We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multi-purpose Hotel”
Review of Hotel Metropol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Metropol
Ranked #7 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We arrived on a late flight from Stansted & easily caught the Metro to Hauptbahnof Station. Hotel Metropol is only a 3 minute walk away. Make sure you come out of the Bayerstrasse exit of station & cross road; then turn right & on the left a short distance away is Mitterstrasse (a very quiet street) where the hotel is. There is no problem arriving late as there is always somebody on reception to welcome you. Our room was very clean & with modern decor. The very friendly Staff were all dressed in smart uniforms in the breakfast room on the ground floor.
This hotel is a good base for sightseeing or business trips as it is only 2 stops on the metro to Marienplatz.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here for a few nights on business trip, central location minutes from main station,about 10 min walk to Marienplatz, quiet side street so no noise - fab, very clean and spacious rooms, lots of chocolate brown and lime!, free wifi a great bonus, lovely breakfast, friendly staff, tea making facilities in my room, my colleagues did not have but had a balcony instead. Stay in this part of town every year (casinos, bars, strip clubs but can't be that bad as lush sofitel hotel at the top of the road) and so far it's the best hotel. Great rustic bar on Goethe strasse, can't remember the name, and great vegetarian restaurant prinz myshkin on way into town. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marais72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Location excellent and the staff extremely helpful but I have some restrictions about the size of the bathroom and the number of English cable channels, just one.
Safe neighborhood and near of Marienplatz and the best department stores and shops. If you want an electronics, CD and DvD store so go to "Saturn", a fifteen minute walking from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgcf1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

"+" Perfectly located - close to the central train station, but in a very peaceful area. It takes only 40 minutes by metro to get from there to the airport. The room interior is very pretty and cosy (unless you hate mint chocolate). The staff is very friendly and helpful. Delicious breakfast.

"-" No fridge in the room

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MargaritaTigerLily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Metropol for five nights, I booked two rooms, a double for my husband and I, and a triple for our daughter and family (husband and two children). Rooms were very clean and quite comfortable. Breakfast was nice with lots to choose from for adults as well as children. The location was perfect for the train station and walking to the Marienplatz. We appreciated the friendly staff and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charken2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Hotel location is very good. Central train station is 5 min walk, so are Hauptbahnhof u-bahn station (link to airport) and tram stops (e.g. #17 to get to Nymphenburg schloss). It will take 10-15 min to walk to Marienplatz. Still the hotel is located on a side street, so sleep quality is not affected. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Rooms on 1st floor have tea&coffee making facilities, while rooms on 4th floor don't. Breakfast is excellent. Staff at reception is very helpful and friendly. They got us city maps, daily transport tickets, and also arranged an early breakfast at 4.30 a.m. (normally breakfast starts at 6.30 a.m.). If you travel by car, it's better to park in hotel yard rather than in underground garage. In general price-quality-location ratio is ok.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor and higher have balconies, but rooms in 1st floor have tea&coffee making faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna_Kiev1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here over New Year 2011/12 for a few days. The location is perfect from the train station (Munich HBF) - about 400 metres. The room was clean, quiet and well appointed. Free wifi. You are only 5 minutes from Karlsplatz and another 10 minutes to Marienplatz (main transit and shopping area). We would recommend it on the basis that the staff are willing to help in any way they can. Our floor cleaner was a hoot as well.

Room Tip: They are all double glazed so are quiet and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigandTania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#8 of 389 in Munich
1,765 reviews
0.9 km away
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
Bavaria Boutique Hotel
#16 of 389 in Munich
875 reviews
4.3 km away
Hotel Laimer Hof
Hotel Laimer Hof
#1 of 389 in Munich
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#14 of 389 in Munich
2,061 reviews
0.2 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.2 km away
Hotel Mirabell
Hotel Mirabell
#15 of 389 in Munich
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metropol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metropol

Address: Mittererstrasse 7, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 389 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: $136 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Metropol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk right in: We cordially welcome you! In our two privately run hotels Mirabell and Metropol located in the heart of Munich you will feel good and almost like home. For us it is a very special concern to be good hosts and offer our guests the highest comfort and personal service. Business trip, city tour or weekend excursion – we want you to feel like home and in good hands in our city hotels. The loyalty of our guests and employees has shown us for many years that it is worth having high standards for service, atmosphere and comfort. Central, comfortable and simply to feel good! Regardless of whether you are on a business trip or wish to privately experience the beautiful city of Munich – the immediate proximity to the main station and the direct connection to the airport make our hotel the perfect place to stay during your Munich trip. Go for a leisurely stroll through the Munich city centre, indulge your palate and taste the delicacies from Viktualienmarkt or enjoy the perfect location of our hotels in order to quickly and easily fulfil your professional obligations in the New Trade Fair Riem or other destinations. How big were you thinking? With us you are really spoilt for choice between four different room categories – according to your needs and wishes. Whether in the modern superior room with fresh look and clear design, in the comfortable deluxe category, a spacious suite or in an exclusive and at the same time private business room – just feel good and like home. All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, WC, hairdryer, telephone, tea maker, radio, TV and even free SKY. Thanks to the hotel’s internal air conditioning system, you can relax and take a deep breath all over the place and you can also use free Wi-Fi in all the rooms. With us nobody starts the day hungry! Our nutritious breakfast daily from 6:30 to 10:30 am keeps its promises! Enjoy fresh cereal mixes, organic yoghurt and fruit salads, feast and taste warm specialities such as spicy egg dishes as well as savoury cheese specialities with oven-fresh rolls. And to stave off thirst and fatigue, there are freshly squeezed vital juices, hot tea and aromatic coffee specialities. With all our delicacies we place great importance on the origin and mainly use products of regional producers or from organic farms. Should you have any allergies, you must not leave the table hungry. Lactose-free dairy products are of course part of our buffet and even gluten-free bread, cake or muesli are available at any time. Let’s bet that with this breakfast, every day will feel like Sunday morning. Welcome to Munich, welcome here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metropol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing