We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
6
7
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
7
9
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 25 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2015

We got a big triple room, which was ideal for the 3 of us as it has a single bed totally private from the rest of the room and a king size bed for my husband and I and a lounge area. The room was cozy and clean for a fair price. The breakfast was adequate. Although we had a very nice night sleep we would like to mention that the service was a little bit inadequate. As we arrived late at the hotel we rang the late hour bell looking for a room and we found rude as a woman answered it not in good terms saying she was asleep but then a very friendly man opened the door and show us the room. Next day during breakfast we asked the lady in charge if the hotel has free WiFi, and she said yes and that she would get us the password but she never come back with it. Later it on asking her again about the password she told us that she wouldn't be able to give it to us as her boss was not there and we found that really strange. As we were finishing our breakfast we found that the lady in charge was rushing us to pay and leaving the hotel even though was not check out time yet and we felt uncomfortable. Overall we thought the accommodation and facilities were good value for money but the service was not satisfactory.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cdallierf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Our experience contrasts greatly with some of the other reviews posted - what we found was a completely updated, well appointed, and meticulously clean hotel with fine carpets on the floor and real paintings on the walls, a real surprise and superior experience to the usual German country hotel experience. Breakfast was ample with a wide range of selections, served on white tablecloth laden tables, and with excellent service. Perhaps the hotel has been updated since the other reviews, or perhaps there are two sections - our experience was like a breath of fresh air, and completely positive. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarLay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Hotel Kuhler Krug while sightseeing in the Black Forest region. It is located in Gunterstal, a southern district of Freiburg (a sizeable town with historic attractions and a famous university). I am really glad we chose to stay there - it was quiet, comfortable, and the staff were so accommodating. The setting is beautiful, with fresh air and a feeling of having escaped the city, even though the tourist attractions are just a quick, convenient, inexpensive tram ride away (the tram stop is less than 5 minutes' walk from the hotel, and it will only take 10-15 minutes to get to the town center). The hotel was well-furnished, and the breakfast was great quality and value. I understand that the restaurant is highly regarded, although we were there on a Wednesday night when it was not open. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Freiburg, but preferring a good night's sleep in a clean, quiet country village setting.

Room tip: There is currently construction in the square outside, and the tram runs past along the road (though not a 24 hour service), so you may wish to request a quiet room if you are a very light sleeper.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank redxdress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Nice traditional Hotel just out side Freiburg in the small village of Gunterstal,we had a large three bed room which was ideal and well equipped if a little dated.Breakfast was adequate but not special.The Hotel is located directly on the Tram route which and takes about 10 minuets to Freiburg Center. Parking is easy and plentiful and there is a nice Bakery and Chemist just out side,All in all a pleasant stay and nice Hotel.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed in the hotel and were given a large room and a small sitting room ! But ! This needed to be updated and given total makeover ! The tram runs right outside the balcony of the room ,but this did not bother us ! Breakfast was ok but had to ask for it to be filled up with more food and then find someone to give me more coffee !
If we were asked to rate the hotel out of 10 we wold give if a 6

Date of stay: May 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michaell154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews