We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oktoberfest Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Munich City East
Ranked #104 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I have stayed at this hotel for the last 5 years for Oktoberfest. Unfortunately this year the hotel no longer offers free breakfast to Platinum members which was a big disappointment especially considering that is a main reason why I choose this one. The location is a little outside the main attractions but only a 8 minute walk from the train station that will connect you to everything. The rooms are very nice and the hotel itself if quite nice. Overnight parking is around 20 euros a night.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-RI_Munich-East, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Munich City East, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear John W,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East.

As a valued customer and Platinum Member, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you overall had a great stay.
Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service.
Thank you very much for your time and we look forward to welcoming you in Munich soon again.

Kind regards,
Florian
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

You won't write home saying it's the best hotel ever, but if you are looking for an easy, simple and smartly serviced hotel you won't find yourself complaining. It's clean, the breakfast is decent, and the Starbucks coffee machine a welcomed treat in the event of an early departure to the airport.
I stayed in a room facing the inner courtyard, which was very quiet. One of my colleagues stayed on the side of the street and did had some remarks about the noise. Your call.
One thing to point out is that they don't have room service, but at the same time they don't mind if you order and take the food up to the room.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Evan_Paez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-RI_Munich-East, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Munich City East, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear Evan_Paez,

Thank you for your stay in the Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East and your feedback here on Tripadvisor. It is nice to hear that you had a great stay. Through your honest feedback we can check our service and continue to improve, we will communicate the points raised by you in our appropriate team. We would be happy to welcome you to our hotel back again.
Kind regards,
Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

A comfortable and affordable hotel in the preferable eastside of Munich. My wife and I stayed here for nearly a week during our month-long drive through central Europe. We prefer Marriot properties whenever possible and were very pleased to find this modern and well-appointed hotel at an attractive rate.

The facilities are clean and inviting and the staff are friendly and helpful. At the front desk, we found Tim to be particularly knowledgeable and he offered us wonderful restaurant advice. The hotel is in a convenient end of town and several restaurants, shops, a neighborhood flea market and the U-bahn station are all within a reasonably short walk. If you want delicious traditional Bavarian food in a casual setting, try Gaststätte Zum Brünnstein just down the street -- yummy and well priced.

We would definitely stay here again and can happily recommend this Courtyard Marriott. BTW, the Residence Inn is just next door and offers in-room kitchens and an included breakfast buffet for about the same price. Either hotel would be a fine choice while staying in Munich.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_WellTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-RI_Munich-East, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Munich City East, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your great feedback. We are looking forward welcoming you soon.
Best regards from Munich
Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Hotel is perfect located in Munich to leave your car in the parking garage.

Only 10 minute walk away from the Railway Station and Underground. It takes you only a 5 minute ride to get to the Marienplatz.

Rooms are nice and quite. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast buffet is amazing.

We love Munich for a weekend shopping trip.

Parking costs 20 Euro per night, which is OK for Munich.

Room Tip: Try to get a view away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-RI_Munich-East, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Munich City East, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear Thomas P,
Thank you for your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East and your feedback here on tripadvisor. It is nice to hear that you had a great stay.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

New hotel with large modern rooms. Large windows, nice bed and great bathroom. We were upgraded to courtyard view room which to us would definitely be worth the higher price. Absolutely quiet. Liked and used the mini fridge. For us, the location was perfect allowing lower price yet easy connection to center. Bus/tram one stop to Ostbahnhof (or 10 minute walk) with frequent direct S-bahn to center and airport. Also tram 19 in front of hotel is another convenient trip to center.
Some newer staff still learning but all friendly and eager to help.
Stayed 3 nights in September and were completely satisfied

Room Tip: loved the courtyard view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ronwickham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-RI_Munich-East, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Munich City East, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear ronwickham,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience here on tripadvisor.
We are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and you had a great time in Munich.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards
Florian


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Like all 'Courtyard by Marriott', this is a fine business-like hotel, modern and very well kept.
Rooms are a good size for two persons, with everything new and well appointed: a big closet, additional storage-space in the long cupboard/desk, a comfy easy chair with a small table on the corner, plenty of sockets for charging your devices.
Very comfortable king bed with excellent duvet and pillows. Nice standard bathroom with a big walk-in shower (one of the reason I like Courtyard hotels is the fact that most of them features modern and efficien showers instead of the old-style tubs).
I particularly liked: the big windows (which may be opened), the bright and modern decor, good acoustic insulation of the room.
Staff very professional and kind.
Location is perfect either for businnes than touristic purpose. Easy use of the underground garage (expensive, but this is common in Munich) or 5 min. walk to Ostbahnhof subway and train station (you can even walk downtown in about 30 min.).
The neighborough is very nice and quiet, with all kind of shops and great restaurants.
My only negative point (common for Courtyard hotels): breakfast is quite expensive, a more appealing breakfast-included rate (at least for Marriott Rewards Members) would be for sure a great improvement.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are absolutely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-RI_Munich-East, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard Munich City East, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Dear stefi1970,
thank you very much for your honest feedback here on tripadvisor. We are more than happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would be happy to welcome you to our hotel back again.
Kind regards,
Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I used reward points to pay for the night and the breakfast was not included in the rate (sometimes it is).The hotel is usual good Marriott quality and the people at Reception were quite attentive and helpful. I've entered the underground parking one turn too early and it saved me 8 EUR as the other hotel charges less for parking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ingvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CY-RI_Munich-East, Front Office Shiftleader at Courtyard Munich City East, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Ingvar,

Thank you very much for your stay with us and for taking the time to complete our Guest Satisfaction Survey.
It is nice to hear that overall you had a pleasant stay at our Courtyard Munich City East.

We do understand your points regarding the not included breakfast, but we need to inform you that we are just a selected service hotel from Marriott and as we do not have a lounge we are not allowed to serve breakfast since the new rules at Oktober last year.'

Nevertheless we would be happy welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Jessica Zang
Front Office Shiftleader
Courtyard by Marriott & Residence Inn by Marriott Orleansstraße 81-83 81667 Munich
jessica.zang@mucor.de
+49 89 558 919 0

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.1 km away
Residence Inn Munich City East
0.1 km away
Motel One Muenchen City-Ost
0.4 km away
Design Hotel Stadt Rosenheim
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Courtyard by Marriott Munich City Center
1.4 km away
Ibis Muenchen City Ost
Ibis Muenchen City Ost
#68 of 391 in Munich
290 reviews
5 km away
Munich Marriott Hotel
Munich Marriott Hotel
#71 of 391 in Munich
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Munich City East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Munich City East

Address: Orleansstr. 83, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 391 Hotels in Munich
Price Range: C$115 - C$442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Munich City East 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfortable conference and international hotel chain Courtyard by Marriott Munich City East is located in the lively Munich Haidhausen district, just a 3-minute walk from Ostbahnhof. It takes 7 minutes to get to Munich city center, 10 minutes to the trade fair and 25 minutes to the airport. Underground parking is available. Whether you are traveling to Munich on business or for leisure, the hotel offers the perfect accommodation with 227 spacious and comfortable hotel rooms and suites and free Essential Internet. The business center is at your disposal and the 24/7 Grab'n Go Market offers a variety of food and beverages. The gym is fully-equipped with free weights and modern cardio machines. 573 square meters of event space provide 6 modular meeting rooms with the latest event technology for successful meetings and seminars in Munich. The BISTRO offers freshly made international and regional classics as well as delicious snacks&drinks and invites guests to meet and linger throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Munich City East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing