We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good service, nice spa. Average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Traube Tonbach
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Baiersbronn
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, nice spa. Average rooms”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Traube Tonbach is something of a Grande Dame within Germany's hotel landscape. As such, its target audience are certainly not younger people. This has nothing to do with its 1980s oak wood Black Forest Luxuy Chic, but more with the rooms and the evening entertainment.

Reception and service
Very good, professional and friendly. Certainly a 5 out of 5 here.

Spa and wellness
Clean, modern with lots of choice between different pools, saunas and steam rooms. Very good. A 5 out of 5 again

Restaurant Silberberg
Dinner of somewhat above average quality, but not amazing. Salad buffet rather small. Breakfast is good with very friendly staff. Kitchen clearly did not know what Eggs Benedict are (we got a piece of toast, cut into a triangle, with some spinach and a poached egg)

A 4 out of 5

Schwarzwaldstube, Harald Wohlfart
I think without him, the Traube would certainly loose one of its biggest unique selling points.
No need to go into details - one of Europe's best restaurants. 3 Michelin stars. a 5 out of 5.

Rooms
Out-of-date. This has nothing to do with an oak-wood, 1980s luxury style. I personally dislike it, but I can see that many other people like it. However, room prices of more than EUR300 per night for two in rooms that are essentially out of date (besides the flat planel TV), is ridiculous. Worse though is the fact that you are allowed to smoke basically everywhere in the hotel besides the restaurants, some bits of the lobby and the spa. This is again so 1980s and out of touch with the real world (i.e. they don't have a non-smoking floor) that it hurts. Either you lower the room price for your product (last renovated back in 1993), or you upgrade your rooms asap. The current price is unreasonable.
2 out 5

Bar
Very good cocktails, but you are allowed to smoke essentially in all the bar areas that are cozy. The only non-smoking area is the one besides the dance-floor where no one ever sits (which obviously reflects on the clientele - many smoke). The dance-floor then is the trigger for a really bad memory. The hotel employs piano players and singers who basically create songs of 1980s quality with some fake tunes etc.... Terrible. One can never argue about taste, but people we are not a 1980s cruise ship somewhere on the Danube or in a retirement home. It is totally unacceptable in a five star hotel (with the American Diamond Award) to have such music. Classic piano will and would do. No need for fake tunes and German folk songs.... If this is what people like, then management will face huge problems soon as the younger generation (30-40 year olds) no longer grew up with Musikantenstadl & Co. I guess you can continue with this programme if you only ever want older people in your hotel, but even my parents would find this music out of place and out of date.

2 out of 5

Summary: The service is good, especially the younger staff are very motivated and professional and offer five star service. Some more senior staff clearly focus more on those customers who have been coming to the Traube for 10, 20 or more years. IF you are younger and not one of their recurring customers, you will automatically be in the lowest category (which got reflected in where we were seated in the restaurant, the room we got etc.) This is really bad. We used this trip to test whether the hotel would be nice for a week, but we think it simply is too expensive and stuffy for what it is.

The rooms need upgrading asap (I know Haus Kohlwald is being upgraded right now) for the money they are asking for.

They need a non-smoking floor.

The Traube reminds me of my many vacations with my grandparents when I was young. We used to go to the Steigenberger Bad Griesbach in the 1980s and 1990s. Compared to the Steigenberger (which even back then had non-smoking floors), Restaurant Silberberg is not as good and the rooms were also nicer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Sir,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for your comment after you stay at Traube Tonbach.
Thanks to your valuable comments with your impressions of your stay with us and your recommendation we are able to improve our service for you.
We regret to hear that you very disappointed of our rooms and the evening entertainment.
As our hotel, with his history which goes back to 1789, grew step by step you will still find places where we keep the past like in our restaurant Bauernstube. Nearly always we are about to improve the service and the buildings for you, our guests. Concerning the rooms we may assure you that we made efforts to renovate them constantly. As you already know the next project our Depandance Haus Kohlwald, is already under progress, where all rooms will be modern and spacious. We would be very pleased if we may show you these new rooms after completion of the constructions in September.
Concerning smoking we may inform you that we are already in discussions to solve this problem soon and to create a comfortable atmosphere for everybody.
We would like to thank you also for your observations of our music entertainment in the evenings. Please be assured that we are already changing our music program, on week-ends we do have DJ’s, who are very successful with the entertainment of our guests. This step will be one among many steps of permanent changing process of a hotel like ours with different audiences.
Once more we thank you for your honest critique and we would be very pleased if you would give us a second chance to satisfy your expectations and to convince you of the Traube Tonbach hospitality and service.
Warmest regards from the Black Forest your family Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    449
    69
    31
    9
    7
See reviews for
155
268
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Superb location in the middle of the famous Black Forrest "Schwarz Wald" of Germany, a unique hotel in every thing food,room,facilities,atmosphere,and above all the Excellent service

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bo3baid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear guests,
It is a great pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay in our paradise.
Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.com.
We are looking forward to welcome you again, here in the Traube Tonbach and we remain with best regards
Your family Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I recently stayed at the Traube Tonbach from November 2 to November 7 for some R&R before some business meetings in Frankfurt. This was my second visit to Traube Tonbach and my return was due to the very satisfactory experience the first time I was there. There is currently some on-going construction to expand the spa services area so the there was some disruption to the elevator service and general construction mess. But it was really no problem. My room was a single room in the main house and it was cozy but not cramped. Traube Tonbach's staff was always courteous and helpful, and spoke English (helpful since I was most likely the only American there and my German isn't too good). The food was at all times of the highest quality, with excellent service. The half-board option for 25 Euro per day is a good value. My only disappointment in the dining department was a Bloody Mary which took a long time to arrive, was highly overpriced and poorly made. The spa area was well maintained and clean at all times. The fitness room is disappointing, cramped, and with only a very limited selection of weights and exercise machines. However, since most of the clientele of this property are on the elderly side, this most likely is not an area management views as a major area that their clients focus on. The other area of disappointment was the WiFi which was really only usable if you sat directly across from the reception desk where the signal was decent. Otherwise, while free, the Internet access was essentially useless. I will say that the management is aware of the problem and that they are going to a new Internet provider in 2012.

Overall the Traube Tonbach is a first-rate resort and a good place to go if you want good food, good service and some quiet time in the Schwarzwald. Due to the relatively minor issues mentioned above, I could not give it 5 stars, but I would certainly return for a third visit.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerKoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed description of your visit in our hotel.
We are glad to see, that you enjoyed your stay in the Traube Tonbach also for the second time.
Thank you also for sharing your disappointment, because only owing to these valuable references we are able to determine the strengths and the weaknesses of our house from your view. As you already noticed we know about the WiFi problem and we will change it as soon as possible to assure you a prompt access.
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again in the beautiful Black Forest for a pleasant and quiet stay.
Best regards from your family Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hedehusene
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Staying at this historic place is fantastic, every thing is at top level, see all the happy guests on this side, the michelin guide, and so on. But it was pleasent to pay the bill after 2 days in Schwartzwald. The price for meal, wine, mini bar, coffe, cigars everything is very fair. It´s top level in the world but the prices are so human, and you´r feeling well welcome

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rolf4446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for referencing us at this point. Our main ambition is to please our guest during their stay and after it. Part of this is at all times a reasonable price-performance-ratio. The greatest compliment for us and our work is when a guest returns to our hotel. We hope to see you again here in our beautiful valley and wish you all the best

Sincerely
Renate Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed here on a Tauck tour and this is definitely one I would love to go back to someday! It is one of the loveliest hotels I have ever stayed at and wished we had more time there. Upon arrival we were met by some of the staff who then escorted us to our rooms. They were dressed in traditional German dress (the ladies) and every person we came in contact with went beyond what I expected in service. Truly a first rate and well run hotel. The rooms are divided by a half wall so there is a sitting area and also a balcony overlooking the most beautiful valley. A scene straight out of Heidi. The hotel is build into the hillside so there are multiple levels which makes it entertaining to find your way throughout the hotel. The pool area is large and has an indoor part which connects to the outdoor part- you swim under a connecting passage to get to the outdoor. Lots of lounge chairs outside overlooking the gorgeous scenery. Hot tub also there. They do have a spa which looked lovely but we didn't have time for that. Would love to go back and try it though. The rooms were very well appointed and had lots of storage space if you were staying a longer period of time. The restaurant in the hotel was excellent-one of the best in a hotel I have experienced and breakfast was not only wonderful, but presented like a magazine picture as far as the buffet breakfast goes. Lots of choices! The hotel also has mountain bikes which look top of the line you can reserve for free and take advantage of riding if you are in shape for hills! The rooms are not air conditioned but with the climate we did not need it. Just opened the windows when we were there. They do have fans you can request for you room if you want one. The bar was large and beautiful and had a dance area if there was music and one wanted to dance. One night there was music in the lounge. 2 lovely shops on property. Lots of outdoor sitting outside for drinks or enjoying coffee in a garden type setting- rose bushes, etc. When it was time to leave, the owner got on our tour bus to say thank you and hoped our stay was lovely. It was- beyond lovely. Can't say enough good things about this place and if I ever get the chance and am anywhere closeby would go back for several days just for the relaxation. Truly is a hidden gem! Also they will give you free internet which is a plus. You do have to be in the lounge area or the front desk area to use it though I believe or at least that is what I found.

Room Tip: I think any of them would be fantastic from what I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clmtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, 21 December 2011
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you so much for your kind and detailed description of your stay on the occasion of a Tauck Tour in the hotel Traube Tonbach.
It is great to read how you experienced your stay and we thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. Only owing to your valuable references we are able to determine the strengths and the weaknesses of our house from view of our guests.
We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our breakfast offer and that you liked our swimming area, your room and the bike proposal.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again, for a longer stay to offer you a relaxing vacation in the Black Forest.
Warmest regards from the whole team
Your family Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We spent four beautiful and relaxing days at this beautiful hotel. Family run by four generations, you can feel the TLC in the enviroment from the moment you arrive. The rooms are beautifully appointed with terrific views of the valley and the forrest. Their vatiety and diversity of restaurants on the premises in unequeal to any hotel. The spa and its pools are superb. But the most outstanding and noteworthy characteristic of this jewel, is in its staff. Seldom have I encounter so many smiles and shine on the faces of all of the staff(not a single one exception).
If you are planning to be in the area, you simply cannot miss this experience. Enjoy

Room Tip: Forrest/valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you cordially for your nice words after your stay in the Black Forest.
We are pleased to read your great description of the hotel Traube Tonbach. Of course we will share your fantastic compliments with our staff. Together with my brother Matthias I support my parents, already in the eight generation, with the daily challenge to prepare you an unforgettable stay in our house, fortunately we dove have an excellent workforce.
Thanks again for your recommendation of the Traube Tonbach, we hope to see you back again soon in the Tonbach valley.
With best regards from the whole team
Sebastian Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Relaxing, natural setting in the Black Forest. You can be as active as you would like, hiking, biking, swimming, dancing, exercise classes, or just let the staff take care of your every need. Owned by a family with a true commitment to service, and attention to details, including wonderful restaurants. This place is a jewel!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieFinkbeiner, Inhaber at Hotel Traube Tonbach, responded to this review, 27 September 2011
Dear guests
Thank you very much for your kind description of your experience in our Hotel.
As you correctly wrote, there is a big amount of activities to join on and around our property in the Black Forrest.
My family and I want to thank you very much for your compliments. It is indeed a great joy to be there for such nice guests like you.
We are hoping to welcome you back in Germany as soon as possible.

With best regards from the whole team,
Sebastian Finkbeiner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baiersbronn
2.9 km away
Hotel Bareiss
Hotel Bareiss
#2 of 32 in Baiersbronn
448 reviews
7.0 km away
Hotel Sackmann
Hotel Sackmann
#5 of 32 in Baiersbronn
229 reviews
7.8 km away
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
Flair Hotel Sonnenhof
#18 of 32 in Baiersbronn
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Hotel Dollenberg
Hotel Dollenberg
#1 of 14 in Bad Peterstal-Griesbach
238 reviews
10.4 km away
Nationalpark-Hotel Schliffkopf
26.0 km away
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
Brenners Park-Hotel & Spa
#1 of 50 in Baden-Baden
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Traube Tonbach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Traube Tonbach

Property: Hotel Traube Tonbach
Address: Tonbachstr. 237, 72270 Baiersbronn, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Baiersbronn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Luxury Hotel in Baiersbronn
#2 Romantic Hotel in Baiersbronn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Traube Tonbach 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traube Tonbach is nestled in the romantic Tonbach Valley, surrounded by tall fir trees and gently rolling hills. The historic Black Forest hotel has been family owned and operated for over 200 years. Today, it is setting extremely high standards as one of the most exclusive and modern locations for hospitality and enjoyment, accommodations and wellness, activities and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Traube Tonbach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traube Tonbach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing