We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not attractive...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Munich-South
Ranked #196 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A typical 3 star tour hotel far from town but managed to have a subway (Machtlfinger Strasse station) that links to the city center. My room was clean and everything was standard but not attractive. My first impression of the hotel was that "time gone back to the eighties". Hotel lay out and furnishing were outdated. Although a subway station was not far from the hotel, the long quiet street that led to nowhere made one feel that the location was kind of "isolated".
What I remembered about this hotel was the yellow painting; no free Internet service,and my awful dinner:fish fillet with lots of small bones, and the clear soup tasted like salted water.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amber201083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Munich-South, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Dear Amber201083,

Thank you very much for taking time to post your feedback. I apologize you did not find our hotel to your liking. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we hope to have the chance of hosting you again should your travels bring you back to Germany.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

The hotel is a liitle bit far away from the city center, but the metro station is very close. So, it takes about 20-30 minutes to reach Marienplatz. The hotel is very clean, the staff is helpful and breakfasts are delicious. The underground parking and free pool are also a plus. But wifi should be free, not 5 euro for three hours.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Nikolay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon for our overnight stay at the Holiday Inn Munich South. Everyone was restless and of course hungry for dinner. Service was kind of slow but the food was satisfying. Clean rooms, comfortable beds with a sliding glass door leading to a garden area which was a unique experience (ground floor rooms). We were "sausaged out" after eating sausages for almost every breakfast buffet, but still a good breakast from this hotel. I would say it was a pretty decent hotel with a friendly staff to attend to your needs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pawee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed here for two nights in January 2012 while I was on tour. It was a very standard and decent holiday inn. The rooms were clean. The staff was nice and friendly, even to foreigners. There was a pool, and a sauna. It was located five minutes away from the subway, which took you right into the centre of town. It was in a residential neighborhood so it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jl747-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Being located partly in an industrial zone you would not spend the last day of your vacation there?! Yes, for sure, as the hotel is great, people are friendly and suportive and the location is very convenient to travel downtown with the local subway, which is 5 min walking from the hotel.
The garage is very safe (door is closing after each car) and is video monitored at a reasonable price.
In case you like to stay in the hotel you have a bar and a restaurant.
The overall atmosphere is nice with a touch of business, which is no surprise as over the week for sure most of the visitors are on business travel.
Our room was top as we have found it in other **** HI already. The bed was large and convenient., the furniture modern in style and relaxing and there was a wel designed desk for business as well.
Nothing special on the bath room. Normal high standard as usual for this group.
The room was clean and we could not say anything negative.

Bottom line:
A good location for a business trip as well in case Munich is visited for leasure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Bellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn. Reasonably sized rooms, basic amenities, clean, warm and comfortable. It actually has a gym albeit very small. This was our third consecutive year we went to Germany (we like the xmas fairs) and this hotel is ideally suited as it is only a 5 min walk to a U-bahn station which only takes between 10-12 minutes to the Hauptbanhof in the centre of the city. The city is lovely especially at Xmas and is quite small. Btw, buy a 3 travel day card for the inner zones as most things are in it and it only costs 20 euros...London could learn a thing or two about value! Take a trip out to Neuchwanstein as it only cost the 3 of us about 27 euros return and takes only 2 hours to get there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darren s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

It's rather Holiday Inn Express than real Holiday Inn - tiny rooms, cheap interior. Provided just one hour of free internet for the Platinum PriorityClub status as an upgrade which was really "generous". Located close to U-Bahn station, 20 mins from Marienplatz which is not bad if you want to check city center.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lksb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
17.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
10.9 km away
Mercure Hotel Munchen Ost-Messe
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Munich - Westpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Leonardo Hotel & Residence Munich
15.2 km away
Novum Hotel Seidlhof Munchen
4.5 km away
Ibis Muenchen City West
Ibis Muenchen City West
#75 of 385 in Munich
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Munich-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Munich-South

Address: Kistlerhofstr. 142, 81379 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $80 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Munich-South 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 stars hotel Holiday Inn Munich South is situated in a quiet and central location in the suburb of Obersendling and it is only 15 minutes away from the city centre. Because of the good traffic connection to the A95, A8 and A96 and also the "Mittleren Ring", our hotel is very good accessible by car. The suburb station "Machtlfingerstrasse" line U3 is just 5 walk-minutes from the hotel Holiday Inn Munich South away and takes you fast in the Munich city center. All our 320 comfortable rooms are equipped with balcony/terrace, most of them offer a wonderful view over our courtyard, bathroom with tub, air-conditioner, SAT-TV, telephone, internet, mini bar and tea & coffee making facilities and also a pillow-menu. Enjoy international and Bavarian specialties at our restaurants, on the lobby-bar or during summertime at our quiet beer garden - terrace. We offer our business traveller guests a modern business centre as well as W-LAN (without fee) in the whole Hotel. Our conference area offers every comfort for a successful conference, workshop or meeting. All rooms are modern equipped for up to 180 people. Set the planning of the implementation of your event trustful in our hands. We ensure for creative and innovative ideas, the perfect logistic and the professional implementation of all events on basic of best conditions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Munich-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Munich South
Munich Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing