We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overrated and overpriced”
Review of Platzl Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Platzl Hotel
Ranked #14 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2012

this certainly is not a 4 estars hotel, but a 3 stars.

the room (double with courtyard view) was much to small for a 4 stars hotel and does not deserve its price (230 euros with breakfast for two included).

the bathroom was reasonable, however only shower and no tub. the last time i saw a double room without tub in a 4 stards hotel was 30 years ago.

the size of the room was small. there was a minibar, a safety box, an lcd tv with satelite channels and a small working talbe. the wardrobe was minimum and there was not enough space in the room to leave a suitcase.

the bed was good but despite of it, you can hardly sleep as the interior soundproofing does not exist: you can hear your several neighbours breathing, talking, waking up, using the toilet, walking by the corridor.... most of two stars hotels are better in this respect.

in order to avoid noises from the street on a saturday night, i chose the "courtyard view" (20 euros more expensive than the other double rooms. the view was a plain roof and a building in front.

the hotel charges 24 euros per day for the wifi. such price is an abuse in my opinion and i did not use the wifi. there is a free pc at the lobby area which was always occupied.

other insultingly expensive extra was 25 euros per night for a small dog in the room. i could understand it once during your stay in concept of extra sanitation , and perhaps something cheaper for the rest of the days.

the hotel carpark is reasonably better than other hotel carparks, suitable for big cars with a cost of 19 euros per day, which is not cheap either, however more reasonable than other extras.

the staff was the best in teh hotel, always friendly and helpfull.

breakfast was good, with a good selection of cold meats, pastries, yogurt, fruits, cereals, eggs of your preference, sausages and bacon (including order of bavarian sausages which is not in the buffet) and good coffee.

there is pleasant bar at the lobby. i did not use the restaurant and the spa.

the two lifts did work, but very slowly.

the location of the hotel is excellent, at the heart of the city.

despite of the good staff and the good location, i would not recomend this hotel and certainly will not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 2,080 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

We couldn't have picked a better place for our short stay in Munich. It was within easy walking distance to all the main attractions in the center of town and everything about the hotel was first class. Our room faced the street, but noise was not a problem. The room was great and we enjoyed a very good breakfast. We had to pay for parking, but it was very convenient as the hotel garage was located directly below the hotel. Free WiFi would have been nice, but it wasn't an issue for us as we were able to use the computer in the lobby for no charge. The staff went our of their way to help us with whatever we needed. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaysonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

IO have been to Munich several times for business and pleasure, and have always stayed at the Platzl. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are awesome. I enjoy A/C instead of opening windows, so this is great for me. The rooms and bathrooms are very nice and perfect size. We had a small double and it was plenty. Great location to everything, and you are next door to the Hofbrauhous.

My only complaint is that I think they are starting to rest on their reputation. The price of the room is high compared to what I am guessing are same hotels. For the price range, there should be free wifi in the rooms. I am not sure there is free wifi anywhere in the hotel. The breakfast is great, but it should be for 30 euros. I hope that they step it up or lower their prices. It is definitly a 4 star hotel, and as I said, the only place I can count on to be very good all of the time.

Room Tip: Chose high if you like your windows open. The partying on the streets last until midnight. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ej8903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is a perfect location for exploring old Munich. The staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is very good. It's always disappointing when little things that should ideally be included, are charged for at very high rates. One expects free WiFi everywhere these days, so finding that we had to pay for it at what we consider very high rates (15 euros/24 hours) was a disappointment. I need to keep connected with my business even when on vacation and hate to have to expense this sort of thing when it should be free (or at least included in the rate!).

Room Tip: Take the S-Bahn from the airport directly to Marienplatz and walk the two blocks to the hotel. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I have just returned from a weekend trip to Munich staying at the Platzl hotel. I chose the Platzl purely on the favourable comments posted on trip Advisor. This is a lovely hotel, and very central for the old town - you step outside and you're there! My only disappointment was that our room was a little on the noisy side - we were at the front of the hotel and with the window open there was a lot of street noise. On our first night the room was very stuffy and we would have welcomed some fresh air but didn't dare open the window because of the noise outside. However, the second night was better, and this did not detract from what is a superb hotel. Breakfast was included in the price and for choice, is one of the most extensive I have witnessed. As well as the hot and cold choices, fresh fruit, German breads etc, etc, you can also ask for white sausage (a specialiaty I understand), fried eggs or waffles at no extra charge. The coffee is proper fresh coffee brought to you table in a pot. The general service from the hotel staff was excellent and the hotel is clean and modern.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

An absolutely delightful hotel with a perfect location- walking distance to Marienplatz! The room was comfortable, although we upgraded from the standard to the larger double room.
The breakfast buffet was delicious!!!

Room Tip: The larger double room is a good idea if you are used to "American size" hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardengirl0265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I just stayed at the Platzl Hotel in Munich with my husband. What an absolute wonderful hotel! We requested a room towards the back of the hotel, away from the noise of Hard Rock Cafe and the Hofbrauhaus. The location could not be better, just steps away from Marienplatz and fabulous shopping everywhere.
The hotel was very clean and modern. The beds were comfortable, and I so enjoyed the down comforter. The staff could not be nicer helping me find restaurants for some German food that I wanted to eat and for tour recommendations. As mentioned the Staff speaks perfect English and are willing to do whatever it takes to make your stay pleasant. The fitness area was also very nice.
One of the highlights was the fabulous breakfast offered each morning. I have never seen such a variety in food. The rolls were fresh, smoked salmon, cheeses, eggs, sausages, fruits, cereals, fresh juices and more. Food was replenished often and delicious.
The only downside of the hotel was that you had to pay for internet. No free Wifi. I understand that's also pretty common in Munich despite being such a beautiful, modern city.
The area surrounding the hotel was very safe for a woman to walk alone at night.
The Platzl Hotel also owns a wonderful restaurant directly behind the hotel located across from the Hofbrauhaus. Wonderful restaurant serving delicious salads, and German Food. You can also eat there and have charges put on your hotel bill. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel and look forward to my next stay there.

Room Tip: Request room on upper floor on the backside away from Hard Rock Cafe and the Hofbrauhaus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweetpea100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munich hotels
1.6 km away
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
0.1 km away
CORTIINA Hotel
CORTIINA Hotel
#11 of 390 in Munich
870 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#9 of 390 in Munich
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#7 of 390 in Munich
1,805 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Kempinski Munchen
1.3 km away
The Charles Hotel
The Charles Hotel
#2 of 390 in Munich
1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Platzl Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Platzl Hotel

Address: Sparkassenstrasse 10, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#9 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#12 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range: $261 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Platzl Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You place great importance on quality and want to be right in the middle of Munich's city life? Then Platzl Hotel Munich and its culinary offerings are the address for you. This traditional four-star Superior Hotel and its two popular restaurants - the Pfistermuhle and Wirtshaus Ayingers - are located in the heart of Munich's old city, right beside the famous Hofbrauhaus. And just a short walk from the Marienplatz, the Bavarian State Opera, Maximilianstrasse and Viktualienmarkt. The Inselkammer family and its team combine Bavarian hospitality and traditional style elements with a modern lifestyle and state-of-the-art technology. It begins with a warm welcome in the foyer, continues through the 167 guest rooms and only ends when you leave Munich through the city's historic quarter. This combination of tradition and modernity also creates the ideal setting for private celebrations such as birthdays or weddings, but also conferences and seminars. Your visit should also include a taste of the culinary offerings at our two restaurants - because gastronomy has a long tradition at the Platzl. As early as the beginning of the last century, the Platzl stage was graced not just by cabaret giants such as Karl Valentin. Good Bavarian food also made repeat appearances, being served to guests before and after the performances. Today, the Pfistermuhle is synonymous with sophisticated Bavarian cuisine - at Munich's only preserved city mill. Since the year 2000, people from Munich and elsewhere have enjoyed the hearty regional dishes at Wirtshaus Ayingers, which is next door, while the charming stores and eateries in the "Platzlgassen" add to the lively atmosphere in the Platzl. Our outside bar the Platzl Karree presents a unique bar concept in Munich's old town. Because of the stylish and yet down-to-earth design the fine balancing act between tradition and modernity with the Platzl Karree is perfectly realized. The dominating colors anthracite with burgundy and the dark parquet flooring create a bar to relax and enjoy. In the new Josefa Bar & Kaffee we serve locally produced unique spirits, cool beverages with herbs freshly from the Viktualien market and own cocktail creations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Platzl Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Platzl Hotel Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing