We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonablely Priced Central Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #200 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Edinburgh (Scotland)
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Reasonablely Priced Central Hotel”
Reviewed 11 March 2012

My wife and I stayed one night at the Winters Hotel on the way back from a skiing trip in Austria. We booked a double on-suite room with breakfast included for a really good price. The hotel is directly across the road from the main railway station which makes it really convenient. The reception staff were very friendly and efficient, our room was small but comfortable, but we didn't intend spending much time in it. Breakfast was basic but filling, I'm glad we got it included in the price of our room as I thought the 12 Euro change was a bit expensive.
Overall the Winters Hotel is a no frills hotel in a central location and I would have no hesitation in staying there again if I could get a similar deal. I certainly think that I got value for money.

Room Tip: Very handy for the railway station
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gogs63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    313
    275
    92
    59
See reviews for
138
318
77
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Good value clean hotel right across from the main railway station. About 10 minutes walk from the centre of the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scots1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We travelled as a couple with our 10 year old daughter and stayed in Winter’s Hotel Munchen City Center. Two advantages: one, that it is just outside the Munich railway station and the other that it is cheap: it cost us all, 69€ per night, excluding breakfast. That’s it. Otherwise, you wouldn’t give it a second look. It’s really a run-down hotel. You get depressed right from the time you enter and see the the receptionist wearing that bored and tired look. There is a free internet station next to the reception which did not connect to the internet when we tried. We took the elevator up to our floor. The first thing that struck us was the old stained carpet. The corridors are dimly lit, giving the hotel a sleazy look. The room itself was quite spacious, but nothing great. The carpet was dirty with stains. There was no fan or air-conditioning and we had to open the window in the night to keep the room cool and ventilated. Luckily we were facing the rear, so were not disturbed by the street traffic. There’s no mini bar in the room. The bathroom tiles were stained, chipped and cracked. The beds were quite narrow and not very comfortable. Overall, an experience best forgotten.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Dear guest



we are so sorry to read that you had such an unfortunate stay at our Winters Hotel Munich. At the same time, we thank you a lot for having taken the time to post your review here in Tripadvisor. We do depend on guests like you, who constantly remind us of the shortcomings as well as the positive things happening in a hotel.

We would like to sincerely apologize for our staff which did not make you feel comfortable. You obviously stayed in one of our not renovated rooms/floors. We have unfortunately not completed the entire hotel yet but this will be done in the near future.

If you give us the chance to come back during your next stay in Munich, we could show you that our hotel can be very different.

We hope you had a good trip back to Doha and thank you again for your stay with us

best regards

the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Munich hotels

liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I've read a lot of the reviews about this hotel some good some bad.My personal view of the hotel is it was very quiet,very clean and in a location close to main station but a good walk to the what I would call the main part of the city(which is not a bad thing) over all I have no complaints about the hotel itself.That brings me to the staff ie reception staff,particularly the old fella at night who I thought was appallingly unhelpful unless you insisted he do something,like walk 10 yards for the spare room key because two of the four adults in our room had already gone to bed with THE key they give you,that's every time you asked him for the spare key not just once,the daytime staff were not particularly over helpful,maybe its a language thing but i thought i was putting them out when asking for information,i wouldnt employ any of them apart from the lovely happy smiley blonde girl who was working the day we left(30th jan),cant remember her name as i was that shocked at how helpful she was i never asked her name,the complete opposite to the rest of the drab staff,this is an honest view of this place,go and stay here if your room is just a room and you don't intend to spend too much time apart from sleep,one last thing I have to mention,the breakfast staff were excellent as one morning I thought I'd check the breakfast out,but 12 euros?get down to the Irish bar for a fry up for 9 euros happy days

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deltheblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
dear guest



first, we would like to thank you for the very detailed comments about our Winters Hotel Munich. It is very important for us that guests like you, rate our products and services as well as our staff attitude.

We have taken note of every point you gave us, the good and the not so positive. We are happy that you found the location and the cleanliness great.

Breakfast rates at 12 Euros are very average for hotels in this city and location so that we feel with what we have to offer, the rate is justified.

As for the front desk staff during the various shifts, we would like to let you know that this is taken very seriously and we have discussed with all involved emploiyees so that this should be an exception rather than our standard



If you are in Munich again, please consider our Winters Hotel again so that we can show you our progress



Thank you again for your stay with us



The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Could not ask for more central location. Hotel very clean, pleasant staff, twin bedroom small but more than adequate for sleeping as out all day. No kettle in room. Rooms nice and warm.

Room Tip: Can hear underground on floor 2, but not enough to disturb sleep. No kettle in room. If arriving b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsascala, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Traveled in a family group of 7 around Christmas 2010. Some reviews I read before our trip had criticised the rooms as being outdated. It is true that furniture was not of the most modern but rooms were comfortable enough and clean and for the price we paid it was certainly worth every penny. Breakfast was excellent, buffet style offering a variety of options. Location ideal for those who want to be conveniently located by the train station (just on the other side of the road). City centre just a 10 minutes walk from the hotel. My only negative comment would be that transportation noises from underground/station/nearby car park could be heard from the rooms but again price conveniency (& breakfast) was more than enough to compensate this. Coffee machine (at a small cost available) at the lobby and also at the station in the mornings at very low prices.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room at higher levels (2 lifts available), probably transportation noises will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony_jam_555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

This hotel was very clean and the interior decor theme was very cute. The location was great, we could walk to the city center and back everyday. Our room was very nice and spacious. The staff were also helpful and printed our boarding passes for free. We could leave our bags there, but paid a couple Euros to do so. For the price, it had great value.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Amba
Hotel Amba
#332 of 382 in Munich
710 reviews
0.1 km away
Creatif Hotel Elephant
Creatif Hotel Elephant
#209 of 382 in Munich
540 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
Hotel Alfa Muenchen
#181 of 382 in Munich
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Vi Vadi Hotel
Vi Vadi Hotel
#129 of 382 in Munich
840 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Regent
Hotel Regent
#298 of 382 in Munich
1,014 reviews
0.1 km away
NH Muenchen Deutscher Kaiser
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof

Property: Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof
Address: Arnulfstr. 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Winters Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof)
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bavarian state capital and high technology metropolis is a prosperous European city by the beautiful Isar and offers visitors a variety of interesting attractions such as the Frauenkirche, Pinakothek, Hofbräuhaus, Allianz-Arena or the famous Viktualienmarkt.The Winters Hotel München · Am Hauptbahnhof is located in the heart of the city and right at the main railway station. It is just a few steps away from the historic Marienplatz. The world-famous Oktoberfest can also be reached on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novum Hotel Munchen Am Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing