We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, quiet and outstanding hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Heidelberg
Certificate of Excellence
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A comfortable, quiet and outstanding hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

After searching online, my wife and I chose this hotel based on other guest's comments and the location. It turned out to be perfect. The hotel places you near the Neckar River and the Heidelber Bridge. Better yet, you are easily within walking distance of the many wonderfully quaint shops and unique sights. The hotel staff were nothing short of outstanding, and we will not hesitate to stay there on our next visit to heidelberg, Germany.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    47
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
44
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
418 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

We were met by Sebastien who was welcoming and friendly but we never saw him again. We had to pay on arrival, before seeing the room, something we have never had to do before. Our room was clean but the curtains did not fit the windows or block the light. The view was onto an adjoining building shrouded in scaffolding and plastic. There was no one in reception to help sort out the wifi problems nor to give us extra blankets as it was quite cold. The bed was two single beds pushed together which is the norm for Germany BUT they were two differing heights which is not the norm and not acceptable for the price we paid!! The breakfast host was really helpful and the location for walking the bridge and old town was great. I think there are better options to stay in the old town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racandtac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Wonderful sidewalk restaurant, classic Fruhstuckzimmer, and seriously charming courtyard. The rooms were surprisingly large, bathroom was great. Staff was very helpful and accomodating.

Located literally next to the Alte Bruecke (Old Bridge) towers, you can stay here and cover the city on foot - from the Hauptstrasse up to the castle. Discounted parking at a nearby parking garage, although it's a 4 or 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: Our room was a 2 room suite on the 2nd to 3rd floor. Big rooms, great views. Basic furnishings- typi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

Delightful and atmospheric, with a pretty courtyard. Charming, helpful and can-do staff. Rooms cool and modern. Super location, which therefore commands a fairly high price. Breakfast mediocre.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRestedMyCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a small hotel, but very comfortable. Free wifi in rooms. Located right at the end of the old bridge. Good restaurant, friendly owner and staff. Just a short walk to the central area and to the Heidelberg Castle. Room was clean and comfortable. Good shower. There is a lift in the hotel. Breakfast is 12 Euros.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSOfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

We stayed in one of the hotels "junior suites" on the second floor - it was a nice sized room with a loft area that was perfect for our teenage daughter. The room was bright and airy, and very modern. I was worried that it might be noisy given its location near the bridge, but there is no auto traffic in that area, so it was very quiet in the evenings and mornings! It is a small hotel, so the staff wear many hats, but they were very accomodating and helpful. Breakfast was very nice and you simply can't beat the central location. Be sure you try to restaurant that is part of the hotel for dinner (Wirsthaus Zum Nepomuk) -- the food might have been the best we had in Germany!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2010

My husband and I only stayed here one night, but we would come back to this hotel again. The location is great, as it is right by the old bridge and within close walking distance of the entire old town. Yes, parking is inconvenient, but that is to be expected in this part of town. We were treated very well by the staff even though our German is poor! The room was clean and bright - our room was on the second floor, overlooking the restaurant patio - we did not have any major issues with noise. The bathroom was modern and clean. Breakfast was in a nice setting and they had set out a nice, varied spread. We really liked this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacher314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heidelberg hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Hollaender Hof
Hotel Hollaender Hof
#4 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.5 km away
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
Gasthaus Hotel Backmulde
#12 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
Hotel Zum Ritter St. Georg
#16 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Goldener Falke
Hotel Goldener Falke
#19 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Perkeo
Hotel Perkeo
#26 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zur Alten Brucke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zur Alten Brucke

Property: Hotel Zur Alten Brucke
Address: Obere Neckarstr. 2, 69117 Heidelberg, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Heidelberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Heidelberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zur Alten Brucke 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best situatedyou find our charming hotel directly at the old bridge in the center of the romantic od town of heidelberg. In a few minutes you can walk to the castle, the university, the bridge and the world famous "Philosopenweg" from where you have an outstanding view over the old town.We have 10 double- and 2 singlerooms as well as 4 suites, partly with wonderful view on the river and the bridge, the old town and the castle. Our breakfast buffet expect you in our cosy restaurant " Wirtshaus zum Nepomuk" which is also very charming in the evening. We serve excellent regional cuisine. When the weather is fine, we also serve breakfast in our romantic courtyard before you walk around the city.We can't promise quiet rooms as we are in town. There's a churchbell ringing, birds are singing, people are talking in the courtyard or the terrace an as well we are a wellknown restaurant, we sometimes have weddings or birthdayparties. But we try our best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Zur Alten Brucke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zur Alten Brucke Heidelberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing