We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good food, interesting room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Val d'Isere
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We enjoyed a January ski week here with lots of snow. The hotel is well located just across the road from the ski lift and free bus service. The room was quite small with the second bed on an upper level reached using a wooden stairway above the bathroom. The bathroom was small with a bath with a hand held shower. The room was warm and clean, however very small windows meant that there was not much natural light. The food was good and the staff very helpful. The ski room is outside the hotel and we took our boots to our room at night to make sure that they were dry for the morning. We are confident skiers so the all area pass was well used as we covered all areas during the week. There are shops near by if you want to pick up snacks and drinks to keep in your room. Lunch was easy on the mountain every day with a good range of places to eat, however at a price which is what you would expect in a ski resort.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Macleod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

Room was large, breakfast was great, staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. This is a 4-star hotel easily, not the three stars advertised; value for money, particularly for Val D'Isere, is excellent. I would recommend this to anyone. The only small negative is that in La Daille rather than the centre of town, but buses come very, very frequently, and there are lifts up the mountain directly across the street. I really can't stress enough how helpful and friendly the staff were - fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at Le Samovar for one week in January 2012. We highly recommend this lovely hotel. It is well located with very easy access to ski lifts. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our room had an excellent view overlooking the piste, and the room itself, was large, comfortable and well appointed.
Although we had booked for bed and breakfast, we chose to eat at the hotel restaurant in the evenings as well because the food was excellent ( there was a good variety to choose from, at a reasonable price ) - WITH REALLY GREAT SERVICE.
We had a fantastic holiday in Val d'Isere and very much enjoyed our stay at Le Samovar.

Room Tip: Excellent view from front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We have now spent several winter vacations at Le Samovar, and our family can recommend the hotel. The half pension with its four-course dinner is a good deal - food is great and you won't have to go to town for dinner after an exhausting skiing day. Location is excellent, close to La Daille cabin and funival down stations. The free shuttle bus to Val d'Isere has a stop just on the other side of the road.
Only minuses are a smallish ski locker room and sometime unreliable WLAN (which is free though). Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T0mmiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Great place to stay lovely rooms, friendly staff, good food especially the steak! excellent location ski lift just over the road, free buses in and out of town, 5-10 min walk to town ! Super would definetly stay again !

Room Tip: Room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Good hotel, particularly standard of bedrooms. Felt recently refurbished and smart. Restaurant good in individual dishes. Tables rather close together. Wine list good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freshmuesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My wife and I had an absolutely fantastic holiday at the Hotel La Samovar.
Our room was excellent with beautiful views across the piste. The food was lovely and the restaurant staff where polite and very friendly.
The hotel itself has an authentic feel to it with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. It’s location was perfect for us, just outside the town with direct access to and from the piste.
The hotel owner, Sylvie, made us feel most welcome and we look forward to seeing her again. Special thanks also to her team, including Celine, Nina and Elodie.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crashbandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Val d'Isere hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Kandahar
Hotel Kandahar
#18 of 39 in Val d'Isere
89 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Christiania
Hotel Christiania
#7 of 39 in Val d'Isere
169 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
Hotel L'Aigle des Neiges
#1 of 39 in Val d'Isere
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel la Savoyarde
Hotel la Savoyarde
#16 of 39 in Val d'Isere
128 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
Hotel Les Barmes de l'Ours
#13 of 39 in Val d'Isere
120 reviews
2.3 km away
Hotel Avancher
Hotel Avancher
#9 of 39 in Val d'Isere
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets

Address: la Daille, 73150 Val d'Isere, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Val d'Isere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Val d'Isere
#7 Spa Hotel in Val d'Isere
#11 Luxury Hotel in Val d'Isere
#12 Family Hotel in Val d'Isere
Price Range: $420 - $776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Samovar is located at the foot of the slopes in la Daille, Val d'Isere, and just opposite the funicular Funival. Traditional mountain decor and modern alpine style furniture. Comfy lounge aria, fire place, restaurant, bar. Free 5 minutes bus service to the centre of Val d'Isere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Samovar Hotel And Chalets
Le Samovar Hotel & Chalets France/Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing