We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location near railway station and good wi-fi (not free)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Mannheim
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Convenient location near railway station and good wi-fi (not free)”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Typical German hotel with a good piano bar to relax after work. The wi-fi was very strong in my room but you have to buy the access from Deutsche Telekom (aka T-Mobile), which I always do the moment I arrive in Germany - $45 for 30 days (you can connect to it practically anywhere in Germany). A good place to eat is Cafe Flo.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank V_Pontchartrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    94
    111
    50
    28
See reviews for
16
44
28
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here one night in February for business. Arrived in a lobby (where you could clearly notice the smoke from the bar) around 00:00 and quickly got the key, when I got to my room on the 6th floor (has no direct elevator, first had to take it the the 5th and then walk) I noticed it to be mostly old.

After a few minutes inside I started to notice the smoky smell and the ashtray. As I had to get up at 06:00 and didn't feel like changing again, repacking and asking a different room I decided to stay with the window open.

The big mistake I made was not asking for a non-smoking room, having stayed in many hotels before I thought this was a given, I was wrong.

By 06:00 I was happy to leave. Breakfast was fine for a 4 star hotel, nothing special nothing bad.

Lastly there is no free internet, this is something unacceptable for a 100 euro per night hotel.

Overall very poor, I would not recommend it to anyone. The nice looks from the outside do not properly represent this old hotel in need of a grand refurbishment.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking (they did not offer), Do not get a room on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastiaanM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mannheim hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2012

my husband and i always stay at the maritim park hotel, we enjoy the service, especially from this young guy at the front desk, he had blond hair and was very nice, veyr helpful excelletn customer service, the location is great, central, walking distant to the train station and down town mannheim and across from the water tower park.

we use to live in mannheim and the hotel looks like a royal castle, very safe, very clean.

my husband plan to stay at the maritime park hotel this year again.

thank you hk

Room Tip: book the deluxe rooms very roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x-zelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

the Maritim in Mannheim is a very nice clean hotel within walking distance (400 m) of the main train station. The location is also excellent for strolling and shopping in the city center. The hotel decor is roughly art deco (German style), but is clean and well maintained. The hotel breakfast is also very good. The rooms are a little small, but comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jozek444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camberley
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Stayed here on business. Great location. Hotel now feels old and outdated, with little atmosphere. Had a single room and although functional was small. Wi-fi not free which is always a negative these days. Overall very expensive for not a lot compared to many other hotels.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waggers999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I stayed at the Maritim Parkhotel because I was attending a meeting at the Rosengarten conference center which is just across the square. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the train station, just go out the front door and straight down the main street.

The hotel decor was outdated, but everything was clean. I could tell they cleaned the shower every day because they kept moving the showerhead and on my last day I put the water on without turning it and bam, water on me, water on everything.

The service wasn't that great actually, maybe it is just Germany, I don't know. I asked about how to get to the spas in Baden Baden and the woman didn't know anything about them. To get to Heidelberg (which I recommend) take the tram from right outside the hotel, it's a long tram ride but worth it. When I was in Heidelberg I walked along the shopping street, Philosopher's way (best views!) and saw the Castle (get the tour or there isn't much to see).

There is no business center in the hotel to help you ship packages and in their book they say laundry should be to them by 9 am to get it back same day but I brought my laundry down at 8:50 and they had already left.

The gym is a total joke, it is a steam room in there and I couldn't make it more than 20 minutes on the treadmill. Luckily they have an arrangement with Lifetime fitness 5 minutes away and they have an awesome gym. This was my favorite part of staying here.

There is a starbucks across the street and a natural market (like a whole foods) to pick up snacks and drinks.

And don't buy their internet, use tmobile and buy a few hours that you can use throughout your whole stay, much better and cheaper!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the water tower and square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I am in Mannheim on business at two or three times a year. My first trip to Mannheim some 8 or 9 years ago and I stayed at the Maritim. So, it has been awhile since I stayed here.This time around, I must say I got a deeper appreciation of the hotel. it was great. Front desk was very helpful in offering a room with a view to the Tower and Rose Garden. The room I had was comfortable, and with 90 degrees weather, having an air conditioned room was a big plus. The room was clean, well appointed.

Most convenient is it's location, a few blocks from the main train station and in the heart of downtown so its a easy walk to shops, restaurants, public transit etc. Most reviewers have captured some of the peculiarities of Maritim, an aged and stuffy lobby, dimly lit when you come in and retro check-in desk setup. However the historic charm and feel of the hotel makes it unique and is indicative of the German culture.

The open bar and seating is right next to the entrance, so the smoke does permeate the lobby area once and awhile. Wasn't an issue during my stay. My non-smoking room was great. as was the daily breakfast buffet which is truly a highlight for this hotel. The restaurant staff is very attentive to the guests as are the front desk staff who are friendly and welcoming.

Glad to have stayed here and will consider staying here again next time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph Clyde D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mannheim hotels
0.3 km away
Leonardo Royal Hotel Mannheim
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel
Radisson Blu Hotel
#1 of 45 in Mannheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.4 km away
Leonardo Hotel Mannheim City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Dorint Kongresshotel Mannheim
1.3 km away
Mercure Hotel Mannheim am Rathaus
0.4 km away
Best Western Plus Delta Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim

Property: Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim
Address: Friedrichsplatz 2, 68165 Mannheim, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Mannheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Mannheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant first class hotel built in the renaissance style and located in the midst of the particulary beautiful Friedrichsplatz Jugendstil complex forms certainly the ideal framework for guests looking for that very special place. The flight of stairs flanked by columns and the vestibule finished with Carrara marble, Venetian crystal and ornamental plasterwork reflect the exclusivity and the wealth of tradition of our Parkhotel.The very special wedding ceremony! Allow yourself the pleasure of a civil wedding ceremony in the elegant and stylish wedding room of our Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim. Your accommodation is in the city centre surroundedby countless attractions. For instance the Water Tower just in front of our hotel , the principal landmark of Mannheim. Do not miss the impressive waterworks and luminous fountains. The Electoral Residence Castle, on of the largest baroque castles in the world, the oldest baroque Town Hall preserved in its original walls, the museums and the historic observatory and the Luisenpark are within easy reach from the hotel. The city location in the heart of the famous Baden and Pfalz vineyards and wineries makes it a valued destination for wine connoisseurs from all over the globe.Do you prefer your stay to be in a very special atmosphere? Then you will feel welcome in the Maritim Parkhotel in Mannheim. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Parkhotel Mannheim Hotel Mannheim
Maritim Parkhotel Hotel Mannheim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing