We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining experience”
Review of Speisemeisterei

Speisemeisterei
Ranked #8 of 1,524 Restaurants in Stuttgart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$54 - US$202
Cuisines: Diner, Deli, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed February 12, 2018

We took the 5 courses menu.
4 of them were exquisite.
The 5th (main course, beef) was a bit standard and disappointing.
A bit disconcerting on the wine choice (wines on the list but not available), but the wine we chose proved glorious.
Service is ok, but could be more attentive (only 3 tables with guests that evening), as no one would expect to have to raise and waive your hand to get attention from the staff.
Not cheap, but good value for money.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Arbalcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 283 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2017 via mobile

The food was amazing and tasty portions were reasonable and over filling I will give A* there is nothing to say more that you must come and try Axle and Shone is number one always look for him when you come here .

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank abdulkaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017

The best service I've ever had in quite sometime!! Super friendly, attentatuve stafff made my experience one I will definitely be repeating ... well done , and thanks for an amazing breakfast !!

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nataliaailatan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2016

The food is good , the service awful , slow to the point of indifference and stuffy . In 50 years of eating out this is the first time , ever , a restaurant has missed out completely a whole course and did not know ! For a Michelin star that is peculiar , although Michelin is not what it once , perhaps was .
The place is pretentious and overpriced . The wine list is odd . I enjoyed its weirdness but would never go back .

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPEISEMEISTER, Geschäftsführer at Speisemeisterei, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2016
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Herr Barnsley,
vielen Dank für Ihre Information.
Wir sind irritiert, weil Sie beim Verlassen des Restaurants noch unseren Servicemitarbeitern gegenüber sehr geschwärmt haben.
Vielleicht ist der verloren gegangene Gang Ihnen ja erst später aufgefallen. Wir haben natürlich bei unseren Servicemitarbeitern nachgeforscht und die Kollegin, die Ihnen das Menü vorgestellt hatte konnte sich noch ganz sicher daran erinnern, daß Sie bei der Entgegennahme der Menükarte nach einem Fischgang gefragt hatten. Nachdem Sie sich aber dann das Menü eigenständig außerhalb der Menügartengestaltung zusammengestellt hatten, ist die Kollegin fest davon ausgegangen, daß Sie sich bei der Auswahl sicher etwas überlegt hatten. Natürlich hätte sie nachfragen können, ob sie nun wirklich keinen Fisch mehr wünschen. Das mag zwar ein Servicemanko sein, aber ob das die Bewertungskriterien eines Michelin Führers in Frage stellen mag ?
Das Schloß Hohenheim wurde zwischen 1772 und 1793 erbaut und in diesem Stil auch weitestgehend bewahrt. Ich kann mich an Aufenthalte in England in historischen Gebäuden erinnern, die haben sehr viel historische Ähnlichkeiten. Ich wäre aber nie selbst auf die Idee gekommen, ein historisches Gebäude, das versucht wird, zu erhalten und im Sinne des Gründers zu betreiben, mit protzig zu diskreditieren.
Schade, daß dieser Eindruck bei Ihnen im Nachgang dann Ihre Rückmeldung an den Service verändert hat.
Wir können Gästen nur anbieten, vor Ort bitte gleich Wünsche und Versäumnisse anzusprechen, damit unser Service darauf auch reagieren kann.
Vielleicht machen Sie immer alles Richtig und es ist Ihnen noch nie passiert, daß in der Kommunikation ein Mißverständnis passiert ist. Dann gratuliere ich Ihnen und zolle Ihnen meinen Respekt und meine Hochachtung!
Wir wünschen Ihnen auf jeden Fall für die nächsten 50 Jahre immer Beste kulinarische Erfahrungen!
Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Gerd Schmid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2016

Its good to invite some important peoples or friends, but muss be some one had good knowledge about the foods and have enough time to enjoy.
Menu have only few choice like all other staring restaurant, peoples choiced mainly set menu with 5-6 course.
Delicous, but some time too much for me
Not cheap but fix with qualities of foods and wines, standard service staffs, still not get an em 5 stars service staffs, just look and compair how they took or set up cutleries, or places.
Nice place to come back again even several time there

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mai P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speisemeisterei also viewed

Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Speisemeisterei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing