We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #14 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Vey central location, just few meters to pedestrian way and subway. Good restaurants around. Would prefer there again

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aktan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,034)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 2,034 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

This isin a great location, we walked to our hotel from the train station. I felt very ritzy going to this hotel. Our room was excellent, and we were right in the centre of the action. Our room was very clean, really nice shower. We felt very comfortable here. I can recommend this place for sure. Pretty expensive rooms though

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ctanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hotel is just 3 minutes walk from Marienplatz so that you find yourself in the center of things. My standard room was not very big but it felt cozy with a comfortable bed, a flat screen TV, and a very clean bathroom. Unfortunately, there were no tea and coffee-making facilities but then they are not very common in German hotels.

Breakfast is delicious. It includes the famous Bavarian sausage, eggs, waffles, fresh fruit etc. The breakfast room staff are very friendly, efficient, and helpful (as are the rest of the hotel staff).

In addition, there is a fitness room, a sauna (which I did not use so cannot say anything about it) – both free for hotel guests – and even a gift shop downstairs.

On the minus side, the free internet access in the lobby is extremely slow, and the one in the rooms is not free (not what you would expect of a 4-star hotel). Might not matter for some people but inconvenient if you need to use the internet every day.

Room Tip: The rooms that face the courtyard might be quieter but generally, street noise is not a big problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Platzl in mid Dec. 2011 and found it to be a top notch experience.
Granted, it is a little on the pricey side but definitely worth the money.
The lobby wreaks old world charm. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly.
The rooms were very very nice and comfortable.
The best part was that the Hotel Platlz is centrally located and was 3-4 blocks from the main Muchener Christkindlemarkt.
Easy walking distance to everything - Lots of shops and restaurants within 5-10 minutes.

We arrived by train paid only 15 Euro for the quick ride from the tarin station to the hotel.
Had it not been for our heavy luggage we would have walked back to the train station when we left, it was only 20-30 minutes on foot.
There was a Hard Rock Cafe around the corner along with several other eateries.

First class facility. A little on the high end money wise (220 Euro/night) but you don't feel cheated when it comes to value.
We stay at Hotel Platzl again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hipspanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed the first time at the Platzl and have to say it's a terrific hotel when you are on business in Munich.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giggelsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the end of a driving trip from Vienna. We were exceedingly pleased. We have been in Munich many times before and this was our first stay at the Hotel Platzl. It will not be our last. The hotel has an absolutely magnificent location two blocks from the main square and the food markets. The location is much better than many of the luxury hotels in the city. More than that, the service was superb, particularly from the front desk. All staff members were extremely cordial, helpful with directions, and fluent English speakers. Our room was modest in size, but immaculate and quiet. Breakfast was varied and very good. It is true that there is a charge for the internet, but it is available at no cost at Starbucks, which is just around the corner. All in all, an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street to insure quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Very nice hotel, 5 mins walking to central square, clean, very good breakfast. The only negative fact (and the reason for the 4 star rating) is that they charge for internet access. Otherwise, good hotel where i would definitiely return in the future.

Room Tip: choose a room opposite to hofbrau house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intruder3303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 385 in Munich
1,067 reviews
1.4 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 385 in Munich
1,703 reviews
0.1 km away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 385 in Munich
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.3 km away
LOUIS Hotel
LOUIS Hotel
#13 of 385 in Munich
755 reviews
0.2 km away
Mandarin Oriental, Munich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $259 - $759 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing