We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6th time here and as good as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
manchester
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“6th time here and as good as ever”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

As always, wonderful stay at the 'Vier'. Peter and his team are experts! I just wish we could come here more often. The room was very clean, the breakfast choice was fantastic, reception very hepful and informative. The food in the restaurant was just amazing - still the best we have sampled just about anywhere.

Whilst I'm certainly not complaining, the weather was unbelievably hot whilst we were there; 30-35 degrees, and the rooms are not AC'd. Despite this, we did get enough sleep but if you tend to feel the heat or you're a light sleeper and the forcast is similar, ask for a room at the back, then you can open doors and windows at night without traffic bothering you. The lovely pool was a God-send, we used it so many times!

Love it, loveit, love it!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-SarahDougherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    55
    37
    14
    6
See reviews for
41
74
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

To be fair, we arrived in heavy rain and overcast, and I was disappointed that the family decision was to forgo Hallstad because of the weather. But the place just seemed dark, shabby and dismal. Strange labarynth to get to our rooms. Guests in the hallway woke us up during the night. On the positive side, the restaurant was excellent for dinner. The included breakfast wasn't bad either.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tculb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balzan, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My wife and I fell in love with this Hotel. First of all the views - we opted for a south facing room and when we woke up in the morning we would spend ages looking at the mountains in front of us. We were lucky enough to have excellent weather during the days we were in Berchtesgaden. The hotel and the room are in need of some refurbishment however they are quite comfortable. The breakfast was also adequate. We opted not to dine at the Hotel even though the restaurant came highly recommended. The reason was that the weather was so good that we didn't want to stay cooped up indoors.
One word of advice, when booking ask for a south facing room!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevordg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a night because we wanted to do the konigssee and go up Mt Jenner. This hotel had a very real feel in a beautiful quaint town. The views from the balconies are great. You are situated in the heart of the alps with huge peaks everywhere. The views are much better in Berctesgaden when compared to Salzburg. The shower had great water pressure. It felt like a massage. Our room was spacious and had an extra living room area and a balcont with a great view. The restaurant food wass a great and the atmosphere was authentic and very nice. We loved this hotel bc it wasn't swarming with tourists and the town was very unique. We felt like locals here.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank strizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

If you are planning a trip to Berchtesgaden, don't stay anywhere else. The room was very clean and comfortable, the balcony had a beautiful view. The hospitality of Peter and his staff made our stay very memorable. Best supper ever - and a breakfast that was one of our best in Europe and we had lots to compare to. The breakfast had everything for everybody's taste. We would definitely stay here again. Peter was even kind enough to insist that we use his personal cell phone when we needed to reach a family member back home and we really appreciated that personal touch.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We arrived by car without having any reservations in Berchtesgaden. The hotel is at the top of the hill, but very convenient to walk to the center of town. The hotel room was dated but clean and comfortable. I think there is a newer section of the hotel with nicer rooms, but since we didn't have reservations we were happy to stay there. The food in the restaurant is wonderful. We ordered stuffed duck and chicken with white asparagus. It was the best food we had in Germany and reasonably priced. The room included breakfast. The view of the mountains from the breakfast dining room was amazing. We would stay here again.
I would also highly suggest taking the Salzberwerk (Salt Mine) Tour. We all enjoyed sliding down into the mine and the tour was very informative and interesting.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMJ024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

As the previous review states - you must be willing to walk up steep hills. But to be fair most of Berchtesgaden is uphill. The hotel is directly above the train station and a small walk towards shops and restaurants. The receptionist was a but frosty but i believe that was down to a language barrier and she forgot to give us bus cards and tried to claim we were lying about it. Our room was large and we had a small balcony but the view was of the car park. Buses do stop outside the hotel which take you past the train station or to lake konigssee. A nice hotel with amazing views at breakfast. The breakfast buffet was full of choice and the staff members were very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireyelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Berchtesgaden hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Gruenberger
Hotel Gruenberger
#6 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
136 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
504 reviews
0.4 km away
Treff Alpenhotel Kronprinz Berchtesgaden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Wittelsbach
Hotel Wittelsbach
#14 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
164 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#3 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
520 reviews
0.8 km away
Alpenhotel Fischer
Alpenhotel Fischer
#7 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden

Property: Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden
Address: Maximilianstr. 20, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Vier Jahreszeiten Berchtesgaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel Berchtesgaden
Berchtesgaden Vier Jahreszeiten Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing