We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a bakery !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Koenig

Cafe Koenig
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Baden-Baden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a bakery !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Super caks, gateaus, and all things not that healthy. But very nice. Real Black Forest Gateau with Cherry Kirsch.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank HarryM208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    125
    41
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The sort of place you don't think really exists - a real treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

I don't know why the people in this coffee shop (they do light meals, too) are not all the size of houses. We came for coffee and cake (hot chocolate and cake in my case) and were amazed. The cakes were enormous, laden with cream, chocolate and other things that are really bad for you, and utterly delicious.
It's a plain sort of interior, with lots of mainly middle aged and elderly people, all very well dressed, eating huge portions of gateau - some drinking wine - and enjoying themselves enormously in a very genteel sort of way. We were there as tourists on a treat; they looked as if they did this sort of thing every day; meeting friends and nibbling away at huge cakes whilst sipping discreetly at a glass of wine, whilst discussing that day's shopping.
I truly thought these places were consigned to the pages of history and I'm delighted this one still exists. What a treat!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Britbiztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Schwarzwald Cake, Pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We had coffee and BlackForest Cake here... and it was delicious, but pricey. An older, well-dressed crowd, and reminiscent of a genteel haven for the well-heeled. It was very busy in the mid-afternoon, which I assume means that the cake ( and rest of the food) is exceptional, or it is fashionable to be seen there.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GPRWVET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Incredible Petit Fleurs & Desserts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

We happen to be walking down the street when my husband and I noticed Cafe Konig. It was full of people inside and out and we decided to take a peak. Inside, they have chocolates galore and every dessert imaginable.

I decided to have a Petit Fleur and some sort of rum , raspberry cheese cake, along with a caramel flavored coffee and it was incredible. My only regret was not purchasing a small box for 10 euro that contained 4 petit fleurs.

It's lovely to sit outside, enjoy the atmosphere and eat like a queen.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BSV1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing cakes, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010

I was recommended this place for the cake and was not disappointed! There is an amazing selection and something for everyone - they all look delicious. You have to order the cakes and then sit down where a waitress comes to take any drinks orders and collects your cake order. The atmosphere was nice with a good mix of people. It was very busy as it was an afternoon on a public holiday and the waitresses were a little stressed, but still polite and friendly.

We ordered two cakes and a standard coffee which came to 10e. So not bad value for what you get, though the drinks are a little expensive at around 2.50 for a small coke.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simone1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Koenig also viewed

Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
Baden-Baden, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Cafe Koenig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing