful bathroom. The only problem I had was about the stairs. They don’t have elevators and it was on 3rd floor.
The restaurant was very good and the breakfast also.

Room tip: The best Room they have is 55
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Consuelo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsk53, Directeur général at Hotel Abbaye de Talloires, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2018

Dear client,

thank you for your compliments. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our beautiful venue.
As a heritage monument we are not allowed to built an elevator ( nor we have the space to do it!) but since this year we have a very beautiful suite right on the ground floor next to the reception. So no need to climb the stairs if you do not want to or worse if you can not do it anymore.
We are glad that you have appreciate your meal in our gastronomic restaurant, our new Chef Christophe Le Digol is really good, we hear it all the time.

We would be pleased to welcome you back, you know now that you do not have to climb the stairs anymore.

We wish you very nice summer and are sending you best regards from Talloires


Dunja Kirchner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews