We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Location but .....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romantic Pension Albrecht
Marlborough Sounds, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location but .....”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

in need of a good tidy up and clean. Our bathroom wasn't as clean as it could be, the shower was broken and the towels were very thin. The small verandah was very unsafe looking & we daren't stand on it together. Breakfast was very nice but overall wouldn't recommend staying here unless you have no other option.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onahau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    40
    28
    18
    16
See reviews for
18
73
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitestown, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My husband and I stayed here 5-6 years ago and were pleasantly pleased. Although, dated, it was clean and the upkeep was good - great value for our money. We returned this past April with friends and were shocked at the difference 5-6 years can make.

Filthy bathroom and the entire pension was very run down (the balconies were not safe!). We had to air out our rooms as they smelled extremly musty. Breakfast was not fresh. Way too expensive for what the place has become. On the upside, the host was still very pleasant and of course, the location perfect. But the positives are not not strong enough to validate a return visit.

We do not require fancy or modern decor - but I do insist on clean and good-value. Unfortunately we received neither.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghresort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hohenschwangau hotels

Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2010

My husband and I just got back from a trip to Germany and Austria. We stayed at the Romantic Pension Albrecht for one night before touring the Castles Hohenschwangau and Neuschwanstein. Initially we thought we could save some money by staying here, but in retrospect, we wished we had spent our money on a nicer place.

PROS:
-inexpensive - we paid 70 euros for one night with double bed and breakfast
-close to all the action - a 5 minute walk to the ticket booth for entrance to the castles
-quiet
-decent breakfast, laid out for us before we arrived to eat
-free parking

CONS:
-late check in
-the hallway leading to our room smelled moldy
-the bathroom was horrible and looked like it hadn't been truly cleaned in quite some time:
-other people's hairs all over the place
-a moldy shower curtain
-a dirty floor
-dirty drinking cups(!)
-no amenities to speak of (thank goodness we brought our own soap and shampoo)
-tiny bathroom towels

We were too grossed out to enjoy the fact that this was a cheaper place to stay than most of the other hotels in the region. We were happy to leave.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandavds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
414 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

I have sayed in lots of really nice hotels and some awful ones. This is a simple "pension" in a small town that's famous because of its castles. So, if you know what you're getting then I think you'll be happy with this choice. The rate was good, the staff friendly, the location ideal. The room was simple but clean and we had a fantastic view of Mad King Ludwig's folly right out the window! Breakfast was nice and the breakfast room was filled with cheerful visitors. Would I stay here again? Sure! You get what you're paying for!

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Clean, Quiet, Nice, Cheap Hostel, with nice breakfast & friendly owner....

Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Muliadi26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Our room was nice and clean. We had a lovely castle view from balcony.
The breakfast was good with a selection of cheese, ham, eggs and yoghurt. We didn't have any communication problems with the owner, although we read earlier her English was not very good.
Great location as well with short walking distance to the castles and restaurants.
Note that you can't check in before 5.30pm.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magdared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lindau
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

We just stayed there last night and very disapointed! first of all there is no shampoo provided, not hairdryer. when we asked the owner to give us the hairdryer she said that she has only one and it is taken by guests in room 1 and WE have to go and ask them to give it. okay, we took it. then I asked for shampoo she said that she doesn't have it and looked very annoyed. fine, we turned on the TV and guess... it doesn't show any channels, in both our rooms. Shower was broken and very flow was very slow. Breakfast was very poor, just glass of orange juice, few slices of ham, one egg each and bread. Do not expect to find cereals. and finally when we came down to pay for our stay the land lady just wrote number to pay for our rooms and gone away so we had to leave money and leave without any goodbye. Me and my wife travel a lot and so far this is the worst place we ever stayed in. Do not ruin your stay, we were lucky to stay there for one night only.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xfolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.1 km away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
#5 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#5 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantic Pension Albrecht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantic Pension Albrecht

Property: Romantic Pension Albrecht
Address: Pfleger-Rothut-Weg 2, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Romantic Pension Albrecht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantic Pension Albrecht Hotel Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing