We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Good location, near to the train station. Basic rooms a little on the small size. Expensive breakfast at 14€ each for a buffet.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyBN3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    156
    30
    13
    8
See reviews for
55
147
23
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here in September 2011. The hotel was very nice, small with a boutique feeling.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms although quite small were nonetheless very clean and modern. That said we only went for the standard room so it was good value for money.

On the first day we decided to have breakfast at the hotel until we got our bearings. The breakfast was so good with lots of organic produce that we breakfasted there the rest of our trip!

As the hotel did not have a restaurant we ate out and the choice in Freiburg is excellent. We did however sample some of the cocktails in Hemmingway bar - very good!

The hotel also laid on free tea and coffee in the afternoon and huge brollies could be borrowed - very welcome for the rainy day we experienced.

The hotel is well situated and is very good and we would return. The city of Freiburg itself is gorgeous, very medieval fell to it and great for just wandering about. Be warned though on a Sunday EVERYTHING shuts down except the odd cafe or restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Ideally situated between station and town centre, yet surprisingly quiet - and we had a room overlooking the street. We had a larger room, with big bed and two armchairs, which was good as we stayed for five days. Everything was spotlessly clean. Staff were excellent - friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English which helped. Decent breakfast, though a bit overpriced, pleasant bar. Freiburg is a delightful city and this hotel enabled us tomake the most of it, especially as it was within easy walking distance of everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docus48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Stayed here many times, always dependable and clean. Close to everything you want to see and do in Freiburg. One of the better bars in Germany as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Novajim2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My wife and I stayed 6 nights at the Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria. The location was terrific; only 3 short blocks from the train station, two blocks from the historic district, across the street from a park with a museum/palace, within walking distance of a lot of restaurants, near two tram stops, and a couple doors down from a supermarket!

The 25 sq meter rooms are air conditioned and large. Even the bathroom was large with two sinks! It is a very green hotel that produces its own engery. Breakfast is an extensive buffet that included the usual European fair, and hot scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage (not typical for European breakfasts). Breakfast is not usually included in the room rate and is 14 Euros per person. However, the room rate did include a regional public transportation pass that allows you to use the trains, trams and bus system for FREE!!!! Remember to ask for the pass upon checkin.

The hotel staff spoke English and were generally helpful and polite. The breakfast staff and one front desk person were the standouts. The front desk person has short blonde spikey hair (wish I remembered her name). She was more willing to go out of her way to help and you did not have to ask her for everything.

Freiburg is a great place to use as a base for exploring the area. We visited Zurich, Switzerland, Basel, Switzerland, Colmar, France, Strasbourg, France and the Black Forest. It is also a much cheaper way to explore Switzerland. Tours to Interlaken and the Matterhorn are available from the Tourist Information Bureau inside the old City Hall (Rathaus). Beware these and other tours are only available on specific days. They are also only available in German. Do not take the tours to Colmar as they only drop you off and pick you up at a specific time. Take the bus from the train station with your free pass instead.

Room Tip: Remember to ask about the free public transportation passes!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed at the Best Western for four nights during our tour of Europe, the hotel was clean, welcoming, good breakfasts. It was a short walk from the main railway station and was even signposted (Victoria Hotel). We had a standard double on the third floor which suited my husband as the roof garden was just outside our bedroom (he could go and smoke there in comfort). The bedroom was quiet, compact, comfortable but with two strange additions: a) a large modern light hanging from the ceiling between the wall and the end of the bed so every time you moved you would crash into this lamp! and b) a cord attached to the headboard of the bed which played music when pulled. Why? we asked ourselves. Anyway we were very happy with the hotel, we arranged to have some laundry washed and this (abit expensive but worth it to us) came back promptly and ironed.
Freiburg was a delight. The hotel was a short walk from the main centre. We ate every night (4 nights) in the same restaurant, The Hotel Oberkirch, because we were bewitched by the Munsterplatz and cathedral. The hotel had tables outside on the square, many seating four people so we ended up meeting a variety of locals and other travellers and having a magical, candle lit, sociable evening. The food was good quality and delicious Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We were happy with our room, at the back of the hotel, no view but quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennysionidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Friendly staff, overpriced breakfast and a small single room with almost no natural daylight (it looks out directly onto an enclosed fire escape area). Do not accept a single room in this hotel without asking to see it first.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PR_oxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Freiburg im Breisgau hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenster
Mercure Hotel Freiburg am Muenst...
#6 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
911 reviews
0.4 km away
Novotel Freiburg
Novotel Freiburg
#8 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
1,633 reviews
0.4 km away
The Alex Hotel
The Alex Hotel
#1 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
Mercure Hotel Panorama Freiburg
#2 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
606 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Colombi
Hotel Colombi
#3 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
454 reviews
3.9 km away
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
Clarion Hotel Hirschen
#7 of 56 in Freiburg im Breisgau
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria

Property: Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria
Address: Eisenbahnstrasse 54, 79098 Freiburg im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Freiburg im Breisgau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#6 Romantic Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
#7 Business Hotel in Freiburg im Breisgau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Freiburg Im Breisgau
Best Western Premier Hotel Victoria Germany/Freiburg Im Breisgau, Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing