We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Disappointed!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Munich Marriott Hotel
Ranked #66 of 382 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly Disappointed!!!!”
Reviewed 18 April 2012

My family and I chose to stay at this hotel as we were attending a wedding there.
The rooms are very nice but I found the bathroom glass sliding door extremely dangerous when you have a young child with you,that is just an accident waiting to happen.

I ordered breakfast in the room on 1 or 2 occasions and was shocked to find out that i was being charged 26 Euros for a few croissants and a pot of coffee, the room service attendant at the hotel actually told us to go downstairs and have breakfast, where at least your paying for a full variety.

The room service staff were very nice, I was greeted on the telephone by name, which gave it a very nice personal touch.

My main complaint is that on my final night, i ordered milk for my baby from Room Service, only to be served MILK, WHICH HAD GONE OFF AND WAS OUT OF DATE, according to the hotel, they use pasteurised milk and not fresh milk, personally, i dont know the difference...i reported this to a front office manager, who seemed far from interested and didnt even respond with an apology and was too fast to refer me to the Food and Beverage manager. This manager, (Mr Lentoni), was a bit more sympathetic to my needs and took a little more interest in my son's welfare and quickly arranged for a doctor.

After returning back to my room, a female from Human resources called and had the cheek to say that I would have to cover the cost of the call out for the doctor. I obviously disagreed and was put through to Mr Lentoni again after being put on hold for long intervals three times. In the end they agreed to cover the costs, but i had to folk out the medication expenses myself.

A truly disappointting end to a nice stay, being a hotelier myself, I am truly saddened by this hotel not being sympathetic to my needs, more importantly, my child's welfare.

Room Tip: As its in the middle of a neighbourhood, its quiet all the way round
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulSGeneralManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    492
    191
    57
    25
See reviews for
265
271
62
403
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed there for Easter holidays 2012 with our kids (5 and 9 yrs old). Location was very convenient (just few minutes walk from U6 station and just two stops far from Munchner Freiheit (where most restaurants can be found). The hotel itself is "in the middle of nothing": no way to avoid moving by underground to have dinner if not in the hotel restaurant (rather expensive). This tends to be a problem when dealing with young kids, who are tired after a long day.

The room was large, although I would have expected a proper four persons accommodation: 2 queen beds for 4 persons forced us to adopt a parent+kid scheme, as the bed was definitely too small for two adults.

Room was initially clean, but situation worsened after 1 day: dirty teac cups were not replaced (in one case dirty coffee glasses were even left on the desk) and the bath foam was not replaced although used. After 4 days stay, the desk was definitely dusty

Internet connection was rather expensive (approx 20 euro/day), and I found this quite unusual in comparison with a large number of hotels I used while travelling on business.
Choice of TV channels was also very limited (just 1 channel in Italian)

Breakfast was absolutely perfect in qualitative and quantitative terms. Some reservations can be expressed on equipment, however. Only one coffee machine and only one toaster for the entire (large) room created long waiting lines: much smaller hotels are much better equipped, I must say. Long queues were also normal in the morning: only early birds could expect to have breakfast without waiting for more than 20 minutes for someone to leave the room and for a waiter to let them in.

The spa was good. Sauna, Steam bath, shower, hot tube and swimming pool (suitable for children). The dressing room was rather small, however. At one point I was there with 2 kids and a couple of ladies and we literally had no place to move, we had to wait in turn for one to dress and get out of the room.
The bar located close to the pool was of no use: 0.75 ml still water was almost 8 euros 8-O and all prices were aligned to this...
Other hotels I visited - even with a lower number of stars - provided free drinks (tea & fruit tea) with hot water dispenser...this was quite disappointing

Overall, reasonable accommodation, but I would have expected a higher standard...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This was a beautiful hotel, with a friendly and helpful staff. Our only complaint is that it was not conveniently located to the city center. Public transportation is available about a two block walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
turkey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed there in 2010 with our sons (8 and 12 yrs old) and we enjoyed very much. Because their room comfartable and clean and well arranged. Restaurant delicious however service was very slow.

If you have a plan to visit BWM museum and then leave from the city, Mariott is the best choice since it is near museum and autobahn. However, if you have a plan to go city center, I think it is far from center.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meltemozgur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Exactly what you'd expect from a mid-range Marriott focused on serving business clients. Rooms well arranged with plenty of desk space, power outlets, storage space, etc. Good workout room, meeting spaces and lobby for meeting with others. Breakfast buffet offers good variety of options to serve all tastes. Located about 15 - 20 mins by taxi from airport; U-bahn (subway) is 2 blocks away and 10 minute ride to center of Munich. Good local restaurant options and small supermarket 1 block away.

Staff was bi-lingual, friendly and eager to help in any way required.

Best feature for me as a runner was close proximity (about .5 km) from English Garden where there are innumerable trails/options for really enjoyable runs of all lengths without need to cross traffic. Possible to walk to famous beer garden Chinesischer Turm and all the way to Marienplatz.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cublooded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was a comfortable hotel with easy access and only a 20 minute drive on the autobahn to the Munich Airport. It was much farther away from the central part of the city, but a short walk to the English gardens and in a quite neighborhood setting. The room and bathroom were spacious and comfortable. The main downside to this property is if you are driving into town and need to find parking. Street parking is free, but extremely hard to come by if you're not constantly stalking for a spot. There is a parking deck with the Marriott name on the sign (but public) that you can use that is practically attached to the hotel. However, overnight parking will cost you 22 Euros (approximately $30) for the night. Conveniently enough, you can pay for parking at the front desk of the hotel, but it is still a "public" lot and there is no special or discounted pricing for hotel guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BroadwayK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel is one of Marriott's mid-range hotels. The rooms are nice, and the bathrooms are sufficiently spacious to move around. The staff is friendly, and the housekeeping seemed to me to be up to par - my room was serviced and the food service tray was removed when I set it outside of the room. It is located in a more suburban location, but the subway (U Bahn) is very close by and the neighborhood seems quite safe in terms of walking at night. There is a great restaurant located about a 10 minute walk away (recommended by the friendly concierge - called Brunnewart), which was wonderful to have after flying in from the US that day. All in all, I would say this is a good hotel to stay in for business travel, and families might appreciate that it has an indoor swimming pool that seems nice.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlantaTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
4.8 km away
Courtyard Munich City Center
0.4 km away
Pullman Hotel Munich
Pullman Hotel Munich
#50 of 382 in Munich
1,397 reviews
5.0 km away
Residence Inn Munich City East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hilton Munich Park
Hilton Munich Park
#59 of 382 in Munich
1,793 reviews
4.7 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.6 km away
Novotel Suites Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Munich Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munich Marriott Hotel

Property: Munich Marriott Hotel
Address: Berliner Str. 93, 80805 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Munich
#11 Spa Hotel in Munich
#37 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#42 Business Hotel in Munich
#62 Family Hotel in Munich
#70 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Munich Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have an adventure to remember at the Munich Marriott Hotel. We provide a unique blend of modern comfort and functional elegance in a prime location. Our rooms feature thoughtful design and deluxe amenities, while first-class hotel resources ensure that you get all you need for an enjoyable stay here in Munich, Germany. Start your morning with a workout at our fitness center or find a personal oasis at our hotel spa. Savor an inventive cocktail or a juicy steak at one of our six bar and restaurant options, allowing you to experience top-quality dining without leaving your hotel. If you're interested in planning a business function or wedding, you can take advantage of our 13 stylish, adaptable event venues, which combine for almost 10,000 square feet of space. We offer an exceptional hotel location near Munich city center, close to Marienplatz and other destinations. Join us at the Munich Marriott Hotel, where we look forward to providing you with service and convenience beyond compare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Munich Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Munich
Marriott Hotel Munchen
Marriott Munich
Munich Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing