We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A cosy family run hotel with easy access to Neuschwanstein Castle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenhotel Allgaeu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpenhotel Allgaeu
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A cosy family run hotel with easy access to Neuschwanstein Castle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We spent a night there, arrived around noon time for checking in but no one was at the hotel. We had to leave our luggage at the front door and came back later after the visit to both castles. It was Tuesday night that we stayed there, unfortunately the hotel's restaurant closes on Tuesdays. Heard from a taxi driver that food is pretty good there.

The hotel must have been renovated recently. The floor is new and there is a lift. Wifi is free in the room. Our room is in the back part which has a nice view, though we can't see the castle from our room. It seems that you have to rent a tv, if you want one. But there is a TV in our room without extra charge. Breakfast is standard.

From the hotel to the ticket centre is about 10 minutes walk. Actually, staying in Fussen is probably a better option. There are a lot more shops & restaurant. There are often buses between Fussen and Hohenschwangau and it takes less than 10 mins. Taxi cost from Fussen station to the ticket centre is about CHF 10 only,

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oh-no-tabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    29
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
42
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2010

a lovely friendly family run hotel within 10 mins walk of the ticket centre for the royal castles (another 30 uphill to the actual castle - but everyone has to do it!) We had a lovely view over the meadows behind the hotel but some rooms have a view of the castle - either will please! Simple bavarian style breakfast and parking on site - staff were happy for us to leave our car while we visited the castle. There's a restaurant next door or plenty of choice in the ticket centre area a 10 min walk away. Set back from the main road so keep your eyes peeled for their sign when arriving.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emsieb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

The title says it all - excellent location for the castles (20 minutes walking takes you to the Ticket Centre for your castle admissions) and for exploring further afield - we walked into Schwangau and Fussen each day, they were so close. An excellent cold continental breakfast and drinks in the fridge in the lobby. Nothing to fault at all.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wacislay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

Excellent location Fabulous views. Staff very helpful. 2 min walk to several restaurants.Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

The staff is very helpful, the location and views are great. Even though there was a light rain, we walked up to the castles. An awesome view of the castle from the balcony. A bit of walking but well worth it, easier than dealing with parking close dealing with the crowds. The breakfast is the standard German fare, great for fueling your hike.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roads31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

Overall, we liked our stay at Alpenhotel. Our room had a deck and a beautiful view of the Neuschwanstein castle (worth the extra money). Our room was clean but very old and almost a bit eerie. Breakfast was great. Loved the cows with bells all around the hotel...great ambiance. Actually wished we could have stayed longer to explore. WAS NOT WITHIN close proximity to castles.. would have been a longer walk - 20 + minutes to get to ticket booth. Luckily, we had a car. Reception was not extra friendly or helpful. No internet. Probably the most beautiful area we saw in Europe. Breath- taking!!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mlscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2009

Fussen is only 6KM from Neuschwanstein & Hohenschwangau Castles. The town as well as the entire area (Schwangau, Hohenschwangau) have many, many hotels and are all minutes from the castles.

Alpenhotel delivers on location being within a comfortable walking distance to the main ticket office. The rooms have balconies viewing the castle or the meadow and peaks. Instead of wind chimes they have cow bells playing in the background! Our room was nice and the breakfast matched any German style Frühstück (bread, cheeses, cold cuts, cereals, coffee, tea, etc) that we had anywhere. We went to Fussen for dinner because the cool weather foiled our plans to rent bikes and take an early evening ride around Forggensee (20 miles, 3 hours) with our picnic (jause) in tow!

So, Ja we do recommend this hotel primarily for its location. You cannot go wrong here!

Note: The road sign is green and hard to spot. Meier is spelled in a script that makes the M unreadable. It is about a half mile from the five way scary intersection towards the castles.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StrandsDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hohenschwangau
0.5 km away
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Hotel Villa Ludwig
#1 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Mueller
Hotel Mueller
#2 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Alpenstuben
Hotel Alpenstuben
#3 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Waldmann
Hotel Waldmann
#4 of 16 in Schwangau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
Hotel Garni Schlossblick
#5 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
1.0 km away
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
Schlossrestaurant Neuschwanstein
#4 of 7 in Hohenschwangau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Allgaeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Allgaeu

Property: Alpenhotel Allgaeu
Address: Schwangauer Str. 37, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Alpenhotel Meier)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alpenhotel Allgaeu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhotel Meier Hohenschwangau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing