We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Debbie C
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Charming German hotel near tram line to Freiburg city center

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 9, 2019
This is a very nice local hotel that is close to the tram line so easy to get to the Freiburg city center. The room I stayed in was a reasonable size and very clean and well maintained. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the area was quiet so I was able to get a good night's sleep. The hotel has a very good restaurant and there are other local restaurants nearby if you don't want to travel to the city center. All in all it was just what we were looking for.
Date of stay: October 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
IntercityHotel Freiburg, Germany - Exterior
C$142
C$120
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    C$142
3.6 km from Hotel Hirschen Freiburg
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
C$97
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Hotel Hirschen Freiburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$196
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Hotel Hirschen Freiburg
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
C$280
C$253
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
4.2 km from Hotel Hirschen Freiburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$116
C$114
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
3.7 km from Hotel Hirschen Freiburg
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$162
C$135
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
3.6 km from Hotel Hirschen Freiburg
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
C$114
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
9.2 km from Hotel Hirschen Freiburg
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Novotel
    C$209
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$195
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Hotel Hirschen Freiburg
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$182
  • Mercure
    C$196
4.4 km from Hotel Hirschen Freiburg
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$102
  • Wyndham
    C$115
3.7 km from Hotel Hirschen Freiburg
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Freiburg im Breisgau
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
180
137
26
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
137
26
7
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 355 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2019

The hotel is set back of the main road which makes it nice and quite. The staff there are really helpful.
The pool was at a good temperature, somewhere to sit and relax.
I would recommend this place.
The rooms are nice and big, parking is free within the hotel grounds.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank glenn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

We stayed in a junior suite for one night as part of a trip to Switzerland & Germany. Hotel Hirschen is a quiet, relaxing and elegant hotel set out in the Freiburg suburbs, close to the motorway network but a 10-15 minute tram ride from the city centre. Lovely rooms, a nice swimming pool for the summer months, friendly staff and free underground car parking. But the hotel's big selling point is its excellent food. Lunch in the gardens is something to savour.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank businesseye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2019

We stayed for 6 nights in July, 2019. The location was perfect because the hotel is located close to the motorways so we were able to day take day trips very easily without having to drive through Freiburg. Getting to the downtown area took 7 minutes. There are a couple of very nice restaurants in the neighborhood and a great little bakery down the street.

The hotel is clean, the breakfast was wonderful and the staff was very friendly. We would absolutely recommend the Hotel Hirschen.

Date of stay: July 2019
2  Thank Marta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

Hotel Hirschen in Freiburg-Lehen is a wonderful hidden gem in the Black Forest area and super close to several different attractions (i.e. Europa Park, Triberg waterfalls, Baden-Baden) in the area by car. There is lots of parking available. The rooms are clean and aesthetically pleasing, ours came with a lovely deck with a lounge chair and a little table with two regular chairs. The staff is very friendly and the breakfast is great. The restaurant is also amazing, if not a bit expensive. Highly highly recommend if you're looking for a well-priced, quality stay.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank khan0628
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 2, 2019 via mobile

What a lovely place this is. We spebt a weekend in Freiburg and came across this place. Uts about 15 minutes tram ride from center with the tram stop being an easy 10 minute walk. The grounds are beautiful with a lovely pool area. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was of a good quality and choice and it was great to sit outside. Will definitly return

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kaz6429
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews